Clusterboard not getting IP address after network fix
#1
So I followed this guide: [color=var(--newCommunityTheme-linkText)]https://forum.pine64.org/showthread.php?tid=10432 and applied the network fix to the Armbian image and wrote it to the SD card for one of the modules.[/color]
I tried booting it up afterwards (with only one module plugged in), and it's still not getting a DHCP lease from my router. Is this fix still appropriate? Do I need to change something else or define my DHCP information in advanced?
Any help would be greatly appreciated!
  Reply
#2
(05-10-2021, 11:09 AM)Norlark Wrote: So I followed this guide: [color=var(--newCommunityTheme-linkText)]https://forum.pine64.org/showthread.php?tid=10432 and applied the network fix to the Armbian image and wrote it to the SD card for one of the modules.[/color]
I tried booting it up afterwards (with only one module plugged in), and it's still not getting a DHCP lease from my router. Is this fix still appropriate? Do I need to change something else or define my DHCP information in advanced?
Any help would be greatly appreciated!

Hmm, yes should still work. I tried it a few weeks ago last if I recall correctly.
  Reply
#3
(05-10-2021, 12:23 PM)poVoq Wrote:
(05-10-2021, 11:09 AM)Norlark Wrote: So I followed this guide: [color=var(--newCommunityTheme-linkText)]https://forum.pine64.org/showthread.php?tid=10432 and applied the network fix to the Armbian image and wrote it to the SD card for one of the modules.[/color]
I tried booting it up afterwards (with only one module plugged in), and it's still not getting a DHCP lease from my router. Is this fix still appropriate? Do I need to change something else or define my DHCP information in advanced?
Any help would be greatly appreciated!

Hmm, yes should still work. I tried it a few weeks ago last if I recall correctly.
So you literally just added this line: allwinner,tx-delay-ps = <500>;
 To the file mentioned, plugged it in and it got an IP address from your router no problem?
  Reply
#4
After compiling the file back as explained in the tutorial, yes.
  Reply
#5
Hi! I have the same issue as @Nolark : I applied the dtb fix on the last armbian image (Armbian 21.05.1 stable) and I cannot get the ethernet to work (dhcp).
Also, it looks like the wifi interface is not working anymore (armbian config does not detect any wireless connectivity in armbian-config).

Did anyone manage to use network interfaces on the last version of armbian?
Working on InfiniTime, the FOSS firmware for the PineTime: https://github.com/InfiniTimeOrg/InfiniTime

Mastodon : https://mastodon.codingfield.com/@JF
Twitter : https://twitter.com/codingfield
Matrix : @JF002:matrix.org
  Reply
#6
Hmm, ok so maybe an issue that only happens with the latest Armbian images? I guess one should be able to get an older image and then upgrade it?
  Reply
#7
(05-14-2021, 04:58 PM)poVoq Wrote: Hmm, ok so maybe an issue that only happens with the latest Armbian images? I guess one should be able to get an older image and then upgrade it?

Do you remember which version worked for you when you tried it?
  Reply
#8
For me, a couple other people over the last few weeks, and I know for JF002 also from that chat, the 5.9 kernel version of Armbian seems to work fine... I used the latest of them, Armbian_20.11.3 (ubuntu focal variant), and froze the kernel and firmware versions (an option in 'armbian-config') so that until I find out a fix, or find/hear of a later version working it won't update and break on me.

https://armbian.systemonachip.net/archiv...o/archive/
  Reply
#9
(05-14-2021, 10:25 PM)pfeerick Wrote: For me, a couple other people over the last few weeks, and I know for JF002 also from that chat, the 5.9 kernel version of Armbian seems to work fine... I used the latest of them, Armbian_20.11.3 (ubuntu focal variant), and froze the kernel and firmware versions (an option in 'armbian-config') so that until I find out a fix, or find/hear of a later version working it won't update and break on me.

https://armbian.systemonachip.net/archiv...o/archive/

Yes, I confirm that Armbian 20.11.3 (with kernel 5.9.14) works fine out of the box. I'm not sure what's wrong with newer version (kernel, DTB, config,...) but I hope someone will be able to fix that in the near future Smile
Working on InfiniTime, the FOSS firmware for the PineTime: https://github.com/InfiniTimeOrg/InfiniTime

Mastodon : https://mastodon.codingfield.com/@JF
Twitter : https://twitter.com/codingfield
Matrix : @JF002:matrix.org
  Reply
#10
As an update, I tried with Armbian 20.11.3 (focal) and it worked perfectly! Thanks again!
  Reply


Possibly Related Threads…
Thread Author Replies Views Last Post
  Selling Clusterboard + 4 sopine xblack86 7 2,665 09-26-2022, 03:09 AM
Last Post: poVoq
  clusterboard availability? linear 1 479 07-17-2022, 06:44 AM
Last Post: poVoq
  Creating a current armbian-Image with network-fix clusterDude 13 13,864 09-03-2021, 11:41 AM
Last Post: poVoq
  When would be the Clusterboard back on stock? __kzl__ 5 2,813 08-16-2021, 03:52 AM
Last Post: poVoq
  Managed Ethernet switch on the Clusterboard dsimic 4 2,135 07-28-2021, 03:54 AM
Last Post: dsimic
  Schematics for customising the Clusterboard TechDragon 0 1,243 05-25-2021, 10:28 AM
Last Post: TechDragon
Information Clusterboard Guide AZClusterboard 9 18,303 04-06-2021, 06:32 AM
Last Post: poVoq
Brick Clusterboard CAD drawings TeaPack 1 2,715 03-31-2021, 01:38 PM
Last Post: Pine
  ArchLinux Network Booting xblack86 2 2,404 02-25-2021, 08:42 AM
Last Post: xblack86
  New Clusterboard Setup wargfn 5 4,899 01-01-2021, 10:10 AM
Last Post: poVoq

Forum Jump:


Users browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)