Hate Manjaro - Easy Ubuntu Install?
Hi,

I'm pretty new to Linux, but I loath Manjaro.

How can I *easily* install Ubuntu as every route seems to lead me to a build script that complains about aarch64 comparability.

I just want to book from a USB image and wipe the eSSD with Ubuntu Arch64 

Help please!!

Cheers,

Paul
1. Download and burn whatever OS you want to boot from SD, flash it to SD, boot from the SD.

2. Grab one of ayufan's Ubuntu images while booted into the SD OS.

3. Verify the eMMC drive designation. Disks should make that nice and easy.

4. In terminal from your SD boot use: pv your-ubuntu-image.img > /dev/mmcblkX

5. Shutdown, pop out the SD, boot up from the eMMC. You should boot into your chosen Ubuntu image.
Many thanks - I'll post back with the steps I took for other newbs! :-)
Many thanks - that finally got me there. For the other newbs to linux....

I used MrFixIt2000's Ubuntu image  

1. Download Ubuntu from here: https://wiki.pine64.org/index.php/Pinebo...an_Desktop
Unzip with 7zip and then use Win32DiskImager to flash it to an 16Mb microSD card - NOTE: USB Stick *won't* work (as I found out after several attempts, and you need >16Gb to download the 2nd image as well! (or have it on a NTFS formatted USB stick seperate tot he microSD card like I did),

2. Once booted, login using "rock" / "rock", plug in the USB stick, and hover over it to get the mount point name

3. Verify the eMMC drive designation by opening a terminal and typing:

Code:
lsblk

The first (large) disk labelled "mmcblk[something]" is what you are looking for.  In my case (and will probably always be the case) it was /dev/mmcblk1

4. In terminal type: 

Code:
sudo dd bs=4M if=/dev/media/rock/xxxxxxxxx/myimage.img of=/dev/mmcblk1 conv=fsync

Wait for it to finish. 

5. Shutdown, pop out the SD, boot up from the eMMC. You should boot into your chosen Ubuntu image.
Why do you hate Manjaro? Just out of interest...