Linux Images (ROCK64)
(09-12-2018, 06:21 AM)evilbunny Wrote: For what ever reason, only an armhf package exists, not an arm64...

https://packages.debian.org/stretch/ntopng

Thanks for the link. I checked again and noticed that the Debian Buster has an arm64 version.
I tried it and there is only one unsatisfied dependency :
libluajit-5.1-2 (>= 2.0.4+dfsg) needed

I had to install (from Debian buster) :
libluajit-5.1-common
libluajit-5.1-2
ntopng-data_2.4+dfsg1-4
and obviously ntopng_2.4

and then IT WORKS !

I have ntopng running.
  Reply
Just installed the latest build 0.7.11 with Bionic ARM64 minimal build.

So far I'm impressed. I was using one of the 0.5x stable builds for ages.  This one seems much more responsive in relation to it being an always on NAS.  Even running the updates and installing them seems quicker.  Only downside is reading from my USB3 HDD doesn't go much beyond 40MB/s throughput. So same as the previous build I was using.

(UPDATE: Seems there is a stability issue with this build. Haven't had time to investigate it, but unable to access HDD share or putty to the box). Very simple set of apps on this build.
  Reply
I installed the last Armbian Debian Buster minimal for Rock64, which works fine but for one point : the  STEREO AUDIO DAC ADD-ON BOARD card is not supported. I found that the software necessary to load it was not present, nothing in /usr/local/sbin, and so the command necessary to start the ethernet port does not work :
       
Code:
   /usr/local/sbin/enable_dtoverlay eth1 [email protected] okay

I copied the content of the similar directory from the Debian Stretch I used before, and the command is executed. But the card does not take the fixed IP address defined in /etc/network/interfaces.d config file.
This config file is OK because, when I have an USB-Ethernet adapter plugged in on startup, it gets the proper values for eth1 (and the add-on board ethernet port becomes eth2).
If I use the manual configuration with

Code:
ifconfig eth1 192.168.1.184

it works, and everything is running normally. But I have to start manually all the services which were unable to start, because they didn't find eth1 on startup, and this is obviously not a solution for a server which has to run on itself.
Is there a different way to start this ethernet port with Armbian Buster ?

I studied the logs, nothing very clear comes out that.  I have attached in a zip file extracts of the syslog and debug log files.


Code:
enable_dtoverlay[690]: Applying...
enable_dtoverlay[690]: /dts-v1/;
enable_dtoverlay[690]: / {
enable_dtoverlay[690]: #[email protected] {
enable_dtoverlay[690]: #011#011target-path = "/[email protected]";
enable_dtoverlay[690]: #011#011__overlay__ {
enable_dtoverlay[690]: #011#011#011status="okay";
enable_dtoverlay[690]: #011#011};
enable_dtoverlay[690]: #011};
enable_dtoverlay[690]: };
(...)

after the list of IRQ POLL:

systemd-udevd[822]: link_config: [b]could not get ethtool features for eth2[/b]
systemd-udevd[822]: Could not set offload features of eth2: Device or resource busy
enable_dtoverlay[690]: Applied!
(...)
kernel: [   13.402838] of_get_named_gpiod_flags: can't parse 'snps,reset-gpio' property of node '/[email protected][0]'
  Reply
Noob question. There is any way to install Ubuntu Server x64 (amd64) on a RockPro64 board?
  Reply
(08-26-2019, 05:52 PM)kcirap Wrote: Noob question. There is any way to install Ubuntu Server x64 (amd64) on a RockPro64 board?

No. The RockPro64 (and all the other Pine64 boards/laptops) are not amd64/x86-64 machines. They have ARM processors, much like your smartphone most likely does. Completely incompatible with each other.
Community administrator and sysadmin for PINE64
(Translation: If something breaks on the website, forum, or chat network, I'm a good person to yell at about it)

  Reply
(08-26-2019, 06:11 PM)fire219 Wrote:
(08-26-2019, 05:52 PM)kcirap Wrote: Noob question. There is any way to install Ubuntu Server x64 (amd64) on a RockPro64 board?

No. The RockPro64 (and all the other Pine64 boards/laptops) are not amd64/x86-64 machines. They have ARM processors, much like your smartphone most likely does. Completely incompatible with each other.

Thank you!
  Reply
Hello,
I'm trying install ARM compiler to compile Blast+ on ARM (Look here the tutorial that I'm using). I'm using the Ubuntu 18.04 Bionic Minimal 64bit (arm64) [microSD / eMMC Boot] [0.8.3]. First tun on the fan in maximum RPM using the following command:
Code:
echo 255 >/sys/class/hwmon/hwmon0/pwm

After issue the command above the fan starts up, and then I download ARM compiler from official site, this download 2.3GB tar.gz file and then after unpack I run the install command 
Code:
cd ARM-Compiler-for-HPC_19.2_AArch64_Ubuntu_16.04_aarch64/
./arm-compiler-for-hpc-19.2_Generic-AArch64_Ubuntu-16.04_aarch64-linux-deb.sh -a
the command runs well, however at certain point the RockPro64 reboots before complete the installation.




