First cable for Euler Bus power done!
#21
(10-04-2016, 07:14 AM)dkryder Wrote: the atx power supply is a good bench power source. many small electronics shops have used units for 5 to 10 dollars [u.s.]

The trouble with atx power supplies is that they often have a substantial minimum current draw (can be as high as 3-5 amps) or they don't work properly. A fully loaded Pine board would be on the low side of that. The reason for this is that most atx power supplies are switching supplies capable of delivering 5.1 volts regulated at fifteen or more amps -- so they are optimized for the expected high current draw... a low current load like the Pine board may not be adequate to meet the minimum current specs of the atx supply. Most of the time folks that use atx supplies for bench supplies need to fabricate a minimum dummy load -- and of course that can be done in the case of the pine board too.
marcushh777    Cool

please join us for a chat @  irc.pine64.xyz:6667   or ssl  irc.pine64.xyz:6697

( I regret that I am not able to respond to personal messages;  let's meet on irc! )
  Reply
#22
(10-04-2016, 08:35 AM)MarkHaysHarris777 Wrote:
(10-04-2016, 07:14 AM)dkryder Wrote: the atx power supply is a good bench power source. many small electronics shops have used units for 5 to 10 dollars [u.s.]

The trouble with atx power supplies is that they often have a substantial minimum current draw (can be as high as 3-5 amps) or they don't work properly. A fully loaded Pine board would be on the low side of that. The reason for this is that most atx power supplies are switching supplies capable of delivering 5.1 volts regulated at fifteen or more amps -- so they are optimized for the expected high current draw... a low current load like the Pine board may not be adequate to meet the minimum current specs of the atx supply. Most of the time folks that use atx supplies for bench supplies need to fabricate and minimum dummy load -- and of course that can be done in the case of the pine board too.

Yeah, the problem is usually that the power supply is designed to have a minimum load in order for it to stay on, thus the need for a dummy load for standy/light loads. However, that is more an issue with newer ones. I have a couple of older ones from pre ATX12V standard changes, and they don't need any minimum load. It does make me wonder why Sparkfun never put a load resistor on their breakout board, which is why the Mystic ATX PS Adapter is a much more reliable option if you wanted to fiddle in that space.  There are server grade PSUs lke the HP DPS-600PB that a lot of hobbyists get second-hand and use for high current 12v power sources (but also have 5v rails), and don't need any tinkering with to stay on or anything. But they aren't as cheap, and are plain overkill for the pine64, unless you want to make a mega cluster Big Grin
  Reply
#23
I like using arcade PSUs like this one. They're cheap (around £15 - 20), have a selection of voltages including 12V and 5V (the 5V also typically has an adjustment potentiometer that allows anything from 4 - 6V), and I've never had to use dummy loads with them.
  Reply
#24
(10-04-2016, 08:44 PM)Ghost Wrote: I like using arcade PSUs like this one. They're cheap (around £15 - 20), have a selection of voltages including 12V and 5V (the 5V also typically has an adjustment potentiometer that allows anything from 4 - 6V), and I've never had to use dummy loads with them.

Very nice one Ghost! However, I doubt I'd get away with using one here in Australia... we can't even wire a plug ourselves lest we electrocute ourselves... we have to pay an electrician so we can watch him dance and shake instead to do it properly!  Dodgy
  Reply
#25
(10-05-2016, 05:02 AM)pfeerick Wrote:
(10-04-2016, 08:44 PM)Ghost Wrote: I like using arcade PSUs like this one. They're cheap (around £15 - 20), have a selection of voltages including 12V and 5V (the 5V also typically has an adjustment potentiometer that allows anything from 4 - 6V), and I've never had to use dummy loads with them.

Very nice one Ghost! However, I doubt I'd get away with using one here in Australia... we can't even wire a plug ourselves lest we electrocute ourselves... we have to pay an electrician so we can watch him dance and shake instead to do it properly!  Dodgy

Luckily you're kidding, otherwise I'd have to do a surprised-face emoji.
  Reply


Possibly Related Threads…
Thread Author Replies Views Last Post
Lightbulb Alternate Power DC-IN on the Euler Bus also with PI filter for batt operation MarkHaysHarris777 13 12,467 12-19-2020, 09:53 PM
Last Post: evilpete
  Once Again: Power Supply problems I guess (Pine A64+ locking up) marcelser 0 1,672 06-04-2018, 03:11 PM
Last Post: marcelser
  Power supply problems. larsen8989 5 3,162 05-03-2018, 09:01 PM
Last Post: tllim
  solar power on a Pine64 tablet Little_Johnny 11 5,944 03-20-2018, 12:01 AM
Last Post: pfeerick
  Power up HDDs c4tich 3 2,203 03-18-2017, 09:18 AM
Last Post: Luke
  Provide power in via Pi-2 header BenCranston 22 11,100 03-08-2017, 10:38 PM
Last Post: pfeerick
  any danger from using 2 power sources at same time? dkryder 3 2,461 01-20-2017, 10:45 PM
Last Post: MarkHaysHarris777
Lightbulb A Tale of Two Power Supplies - why good is good and better is best MarkHaysHarris777 9 8,039 01-07-2017, 11:59 PM
Last Post: aegrotatio
  Correct Voltage For Powering From Euler?? thisrestricted 7 3,921 10-18-2016, 06:49 PM
Last Post: veronicasmithen03
  Fuse in the AC power line? cr2016 3 2,536 10-02-2016, 04:35 AM
Last Post: pfeerick

Forum Jump:


Users browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)