Hissing noise when using headphones
Hi,

I'm relatively new to the PBP, having received it only a few days ago, and I have a problem:

Whenever I playback any video or audio on Firefox or Chromium and listen via my headphones I can hear a strange hissing noise that stops whenever I stop the playback. Also, in Firefox, the audio only plays back if the local volume setting (that is within e.g. the video player) is at its maximum. Am I doing something wrong?

I'd like to thank for your help in advance!
I have the same issue, and it is not limited to playback using a web browser; I got the same noise when playing an mp3 using vlc.

Maybe there is some kind of interference with the DAC? Or maybe the DAC is just that bad. The hissing is pretty loud so it would surprise me if the DAC really is that bad. I don't want to resort to using a usb audio jack :-(
I somewhat solved this for myself.

I don't think the DAC plays well with low impedance headphones. I was actually using earphones at first, which are very low impedance. I switched to using my he4xx planar magnetic headphones (high impedance) and the noise floor is low enough to barely be able to hear (you'd have to be in a very quiet room or really be listening for it)

The only potential issue with doing this is the DAC not being able to power the headphones enough. At max volume, the headphones are at about 60-70% my normal listening volume. I solved this by using alsamixer to change the gain of the DAC fairly higher. I haven't noticed any substantial distortion after doing this.

I also tested some headphones with more average impedance (Audio Technica m50), and the noise is also fairly loud, but lower than the earphones.