[Nov 13] Slackware Aarch64 Miniroot & XFCE (20181101) / NextCloudPi (11-04-18) / Armbian Debian Stretch Desktop & Armbian Ubuntu Bionic (5.65) - Rock64 |[Nov 12] Q4OS ( 2.4-r5) - 1080P Pinebook / Pinebook |[Nov 09] KDE Neon ( 20181104-1500) - 1080P Pinebook / Pinebook /Arch Linux (20181104) - Pinebook |[Nov 09]Arch Linux (20181104) /Armbian - Xenial (5.56) - PineA64-LTS / SOPINE |[Nov 09]Armbian (5.65) /Arch Linux (20181104) /motionEyeOS (20180627) - PINE A64(+) |[Nov 02] Volumio ( 2.462-2018-09-29) - Rock64 |[Oct 23] AOSC with Mate Desktop [20181016] - Pinebook / Q4OS (2.6-r3) - Pinebook

Project Inspiration | Get Started | IRC Logs | Forum Rules/Policy


IPv6 autoconfig not working on new pinebook
#1
Not sure if this is the right place for this but I'll try.

I got my new 1080p 11.6" pinebook yesterday, I'm typing this post on it. Fun.

It still has the OS it shipped with (don't even know what it's called).

IPv6 autoconfig is not working. I don't get a global address. It works on my Mac on the same networks (meaning I get a global address on it). I'm more of a BSD guy than Linux, so I'm probably missing something.

I wiresharked the router solicitation and advertisement. The solicitation is not the same as the Mac and I'm not sure if that matters. The advertisement from the router is the same one the Mac uses successfully though.

IPv6 does work, I can ping the link local address on other systems. Just no global address so I can get to the internet with IPv6.

Hopefully someone can point me in the right direction?

Thanks.
Reply
#2
Sadly I am not the right person to address your issue (someone with answers will likely show up soon), just here to comment that all major *BSDs are available for the Pinebook, since you mentioned you're more of a BSD guy. Most recant NetBSD can be found here.
  If you manage to click this link you'll join in the IRC channel
Reply
#3
Thanks.

Yeah there's some chatter on the NetBSD mailing list about the latest 1080p pinebook. I might try it on a microsd at some point.

I tried another thing. I used the GUI network configuration tool to add a static IPv6 address and it never showed up if I did ip a.

Something seems broken or not set to accept global addresses. Link local still works.
Reply
#4
(11-08-2018, 10:55 PM)acruhl Wrote:  if I did ip a


I did the same, and nothing showed up so I did:


Code:
ip -6 ro



and my ipv6 address shows up but it isn't usable. I'm kinda stumped why it doesn't work properly though, usually it just works.
Reply
#5
I see my 2 /64 prefixes which are coming from router advertisements, but not actual addresses.
Reply


Possibly Related Threads...
Thread Author Replies Views Last Post
  Pinebook 1080: US keymap for \ | (backslash pipe) key near left shift? acruhl 2 96 9 hours ago
Last Post: davida
  Pinebook 11.6" 1080P Performance jschall 2 63 Yesterday, 11:45 AM
Last Post: jschall
Information Pinebook 11,6" 1080p OS comparision table e-minguez 3 216 11-13-2018, 01:16 PM
Last Post: tllim
Smile Pinebook Wallpapers - submissions please! Luke 10 789 11-12-2018, 02:30 PM
Last Post: Luke
  Pinebook screenshots e-minguez 1 88 11-11-2018, 01:54 PM
Last Post: e-minguez
  Pinebook, (very) first impressions Surehand53 1 212 11-10-2018, 02:08 PM
Last Post: Luke
  Will we get a tracking number for when the pinebook gets shipped? sakuramboo 4 270 11-08-2018, 04:56 PM
Last Post: mindwave
Exclamation New Pinebook users start here (01.11.2018) Luke 0 942 11-03-2018, 04:12 PM
Last Post: Luke
Information About the Pinebook - What to expect Luke 148 42,736 10-24-2018, 05:35 AM
Last Post: kuszinger
  Pinebook 14 inch availability david_spring 0 237 10-15-2018, 01:11 PM
Last Post: david_spring

Forum Jump:


Users browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)