Getting z-wave module working under ubuntu
#1
Hi,

I'm trying to get the z-wave module working under Ubuntu/Domoticz, however up until now I've not succeeded in this. Does anybody have any pointers or directions to information about how to get the z-wave module up and running (under Ubuntu/Domoticz)?
  Reply
#2
(10-19-2016, 03:53 AM)marcosti Wrote: Hi,

I'm trying to get the z-wave module working under Ubuntu/Domoticz, however up until now I've not succeeded in this. Does anybody have any pointers or directions to information about how to get the z-wave module up and running (under Ubuntu/Domoticz)?

Hi,

Domoticz only support Z-Wave USB Dongle(/dev/ttyACM0). I tested domoticz with Z-Wave USB Dongle, it working well.

Pine64 Z-Wave module running on bus Z-wave(/dev/ttyS2)

If you using Bus Z-Wave, you can try to use  openHAB
Link #1
Link #2
  Reply
#3
(10-19-2016, 09:24 AM)klliew Wrote:
(10-19-2016, 03:53 AM)marcosti Wrote: Hi,

I'm trying to get the z-wave module working under Ubuntu/Domoticz, however up until now I've not succeeded in this. Does anybody have any pointers or directions to information about how to get the z-wave module up and running (under Ubuntu/Domoticz)?

Hi,

Domoticz only support Z-Wave USB Dongle(/dev/ttyACM0). I tested domoticz with Z-Wave USB Dongle, it working well.

Pine64 Z-Wave module running on bus Z-wave(/dev/ttyS2)

If you using Bus Z-Wave, you can try to use  openHAB
Link #1
Link #2


"Only support USB dongle"? Where did you get that from?

Domoticz can be run on the RPi with the Razberry Z-wave module so why shouldn't a similar module work? On the RPi you only need to add a tty symlink (don't remember which direction).

I haven't had time to try it yet myself yet but here's a guide for the Razberry: http://www.vesternet.com/resources/appli...AjMOoZeCEd
Backer #16374 - KS funded January 23rd 2016 - Backerkit funded on March 10th 2016 - BOARD RECEIVED ON JUNE 29th - BACKERKIT ORDER FULFILLED ON SEPT 8th
  Reply
#4
(10-20-2016, 07:54 AM)bonterra Wrote:
(10-19-2016, 09:24 AM)klliew Wrote:
(10-19-2016, 03:53 AM)marcosti Wrote: Hi,

I'm trying to get the z-wave module working under Ubuntu/Domoticz, however up until now I've not succeeded in this. Does anybody have any pointers or directions to information about how to get the z-wave module up and running (under Ubuntu/Domoticz)?

Hi,

Domoticz only support Z-Wave USB Dongle(/dev/ttyACM0). I tested domoticz with Z-Wave USB Dongle, it working well.

Pine64 Z-Wave module running on bus Z-wave(/dev/ttyS2)

If you using Bus Z-Wave, you can try to use  openHAB
Link #1
Link #2


"Only support USB dongle"? Where did you get that from?

Domoticz can be run on the RPi with the Razberry Z-wave module so why shouldn't a similar module work? On the RPi you only need to add a tty symlink (don't remember which direction).

I haven't had time to try it yet myself yet but here's a guide for the Razberry: http://www.vesternet.com/resources/appli...AjMOoZeCEd


Hi bontera,

Thanks for pointing out this. I just get my bus Z-Wave and tested it working.

Running command below:
Code:
ln -s /dev/ttyS2 /dev/ttyACM0

Then restart your domoticz, you will able add the z-wave module into it.
  Reply
#5
(10-20-2016, 09:59 AM)klliew Wrote:
(10-20-2016, 07:54 AM)bonterra Wrote:
(10-19-2016, 09:24 AM)klliew Wrote:
(10-19-2016, 03:53 AM)marcosti Wrote: Hi,

I'm trying to get the z-wave module working under Ubuntu/Domoticz, however up until now I've not succeeded in this. Does anybody have any pointers or directions to information about how to get the z-wave module up and running (under Ubuntu/Domoticz)?

Hi,

Domoticz only support Z-Wave USB Dongle(/dev/ttyACM0). I tested domoticz with Z-Wave USB Dongle, it working well.

Pine64 Z-Wave module running on bus Z-wave(/dev/ttyS2)

If you using Bus Z-Wave, you can try to use  openHAB
Link #1
Link #2


"Only support USB dongle"? Where did you get that from?

Domoticz can be run on the RPi with the Razberry Z-wave module so why shouldn't a similar module work? On the RPi you only need to add a tty symlink (don't remember which direction).

I haven't had time to try it yet myself yet but here's a guide for the Razberry: http://www.vesternet.com/resources/appli...AjMOoZeCEd


Hi bontera,

Thanks for pointing out this. I just get my bus Z-Wave and tested it working.

