RockPro64 Linux Manjaro HDMI 4K
#1
Hi,

I've been stuck with this problem for hours now. As far as I can tell the RockPro64 is 4K capable (even if only at @30 refresh).

Manjaro KDE Plasma. Fresh install created using the Manjaro Arm Installer script won't let me select 4K on my monitor. 1080 seems to be the limit.

I've tried every xrandr trick I can think of...

I've tried tweaking u-boot...

Nothing makes any difference. I'm beginning to think this problem is a more complex issue in the kernel HDMI drivers.

The same monitor works fine in 4K with N2 and other ARM devices.

Any help would be very appreciated.

Thanks,

Mkne
  Reply
#2
Sorry wrong forum. This should be in RockPro64 Linux...

Mkne
  Reply
#3
Just spit balling here - have you tried with Plasma Wayland?

I was just going to ask if you have USB-C dongle to try from there but it looks like the RP64 needs some improvements there with the Manjaro image. Will try the PBP kernel on the RP64 tomorrow morning (or some other distro to check if the hardware is working on the unit).

Device: Pinebook Pro 128GB No:246 / MainOS: Manjaro ARM
Godot and Flutter - creating something can be fun with the right tools!
  Reply
#4
Moved to RP64 Linux forum.
Community administrator and sysadmin for PINE64
(Translation: If something breaks on the website, forum, or chat network, I'm a good person to yell at about it)

  Reply
#5
(05-01-2020, 05:30 PM)PakoSt Wrote: Just spit balling here - have you tried with Plasma Wayland?

I was just going to ask if you have USB-C dongle to try from there but it looks like the RP64 needs some improvements there with the Manjaro image. Will try the PBP kernel on the RP64 tomorrow morning (or some other distro to check if the hardware is working on the unit).

Thanks for reply... I'm afraid I put this is the wrong forum. I guess it should be in RockPro64. I'd move the thread, but don't know how...

I'll try Plasma Wayland tomorrow. Even the boot from initial console seems to be at 1080p. N2 and Vim3 both run the console at 4K when booting Manjaro. Seems like this is happening at quite a "low" hardware/kernel level.

I guess the first thing I wanted to establish is that it should be possible to run the RockPro64 at 4K.

Thanks,

Mkne
  Reply
#6
Hi,

Still stuck at 1080. Can't get HDMI 4K output from Manjaro.

Thinks I have tried:

1) APPEND HDMI settings to Kernel on Boot (No Effect)
2) Created XOrg Conf with specific monitor and screen at 4K (I see the top 1/4 of the screen on the monitor)
3) tried modprob (not sure it did anything at all) to tell HDMI driver 4K.
4) xrandr till everything broke, but, still no 4K

Things I think I know:

1) Manjaro on HK N2 is fine at 4K (llvm as no bifrost (yet))
2) Same HDMI cable and monitor as above with N1

I'm running out of ideas. Anyone got any ideas?

Thanks,


Mkne
  Reply
#7
I doubt this would be the cause as you've said that it is fresh KDE install but in any case - did you check if the system has `xf86-video-fbturbo-git`installed?

Device: Pinebook Pro 128GB No:246 / MainOS: Manjaro ARM
Godot and Flutter - creating something can be fun with the right tools!
  Reply
#8
(05-02-2020, 12:06 PM)PakoSt Wrote: I doubt this would be the cause as you've said that it is fresh KDE install but in any case - did you check if the system has `xf86-video-fbturbo-git`installed?

Hi,

"xf86-video-fbturbo-git" was not installed. I installed it. I did have an effect... I lost Panfrost acceleration, and, the only resolution available to me was 1080. Uninstalled, Panfrost back, and 640x480 to 1920x1080 back in my list of available modes. Smile 

Can I just confirm that the RockPro64 can do 4K from the HDMI port? I'm not chasing the impossible here? When I read the specs, it looked to me like it should with no problems... 

The N2 and Vim3 both run at 4K on the same monitor and wire... So, I guess this is something specific to the RockPro64.

Any other ideas....

Thanks,

Mkne
  Reply
#9
The RP64 should be able to do it. If you have a spare sd card, you could try with some other distro to verify.

I don't have 4K monitor and I can't find the display port to hdmi adapter to check on the QHD one we have in the household atm.
fbturbo was causing me trouble with monitor setups but you didn't have it on the system to begin with.


Could you share what kscreen-console gives out?

