Rock64 no network
#1
So this is what happened.

I got my new Rock64 yesterday. Been waiting for a month to get this.

I flashed DieptPi and tried to configure it over LAN for first time and it was smooth except at one point there was no display. I tried to reflash the memory card with Dietpi. It started to get the updates for first time and then no display. 

I tried to flash OMV on that. When i connect without network it shows no network, which is ok. When i try to connect LAN cable i dont see the rock64 in network.

How can i get this resolved?
  Reply
#2
I changed the power supply to 5W now and I got network.

But the network is unstable and keeps dropping. How can I fix this?
  Reply
#3
(04-06-2019, 11:34 PM)ripcord Wrote: I changed the power supply to 5W now and I got network.

But the network is unstable and keeps dropping. How can I fix this?

Depending on what you have plugged in you may need a 5v 3a power supply
  Reply
#4
Guess that might be the case. I have plugged in a 4TB external portable HDD USB 3.0.

The connection to that keeps dropping down too. i had no issue with RPi B3+ though. I have ordered a power supply. hope that works out.

thanks.
  Reply
#5
(04-07-2019, 05:32 AM)ripcord Wrote: Guess that might be the case. I have plugged in a 4TB external portable HDD USB 3.0.

The connection to that keeps dropping down too. i had no issue with RPi B3+ though. I have ordered a power supply. hope that works out.

thanks.


What happens to your network if you don't plug the hdd in?
  Reply
#6
Unless your power supply is up to the job the hdd in the USB 3.00 Port will surely cause you difficulties. No point making comparisons to RPI3+ board. Different beast. Make sure you have enough overhead to power your Rock64 plus peripherals.
  Reply
#7
(04-07-2019, 04:14 PM)evilbunny Wrote:
(04-07-2019, 05:32 AM)ripcord Wrote: Guess that might be the case. I have plugged in a 4TB external portable HDD USB 3.0.

The connection to that keeps dropping down too. i had no issue with RPi B3+ though. I have ordered a power supply. hope that works out.

thanks.

What happens to your network if you don't plug the hdd in?

Haven't tested that. Anyway I have ordered the QC30 based usb adapter which should do the job I guess as i meets the spec.
  Reply


Possibly Related Threads…
Thread Author Replies Views Last Post
  Rock64 No Audio - Solved wbecks 9 6,588 07-29-2020, 06:02 AM
Last Post: as365n4
  Rock64 Real Time Clock nohandlebars 1 187 07-03-2020, 06:47 AM
Last Post: t4_4t
  Got an error message when trying to flash the Rock64 OS ilan 0 185 06-29-2020, 04:53 PM
Last Post: ilan
Big Grin Rock64 as a retro-gaming console: early impressions Luke 53 32,176 06-25-2020, 09:22 AM
Last Post: dagijay
  HDMI noise on Rock64 ab1jx 1 292 06-19-2020, 04:54 PM
Last Post: ab1jx
  Rock64 v3 with Real Time Clock (RTC), how to verify? Enig123 1 254 05-31-2020, 07:31 PM
Last Post: Rocklobster
  Rock64 v2 network issues alephnull 2 861 05-29-2020, 06:00 AM
Last Post: maccarry
  Rock64 random freezes BTB 5 1,053 04-07-2020, 03:19 AM
Last Post: tomarm
Photo ROCK64 v3 4GB DDR board memory chip number Johannes 2 451 04-05-2020, 04:29 AM
Last Post: Johannes
  Disable Auto Power On Rock64 willowen100 4 435 03-11-2020, 08:24 AM
Last Post: Rocklobster

Forum Jump:


Users browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)