Looking for some guidance
So i  borked my os a few times and have reflashed the Debian without issue. But as I'm still new to this it takes me a bit to get back to my setup. I've tried timeshift with some success but would like to learn the process without any apps. What I'm trying to do is set my machine up the way I like it and make an image of that setup for ease of restore. 
1st- I take an image with
     sudo DD if=/dev/mmcblk1 | gzip -c > /media/FeMike/sdcard1 backup.img.gz
Then I take that card bring it to my windows pc and use balena etcher to flash it to another sdcard. I power down my pb64 plug the card in them turn it back on and it is still booting from Emmc. What strep am I missing or is this the wrong way to go about it? Thank you
(02-05-2020, 02:31 PM)FeMike Wrote: So i  borked my os a few times and have reflashed the Debian without issue. But as I'm still new to this it takes me a bit to get back to my setup. I've tried timeshift with some success but would like to learn the process without any apps. What I'm trying to do is set my machine up the way I like it and make an image of that setup for ease of restore. 
Then I take that card bring it to my windows pc and use balena etcher to flash it to another sdcard. I power down my pb64 plug the card in them turn it back on and it is still booting from Emmc. What strep am I missing or is this the wrong way to go about it? Thank you

Are you trying to dd from a running system? If so you will only end up with corrupted images.
(02-05-2020, 07:00 PM)evilbunny Wrote:
(02-05-2020, 02:31 PM)FeMike Wrote: So i  borked my os a few times and have reflashed the Debian without issue. But as I'm still new to this it takes me a bit to get back to my setup. I've tried timeshift with some success but would like to learn the process without any apps. What I'm trying to do is set my machine up the way I like it and make an image of that setup for ease of restore.