Running command below:
Code:
ln -s /dev/ttyS2 /dev/ttyACM0

Then restart your domoticz, you will able add the z-wave module into it.

Okay, I've figured it out, thanks for all your suggestions!!

The way I managed to have the bus Z-Wave working is doing the following:
1. Create the file /etc/udev/rules.d/10-tty.rules, and add the following (copy the complete line, including the quotes and all); 
KERNEL=="ttyS2", SYMLINK+="ttyACM0"

This will make sure that every time you reboot your Pine64, the symbolic link is re-established under the /dev-directory. This is needed since all entries in the /dev-directory are recreated on each boot. So, instead of manually creating a symbolic link each time after the Pine64 boots up, have the udev-rules take care of that for you!

2. make sure that you use beta-releases of Domoticz (under Setup->Settings). Otherwise you will not have the option to select 'OpenZWave USB'.
3. reboot your Pine64, and go to Setup-Hardware and register an OpenZWave USB component, using port '/dev/ttyACM0'

That's it, this enables your bus ZWave module.
  Reply
#6
(10-20-2016, 02:52 PM)marcosti Wrote: Okay, I've figured it out, thanks for all your suggestions!!

That's it, this enables your bus ZWave module.

That's great, I'm happy to help.
Backer #16374 - KS funded January 23rd 2016 - Backerkit funded on March 10th 2016 - BOARD RECEIVED ON JUNE 29th - BACKERKIT ORDER FULFILLED ON SEPT 8th
  Reply
#7
(10-20-2016, 02:52 PM)marcosti wrote: Wrote: Okay, I've figured it out, thanks for all your suggestions!!

The way I managed to have the bus Z-Wave working is doing the following:
1. Create the file /etc/udev/rules.d/10-tty.rules, and add the following (copy the complete line, including the quotes and all); 
KERNEL=="ttyS2", SYMLINK+="ttyACM0"

This will make sure that every time you reboot your Pine64, the symbolic link is re-established under the /dev-directory. This is needed since all entries in the /dev-directory are recreated on each boot. So, instead of manually creating a symbolic link each time after the Pine64 boots up, have the udev-rules take care of that for you!

2. make sure that you use beta-releases of Domoticz (under Setup->Settings). Otherwise you will not have the option to select 'OpenZWave USB'.
3. reboot your Pine64, and go to Setup-Hardware and register an OpenZWave USB component, using port '/dev/ttyACM0'

That's it, this enables your bus ZWave module.

Hi,

From the above, I got the impression Domoticz requires the device as /dev/ttyACM0.
I had an issue there, as I have a real serial USB device (RFlink on Arduino Mega) and the Ubuntu USB driver wants to give it device name /dev/ttyACM0
And you can't have 2 devices with same name.
Effectively, the link got overwritten when I connected the RFlink, disabling the communication with the Zwave device

After a bit of fiddling and looking through the Domoticz code to see where the hard code /dev/ttyACM0 was, I found that Domoticz actually does NOT require the name to be /dev/ttyACM0 at all. Anything starting with /dev/ttyACM will be accepted.

So I changed the file /etc/udev/rules.d/10-tty.rules into: 

KERNEL=="ttyS2", SYMLINK+="ttyACMZwave"

Now I have BOTH the RFlink (running at real /dev/ttyACM0 port) and the Zwave module (running via symlink device /dev/ttyACMZwave) side by side.
This will not create a conflict, as the ubuntu driver adds numbers behind the /dev/ttyACM name

Might be of help to others...
  Reply


Possibly Related Threads...
Thread Author Replies Views Last Post
  Input not working after a forced shutdown dic1911 1 153 12-24-2018, 07:45 PM
Last Post: tllim
  Any success working with OpenCV on the PineA64? Tonny91 0 310 10-16-2018, 09:16 PM
Last Post: Tonny91
  Sopine A64 doesn't boot ubuntu stixcher 5 702 12-03-2017, 11:05 AM
Last Post: tllim
  Pine64 Ubuntu Mate No Sound adamjedgar 3 924 11-06-2017, 02:53 AM
Last Post: Luke
  Mini-Tutorial to get a linux Desktop GUI working on Pine64+ speedro86 15 7,480 04-05-2017, 01:45 PM
Last Post: speedro86
  RESOLVED - LCD screen not working, HDMI does asuras 10 1,903 04-02-2017, 08:12 AM
Last Post: Luke
  [PINE A64+ 2GB] Ubuntu - Losing Signal Arlanps 4 747 02-12-2017, 05:12 PM
Last Post: Arlanps
  Does ubuntu img support the touch screen kingsing2 4 941 01-29-2017, 02:41 PM
Last Post: greglarious
  Is the Wifi module working? clawinus 8 1,520 11-23-2016, 10:09 AM
Last Post: clawinus
Information Booting Ubuntu stops with 16 error messages clawinus 0 470 11-05-2016, 03:45 PM
Last Post: clawinus

Forum Jump:


Users browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)