Basic questions of somebody new to pine64
Hello, I hope you all are having a nice day.

I am very new to Pine64 and interested in the PinePhone and PineTab.
Also I do not really have a clue of Linux, so I will probably ask quite some stupid questions. I hope that's okay.

But for now just two questions about Pine64 hardware in general and one about operating systems (this one is probably a bit embarrassing).

A big reason why I am looking at the pine devices is that I really don't like the way most phones and tablets do not get (os/security) updates after 2-3 years anymore (the other reason is privacy).
I don't really understand why it is that way for phones but not for pc's, which also support a variety of hardware. I always read something about drivers and chip producers not providing patches or something along those lines.
So how about the pine hardware in that regard? Is it that open source that as long as the community supports it, it will be updated?

How about repairs? I think I read somewhere that some things are screwed that would usually be glued - for repairability. As the hardware is mostly for tinkerers I reckon it is much easier to repair than other phones/tablets ? Is it possible to have it repaired by Pine64 if i don't have the skills to do it? Obviously the devices are not very expensive but I really dont like the idea of throwing away a device because of minor issues.

Are the Linux versions available for the PinePhone and PineTab "the same" as the desktop variants? What I mean by this is: If i get a certain distribution running on a device, will it be able to run all applications that would run on a desktop (from a compatibility, not a performance point of view of course).

I really hope you guys don't mind helping out someone who very much is not a power user. ^^
Thanks to anyone answering my questions.
(09-03-2021, 07:15 AM)NotAPowerUser Wrote: Hello, I hope you all are having a nice day.