NAS Case and two hard drives?
#1
I finally got around to putting together my RockPro64 and the NAS case.

I have the PIne64 power supply (12V/5A) as well as 2 8TB Seagate Ironwolf NAS drives.

When I booted from Armbian, NextcloudPI, and Ayufan's OMV image on an EMMC card, all is fine.

Once I added the 2 Drives, nothing...

Reimaged the EMMC and tried with 1 Drive, nothing...

Reimaged the EMMC again and tried with a WD 4TB Red NAS drive, nothing...

Reimaged again and tried with just the EMMC card and all is fine.

Guessing the Hard Drives I have are drawing too much power for the stock Pine64 power supply. Is it possible to put in a higher amp power supply? Maybe 6 or 7 amps?

Thoughts or suggestions?

Thanks!


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
  Reply
#2
I got my case and I use two old harddisks to test it, it seems ok.
I use a 12V/5A power supply.
I bought two WD 4TB Red NAS drive and want to build a raid system. it's on the way now.
  Reply
#3
(03-11-2019, 06:15 AM)chengjianwen Wrote: I got my case and I use two old harddisks to test it, it seems ok.
I use a 12V/5A power supply.
I bought two WD 4TB Red NAS drive and want to build a raid system. it's on the way now.

Thanks, Good to know.  I'll try again with some other hard drives and see what I come up with.
  Reply
#4
(03-11-2019, 04:07 PM)jsfrederick Wrote:
(03-11-2019, 06:15 AM)chengjianwen Wrote: I got my case and I use two old harddisks to test it, it seems ok.
I use a 12V/5A power supply.
I bought two WD 4TB Red NAS drive and want to build a raid system. it's on the way now.

Thanks, Good to know.  I'll try again with some other hard drives and see what I come up with.

the disks arrived yesterday and I installed successfully.
the ayufan's image can't recoginized the disks, so I replaced the kernel with mrfixit2001's.
I use openmediavault to create a raid 1, it use about 5-6 hours to created it.
to set fan work, I installed ats. it seems worked good.
I trans a file with ssh, the speed is ahout 60-70MB/s, I don't kown is there any method to make it more fast.
  Reply
#5
(03-14-2019, 08:25 AM)chengjianwen Wrote:
(03-11-2019, 04:07 PM)jsfrederick Wrote:
(03-11-2019, 06:15 AM)chengjianwen Wrote: I got my case and I use two old harddisks to test it, it seems ok.
I use a 12V/5A power supply.
I bought two WD 4TB Red NAS drive and want to build a raid system. it's on the way now.

Thanks, Good to know.  I'll try again with some other hard drives and see what I come up with.

the disks arrived yesterday and I installed successfully.
the ayufan's image can't recoginized the disks, so I replaced the kernel with mrfixit2001's.
I use openmediavault to create a raid 1, it use about 5-6 hours to created it.
to set fan work, I installed ats. it seems worked good.
I trans a file with ssh, the speed is ahout 60-70MB/s, I don't kown is there any method to make it more fast.

Over SMB? you may wish to try some tweaks, these at the very least:


Code:
min receivefile size = 16384
write cache size = 524288
getwd cache = yes
  If you manage to click this link you'll join in the IRC channel
  Reply
#6
(03-14-2019, 09:16 AM)Luke Wrote:
(03-14-2019, 08:25 AM)chengjianwen Wrote:
(03-11-2019, 04:07 PM)jsfrederick Wrote:
(03-11-2019, 06:15 AM)chengjianwen Wrote: I got my case and I use two old harddisks to test it, it seems ok.
I use a 12V/5A power supply.
I bought two WD 4TB Red NAS drive and want to build a raid system. it's on the way now.

Thanks, Good to know.  I'll try again with some other hard drives and see what I come up with.

the disks arrived yesterday and I installed successfully.
the ayufan's image can't recoginized the disks, so I replaced the kernel with mrfixit2001's.
I use openmediavault to create a raid 1, it use about 5-6 hours to created it.
to set fan work, I installed ats. it seems worked good.
I trans a file with ssh, the speed is ahout 60-70MB/s, I don't kown is there any method to make it more fast.

Over SMB? you may wish to try some tweaks, these at the very least:


Code:
min receivefile size = 16384
write cache size = 524288
getwd cache = yes

I use ssh(scp) from my Macmini host directly, and there is no swich/router.
board is Rockpro64/2G.


Attached Files Thumbnail(s)
   
  Reply
#7
(03-14-2019, 08:25 AM)chengjianwen Wrote:
(03-11-2019, 04:07 PM)jsfrederick Wrote:
(03-11-2019, 06:15 AM)chengjianwen Wrote: I got my case and I use two old harddisks to test it, it seems ok.
I use a 12V/5A power supply.
I bought two WD 4TB Red NAS drive and want to build a raid system. it's on the way now.

Thanks, Good to know.  I'll try again with some other hard drives and see what I come up with.

the disks arrived yesterday and I installed successfully.
the ayufan's image can't recoginized the disks, so I replaced the kernel with mrfixit2001's.
I use openmediavault to create a raid 1, it use about 5-6 hours to created it.
to set fan work, I installed ats. it seems worked good.
I trans a file with ssh, the speed is ahout 60-70MB/s, I don't kown is there any method to make it more fast.

Hi! Quick question: Did you just build mrfixit2001's kernel from source from here? https://github.com/mrfixit2001/rockchip-kernel
  Reply


Possibly Related Threads...
Thread Author Replies Views Last Post
  rockpro64 issue with hard disk connected via pcie keeps hard resetting link. denver2020 0 6 1 hour ago
Last Post: denver2020
Photo RockPro64 Case 2x3.5" HDDs and 2x2.5 HDDs Luke 41 14,566 06-26-2019, 03:33 PM
Last Post: Tim Jones
  Basic question on the Nas case of the rockPro Slam 1 260 01-23-2019, 08:04 AM
Last Post: Slam
  NAS Box - fdisk not showing hard-drives w/pcie sata card dkebler 0 268 10-12-2018, 12:30 PM
Last Post: dkebler
  cpu and case fan headers on PRO (NAS box) dkebler 9 781 10-09-2018, 10:39 AM
Last Post: romtorwator
Wink ROCKPRO64 PCI-E SATA is low price and low power best to choose wipe your hard disk joe 8 2,027 05-15-2018, 12:22 AM
Last Post: joe

Forum Jump:


Users browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)