ROCK64 v3 4GB DDR board memory chip number
#1
Photo 
Hi,

I recently received a ROCK64 v3 4GB DDR memory board.
The board has a 4GB sticker on it and came in a box stating it is 4GB.
However, after installing two linux distributions I found out that available memory is only 1GB.
(distros: bionic-lxde-rock64-0.9.14-1159-armhf.img.xz and Armbian_2-.02.1_Rock64_bionic_current_5.4.20_desktop.7z (both) on eMMC and microSD card.)

I found out that the DDR memory chip has number PB047 - 125 PT on it, this identifies online as a 1GB (8Gb) memory chip not 4GB (see pictures below).

My question is what 4GB chip numbers of other ROCK64 v3 4GB boards are there with confirmed 4GB of memory when the OS (linux) is running?
(just press <enter> after typing command 'free' or top in a terminal)

Regards,
Johannes

[Image: IMG-9523.jpg]
[Image: Screenshot-2020-03-03-at-12-30-17.png]
#2
(03-08-2020, 09:53 AM)Johannes Wrote: Hi,

I recently received a ROCK64 v3 4GB DDR memory board.
The board has a 4GB sticker on it and came in a box stating it is 4GB.
However, after installing two linux distributions I found out that available memory is only 1GB.
(distros: bionic-lxde-rock64-0.9.14-1159-armhf.img.xz and Armbian_2-.02.1_Rock64_bionic_current_5.4.20_desktop.7z (both) on eMMC and microSD card.)

I found out that the DDR memory chip has number PB047 - 125 PT on it, this identifies online as a 1GB (8Gb) memory chip not 4GB (see pictures below).

My question is what 4GB chip numbers of other ROCK64 v3 4GB boards are there with confirmed 4GB of memory when the OS (linux) is running?
(just press <enter> after typing command 'free' or top in a terminal)

Regards,
Johannes

[Image: IMG-9523.jpg]
[Image: Screenshot-2020-03-03-at-12-30-17.png]

I thinks you have informed sales team. Sales team already checked with shipping team on this mix up.
#3
(03-09-2020, 07:34 PM)tllim Wrote:
(03-08-2020, 09:53 AM)Johannes Wrote: Hi,

I recently received a ROCK64 v3 4GB DDR memory board.
The board has a 4GB sticker on it and came in a box stating it is 4GB.
However, after installing two linux distributions I found out that available memory is only 1GB.
(distros: bionic-lxde-rock64-0.9.14-1159-armhf.img.xz and Armbian_2-.02.1_Rock64_bionic_current_5.4.20_desktop.7z (both) on eMMC and microSD card.)

I found out that the DDR memory chip has number PB047 - 125 PT on it, this identifies online as a 1GB (8Gb) memory chip not 4GB (see pictures below).

My question is what 4GB chip numbers of other ROCK64 v3 4GB boards are there with confirmed 4GB of memory when the OS (linux) is running?
(just press <enter> after typing command 'free' or top in a terminal)

Regards,
Johannes

[Image: IMG-9523.jpg]
[Image: Screenshot-2020-03-03-at-12-30-17.png]

I thinks you have informed sales team. Sales team already checked with shipping team on this mix up.

Thats right. It was the wrong board (1GB sdram instead of 4GB).
I am currently waiting on a 4 GB version (got my money back for $GB 1GB difference, so that is really ok!).


Possibly Related Threads…
Thread Author Replies Views Last Post
  ROCK64 v3 can it boot from USB? Tsagualsa 2 91 Yesterday, 04:24 PM
Last Post: Macgyver
  How well does Rock64 deal with HDR and Atmos on Kodi? drvlikhell 1 102 11-20-2022, 07:41 PM
Last Post: tllim
  OpenWRT on the Rock64 CanadianBacon 9 2,886 11-05-2022, 03:07 PM
Last Post: wilsonYan
  my rock64 dosen't work rookie_267 0 222 10-07-2022, 07:50 PM
Last Post: rookie_267
  Rock64 u-boot for eMMC Build Error mexicanflyer 0 261 09-18-2022, 02:29 PM
Last Post: mexicanflyer
  ROCK64 - Not start mathieu 0 471 07-11-2022, 03:49 AM
Last Post: mathieu
  Rock64 bricked shawwwn 6 3,042 01-29-2022, 05:49 AM
Last Post: shawwwn
  Rock64 board not working, no HDMI no Ethernet. EDited 2 1,643 01-26-2022, 08:46 AM
Last Post: TRS-80
  Rock64 <--> Rock64 Serial Connection mark1250 1 1,177 12-23-2021, 09:27 PM
Last Post: barray
  Are you guys still using Ayufan's OMV on your Rock64? AkiraSensei 0 1,055 11-26-2021, 07:01 PM
Last Post: AkiraSensei

Forum Jump:


Users browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)