There is any suggestion to fix this?
  Reply
Hello all! sorry this has already been asked but 

Got my first rock64, installed ubuntu-minimal (to test) via PineInstaller with a 32Gb emmc module, ran a lsblk and got this... 

why so many partitions?

Is there a reasoning behind this madness or is this just poorly formatted? 

Code:
[email protected]:~$ lsblk
NAME         MAJ:MIN RM   SIZE RO TYPE MOUNTPOINT
mtdblock0     31:0    0     4M  0 disk
mmcblk0      179:0    0  29.1G  0 disk
├─mmcblk0p1  179:1    0   3.9M  0 part
├─mmcblk0p2  179:2    0    64K  0 part
├─mmcblk0p3  179:3    0     4M  0 part
├─mmcblk0p4  179:4    0     4M  0 part
├─mmcblk0p5  179:5    0     4M  0 part
├─mmcblk0p6  179:6    0   112M  0 part /boot/efi
└─mmcblk0p7  179:7    0    29G  0 part /
mmcblk0boot0 179:32   0     4M  1 disk
mmcblk0boot1 179:64   0     4M  1 disk
mmcblk0rpmb  179:96   0     4M  0 disk
zram0        252:0    0 248.7M  0 disk [SWAP]
zram1        252:1    0 248.7M  0 disk [SWAP]
zram2        252:2    0 248.7M  0 disk [SWAP]
zram3        252:3    0 248.7M  0 disk [SWAP]
I have no idea what I'm doing... wanna see how I did it?! Big Grin
  Reply
(01-12-2020, 01:39 PM)dpgraham Wrote: Hello all! sorry this has already been asked but 

Got my first rock64, installed ubuntu-minimal (to test) via PineInstaller with a 32Gb emmc module, ran a lsblk and got this... 

why so many partitions?

Is there a reasoning behind this madness or is this just poorly formatted? 

Code:
[email protected]:~$ lsblk
NAME         MAJ:MIN RM   SIZE RO TYPE MOUNTPOINT
mtdblock0     31:0    0     4M  0 disk
mmcblk0      179:0    0  29.1G  0 disk
├─mmcblk0p1  179:1    0   3.9M  0 part
├─mmcblk0p2  179:2    0    64K  0 part
├─mmcblk0p3  179:3    0     4M  0 part
├─mmcblk0p4  179:4    0     4M  0 part
├─mmcblk0p5  179:5    0     4M  0 part
├─mmcblk0p6  179:6    0   112M  0 part /boot/efi
└─mmcblk0p7  179:7    0    29G  0 part /
mmcblk0boot0 179:32   0     4M  1 disk
mmcblk0boot1 179:64   0     4M  1 disk
mmcblk0rpmb  179:96   0     4M  0 disk
zram0        252:0    0 248.7M  0 disk [SWAP]
zram1        252:1    0 248.7M  0 disk [SWAP]
zram2        252:2    0 248.7M  0 disk [SWAP]
zram3        252:3    0 248.7M  0 disk [SWAP]


Bootloaders and other bios'y things live in those partitions on mmcblk0  as arm boards don't have a bios. zram is compressed ram.
  Reply
Ahh That makes sense, thanks evilbunny!
I guess that's the downside of using an auto-installer, it's a black box Smile

Very cool, was not familiar with the use of zram.
Could anyone point me to a wiki that possible talks about the advantages of four 250M sized zram partitions versus one 1G zram partition? just curious.

edit: Please and thank you!
I have no idea what I'm doing... wanna see how I did it?! Big Grin
  Reply


Possibly Related Threads...
Thread Author Replies Views Last Post
  Volumio on Rock64 gkkpch 19 10,964 02-21-2020, 04:49 PM
Last Post: mdr
  OMV Rock64 Nerevarine 6 118 02-21-2020, 04:28 AM
Last Post: default_user8
  Armbian for Rock64 pineadmin 19 6,175 02-03-2020, 11:07 PM
Last Post: janke
  slarm64 (unofficial slackware) Rock64 RK3328 (aarch64) mara 62 14,776 01-28-2020, 12:36 PM
Last Post: mara
  CentOS 7 for Rock64 pineadmin 2 710 01-13-2020, 12:27 PM
Last Post: decontainerized
  RETRO-GAMING: UPDATED RELEASE OF RECALBOX FOR THE ROCK64 Mrfixit2001 24 5,822 12-28-2019, 11:35 PM
Last Post: suberimakuri
Thumbs Up Manjaro for Rock64 Luke 7 2,016 12-19-2019, 05:53 PM
Last Post: tomarm
Sad HDMI doesn't work on rock64 rock7 0 138 12-16-2019, 01:04 PM
Last Post: rock7
  Remote desktop access Rock64 over Internet hg6806 2 136 12-11-2019, 08:27 PM
Last Post: default_user8
Question /dev/spidev0,0 on the Rock64 - Does anyone know how to enable it? Kappuchino 14 2,980 12-05-2019, 09:42 PM
Last Post: phuzy

Forum Jump:


Users browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)