My Rockpro64 stopped booting with these error messages please help
#1
Question 
Hi , I recently rebooted rockpro64 and now it stopped booting and get stuck with these error messages:


   


or this error message on multiple attempt to reboot.

[font=Tahoma, Verdana, Arial, sans-serif]     [/font]


[font=Tahoma, Verdana, Arial, sans-serif]is there any hope to fix it ? please recommend  Sad [/font]
  Reply
#2
1. Did you make any changes in the meantime (update OS / kernel, hardware, etc.)?

2. What OS are you running (may or may not be relevant)?

3. Are you sure you have good power and SD card (or eMMC).  This is just in general, but should always be eliminated first.

Code:
Unable to handle kernel paging request at virtual address dead000000[...]

This looks like some sort of kernel oops, or...?  Which could be caused by lots of things (unfortunately).

The fact that it references address "dead" is interesting, some times these human readable memory addresses can have some meaning.  I couldn't tell you what that might mean specifically in this case (maybe someone else can), I'm just throwing out general thoughts here.
  Reply
#3
(02-16-2021, 03:42 PM)TRS-80 Wrote:
Quote:1. Did you make any changes in the meantime (update OS / kernel, hardware, etc.)?

Yes, I also installed kuberenetes and was using this as worker node.

Quote:2. What OS are you running (may or may not be relevant)?

I am using Ubuntu 18.04 , downloaded from pine64
.
Quote:3. Are you sure you have good power and SD card (or eMMC). 
possible this could be the issue, but thinking even if I get correct power input will this work !

I am using microsd card, if I reinstall the OS fresh will it work ? or is this hardware related issue ?
  Reply
#4
I was able to boot it up by changing the power supply but on reboot I still fall into this error.
the current power supply is 12 volt/ 3 amp

I have discovered a pattern to boot it up in such situation.

I am using 32GB micro sd card, running ubuntu, with 120GB ssd on usb3
when I attached a usb hub I got low power on usb 1.1 error. (even with 12 volt power supply)
  Reply
#5
SSD do not use a lot of power, but maybe 3A is not enough? It looks like they sell in the Pine Store a 3A power supply just for the RockPro64, all by itself. So I guess it depends how strong you think your power supply really is. If it is just some generic / no-name power supply, they are very well known to lie about specs.

Personally, I only use good name brand power supply (often Mean Well) but anyway you need to make sure you are getting enough power, especially with these symptoms you describe. You can hook up something with more amps (e.g., 4A, 5A, or more) without harm, as the board will only use what it needs. Just DO NOT use a power supply with more voltage.
  Reply


Possibly Related Threads…
Thread Author Replies Views Last Post
  Armbian is looking for maintainer for ROCKPro64 TRS-80 11 646 11-24-2021, 06:35 AM
Last Post: GreyLinux
  Using the PCIe slot of ROCKPro64 as EndPoint mode nonoriri 1 121 11-20-2021, 10:53 AM
Last Post: fire219
  RockPro64 - HDMI and higher resolutions PakoSt 0 111 11-16-2021, 03:48 PM
Last Post: PakoSt
  Debian Bullseye & RockPro64: No tty consoles? Pete Tandy 9 712 11-08-2021, 02:33 PM
Last Post: TRS-80
  Vanilla mainline Debian 11 (Bullseye) on the RockPro64 Pete Tandy 21 1,842 11-06-2021, 06:42 AM
Last Post: Pete Tandy
  RockPro64 EDP in Armbian hannescam 2 391 10-15-2021, 09:07 AM
Last Post: hannescam
  Two Questions About Debian on RockPro64 publiclewdness 0 205 09-30-2021, 11:54 AM
Last Post: publiclewdness
  Overlays not loading at boot - ROCKPRO64 on Armbian rookieone 0 190 09-28-2021, 04:10 AM
Last Post: rookieone
  slave mode on Rockpro64 Radhika.gabani 1 962 09-22-2021, 05:35 AM
Last Post: mahtew
  slarm64 (unofficial slackware) ROCKPro64 RK3399 (aarch64) mara 46 32,961 09-21-2021, 09:39 AM
Last Post: mara

Forum Jump:


Users browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)