How do I use UART serial port on the Pi-2 bus?
How do I reference the UART pins on the PI 2 header (pins 8 and 10) to start a serial session from the command line?  I'd like to use GNU Screen, if possible.  I'm guessing something like :
>$ screen /dev/ttySomethingOrAnother 115200

I'm a newb to the P64, and this is my first time trying to communicate with a peripheral.

Do I need to configure the pins to use their UART function?  If so, how?  

(If there are better Rx/Tx pins to connect to my device, I'm open to that.  I just picked those pins from an example on connecting UART to the RPi)

Feel free to point me to any docs on the subject.  (I'm still learning where to search for Pine64 info.)
(12-08-2016, 09:19 PM)SvdSinner Wrote: How do I reference the UART pins on the PI 2 header (pins 8 and 10) to start a serial session from the command line?  I'd like to use GNU Screen, if possible.  I'm guessing something like :
>$ screen /dev/ttySomethingOrAnother 115200

I'm a newb to the P64, and this is my first time trying to communicate with a peripheral.

Do I need to configure the pins to use their UART function?  If so, how?  

(If there are better Rx/Tx pins to connect to my device, I'm open to that.  I just picked those pins from an example on connecting UART to the RPi)

Feel free to point me to any docs on the subject.  (I'm still learning where to search for Pine64 info.)

You're on the right track. You also need to connect Ground - you can use pin 4 for that. That makes it easy to remember pins 4, 6 and 8 are UART2, so the command would be:

>$ screen /dev/ttyS2 115200

If you're using a USB UART adapter make sure it's set up to run on 3.3 volts.
(12-08-2016, 10:08 PM)psychedup Wrote: >$ screen /dev/ttyS2 115200

I will add :
  uart2:  /dev/ttyS2
  uart3:  /dev/ttyS3
  uart4:  /dev/ttyS4

You will probably want to do one of the following:

sudo chmod 0777 /dev/ttyS2

or

sudo usermod -aG dialout  username