chromium keyring password change or remove
#1
Hello PBP Posters.
I've had my pbp ansi for about a week.  Currently I have one issue to resolve.  I logged in to Chromium before I changed the key pad to english US. Now, unintentionally, I have a symbol for the UK pound in my keyring password for Chromium.  There is no equivalent in the english US layout.  Can someone provide directions on changing or eliminating this keyring for chromium?   So far pretty good with this device.  Chromium was glitchy and firefox would crash instantly. A mrfixit update help a lot. Firefox now works fine.
Thanks in advance!
  Reply
#2
Would purging chromium and then reinstalling work?
  Reply
#3
$ rm ~/.config/google-chrome/Default/Login
  Reply
#4
(01-25-2020, 03:24 PM)Veraendert Wrote: $ rm ~/.config/google-chrome/Default/Login

As a newbie please clarify.  Run this command in the terminal starting with $ to remove this log-in feature? Or set to default?
Thanks
  Reply
#5
$ means run as user, no sudo, no root
That command should remove the keyring.

But i just realized that would be for Chrome, not Chromium.
  Reply
#6
Making that path...


Code:
~/.config/chromium/Default/Login

The folder is correct, I'm not sure about the file, as I disabled the keyring on my install! Wink
  Reply
#7
(01-27-2020, 02:09 AM)Veraendert Wrote: $ means run as user, no sudo, no root
That command should remove the keyring.

But i just realized that would be for Chrome, not Chromium.
Hello Veraendert,
I ran this command as posted in the terminal.  Substituting Chromium for Google-Chrome as well but can up with file not found. If you can think of something else please post.
Thanks
  Reply
#8
Sorry, i also disable the keyring. I hate Chromium, i only use it if everything else fails.

$ rm ~/.config/chromium/Default/'Login Data'
  Reply
#9
(01-29-2020, 06:45 AM)Veraendert Wrote: Sorry, i also disable the keyring. I hate Chromium, i only use it if everything else fails.

$ rm ~/.config/chromium/Default/'Login Data'

Well, Running this script did not resolve my issue.  Thanks for trying.  I just deleted chromium completely using the package manager. I may reinstall justtot have a backup to firefox which is working fine.  Thanks again!
  Reply
#10
Sorry it didn't work out. If you use Plasma you could give Falkon a try. It's based on Chromium's engine but i trust it more than anything coming from Google directly.
  Reply


Possibly Related Threads…
Thread Author Replies Views Last Post
  Forgot my Pinebook password. Booting from MIcroSD doesn't work. ksfoodforest 0 145 01-30-2021, 11:08 AM
Last Post: ksfoodforest
  Netflix, Amazon Prime Video, and Chromium. Nobot 12 4,672 01-05-2021, 11:25 PM
Last Post: vb_linux
  Issues with chromium-docker PVD 4 1,529 12-17-2020, 10:11 PM
Last Post: warehouses
Photo Remove activity manager bar on right side of screen - plasma kde motezart 3 839 10-20-2020, 10:36 AM
Last Post: motezart
  Graphical login hanging after password entry mhill8 1 498 10-13-2020, 07:48 PM
Last Post: carlosqueso
  MAC address change user0258 2 738 09-16-2020, 01:12 PM
Last Post: user0258
  How to remove metal shield ian-s-mcb 4 1,394 08-18-2020, 03:23 PM
Last Post: ian-s-mcb
  [split] Change password from external media James Good 11 3,142 07-23-2020, 02:42 PM
Last Post: wdt
  How to flash the emmc when it has Chromium on it? U47 3 1,114 07-10-2020, 10:07 AM
Last Post: U47
  Chromium browser on PBP can't upload files on websites Wawe 0 540 07-03-2020, 11:06 AM
Last Post: Wawe

Forum Jump:


Users browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)