It doesn't sound like you would be using different ports on the back of the TV either.

Device: Pinebook Pro 128GB No:246 / MainOS: Manjaro ARM
Godot and Flutter - creating something can be fun with the right tools!
  Reply
#10
(05-02-2020, 04:40 PM)PakoSt Wrote: The RP64 should be able to do it. If you have a spare sd card, you could try with some other distro to verify.

I don't have 4K monitor and I can't find the display port to hdmi adapter to check on the QHD one we have in the household atm.
fbturbo was causing me trouble with monitor setups but you didn't have it on the system to begin with.


Could you share what kscreen-console gives out?

It doesn't sound like you would be using different ports on the back of the TV either.



Thanks for all input!

START: Requesting Config
Received config. Took 73 milliseconds
Screen:
       maxSize: QSize(64000, 64000)
       minSize: QSize(0, 0)
       currentSize: QSize(1920, 1080)

-----------------------------------------------------

Id:  1
Name:  "BNQ HDMI-A-1-BenQ EL2870U/PCK00877SL0"
Type:  "HDMI"
Connected:  true
Enabled:  true
Primary:  true
Rotation:  1
Pos:  QPoint(0,0)
MMSize:  QSize(620, 340)
FollowPreferredMode:  false
Size:  QSize(-1, -1)
Scale:  1
Clones:  None
Mode:  "0"
Preferred Mode:  "0"
Preferred modes:  ()
Modes:  
        "0"    "1920x1080@60"   QSize(1920, 1080)   60
        "10"    "1152x864@75"   QSize(1152, 864)   75
        "11"    "1280x720@60"   QSize(1280, 720)   60
        "12"    "1280x720@60"   QSize(1280, 720)   60
        "13"    "1280x720@50"   QSize(1280, 720)   50
        "14"    "1024x768@60"   QSize(1024, 768)   60.004
        "15"    "1440x480@60"   QSize(1440, 480)   59.94
        "16"    "800x600@60"   QSize(800, 600)   60.317
        "17"    "720x576@50"   QSize(720, 576)   50
        "18"    "720x480@60"   QSize(720, 480)   59.94
        "19"    "720x480@60"   QSize(720, 480)   59.94
        "3"    "1920x1080@50"   QSize(1920, 1080)   50
        "4"    "1920x1080@50"   QSize(1920, 1080)   50
        "5"    "1920x1080@30"   QSize(1920, 1080)   30
        "6"    "1920x1080@25"   QSize(1920, 1080)   25
        "7"    "1920x1080@24"   QSize(1920, 1080)   24
        "8"    "1600x900@60"   QSize(1600, 900)   60
        "9"    "1280x1024@60"   QSize(1280, 1024)   60.02
EDID Info:  
       Unavailable



My rockpro64 has a physical HDMI port. That's what I'm trying to use. Am I missing something fundamental here?

Thanks,

Mkne
  Reply


Possibly Related Threads…
Thread Author Replies Views Last Post
  slarm64 (unofficial slackware) ROCKPro64 RK3399 (aarch64) mara 32 9,351 09-26-2020, 03:39 AM
Last Post: mara
Thumbs Up Batocera for RockPro64 Luke 11 4,081 09-18-2020, 01:52 AM
Last Post: Wizzard
  First Lakka image for ROCKPro64 Ntemis 12 4,457 09-18-2020, 01:50 AM
Last Post: Wizzard
  Wifi on Manjaro Marcosxfx 0 74 09-14-2020, 06:53 PM
Last Post: Marcosxfx
Question Mainline Debian Buster on RockPro64 ? chrestomanci 15 2,436 09-05-2020, 03:21 PM
Last Post: kuleszdl
  Accessing UART4 on RockPro64 (Armbian) antonlyap 0 127 08-27-2020, 01:36 PM
Last Post: antonlyap
  Xen EFI with Alpine Linux dom0 sir.lami 0 165 08-26-2020, 12:25 PM
Last Post: sir.lami
  Problems with my RockPro64 tuxd3v 0 174 08-19-2020, 11:47 AM
Last Post: tuxd3v
  No audio output with Manjaro Arm 20.04 Faradn 2 564 08-02-2020, 09:48 AM
Last Post: new-rockpro-user
  Linux Host - QEMU Android Guest? rik-shaw 0 224 07-09-2020, 08:02 PM
Last Post: rik-shaw

Forum Jump:


Users browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)