Which of the following best describes your ethernet situation on the PineA64? (read first post, post your answers after the poll)
GbE ethernet has always worked on my PineA64 (regardless of OS choice)
5.88%
3
GbE ethernet has never worked on my PineA64 (regardless of OS choice)
76.47%
39
GbE ethernet NOW works on my PineA64 by changing the environment or configuration
9.80%
5
I'm not interested in GbE ethernet
0%
0
I don't use ethernet 10/100/1000 primarily
0%
0
My machines are primarily connected via wifi
1.96%
1
other
5.88%
3
51 vote(s)
* You voted for this item. [Show Results]

GbE Ethernet Port Issue Data Gathering Statistics Intel
#11
1) board serial number and type: s/n 410640155548 A64-DB-2G-Rev B 2016-03-21
2) RTL chip numbers:  RTL8211E  GJF73H1  GG128
3) current ethernet switch or router make model and numbers: Asus N16, Intel NIC, Broadcom NIC
4) if you modded your board and made it work, how? n/a
5) if you swapped out your switch or router and made it work, what or which? n/a
6) if GbE is critical to your operation, please tell us how so ? n/a
7) provide any other additional 'data only' that might be helpful. 
  Reply
#12
Edited my post because it's working now. Don't know how to change my vote...
  Reply
#13
1) board serial number and type (2G): 410640162489, a64-db-2G rev b, 2016-03-21
2) RTL chip numbers:  ie,  RTL8211E  G2K40P2  GG10B: rtl8211e g3e16p1 gg128
3) current ethernet switch or router make model and numbers: linksys R8000
4) if you modded your board and made it work, how?: not modded the board
5) if you swapped out your switch or router and made it work, what or which? have cut up a cat5e cable to remove brown and blue pairs, leaving a cat5 cable with 2 pairs on pins 1, 2, 3 and 6
6) if GbE is critical to your operation, please tell us how so ? n/a
7) provide any other additional 'data only' that might be helpful. Gigabit ran at a few kbs. Straight after plugging in the modded cable, it ran at 94 Mbps, 11ms ping (Used the speedtest app on REMIX OS 2 16041501. no reboot or other changes necesssary.
  Reply
#14
(08-17-2016, 03:35 PM)MarkHaysHarris777 Wrote:

We want specific information about the ethernet port on the PineA64, relative to the board serial number.  Please provide this information after you vote on the survey above:

1) board serial number and type (2G)-
                  410640148309 (1G)
2) RTL chip numbers:  ie,  RTL8211E  G2K40P2  GG10B
                  RTL8211E
3) current Ethernet switch or router make model and numbers
                Verizon modem/router MI424WR-GEN3I


4) if you modded your board and made it work, how?
5) if you swapped out your switch or router and made it work, what or which?
6) if GbE is critical to your operation, please tell us how so ?
7) provide any other additional 'data only' that might be helpful.

Please DO NOT post discussion or questions to this thread;  it is intended only for data gathering for the GbE database.

Also, please don't quote this post.

thank you

Edit:  PS...  it is easier to read the RTL chip numbers if you use a hand scope, and an LED flash-light ; changing the angle of the source light will make the text more visible in the scope.
  Reply
#15
I have two Pine's, a 1Gb and a 2Gb version.

1) Pine64+ 2GB - Serial 410640138471 - Board 201-A64DB110-02 A64-DB-V1.1 2G C160358 04.12
2) RTL chip numbers:  RTL8211E  G3E16P1  GG12B
3) TP-Link Archer C3200
4) N/A
5) N/A
6) Planned to use it as an SDR having Gb ethernet is important.
7) Never worked on 1Gb. Works fine on 100Mb by forcing it at the lower speed.

1) Pine64+ 1GB - Serial 410640106854 - Board 201-A64DB110-01 A64-DB-V1.1 1G C160304 8723 03.17
2) RTL chip numbers:  RTL8211E  G2K87H2  GG10B
3) TP-Link Archer C3200
4) N/A
5) N/A
6) Planned to use it as an SDR having Gb ethernet is important.
7) Works fine on 1Gb. No problems.
  Reply
#16
1) board serial number and type (2G) 410640136598  2G
2) RTL chip numbers:   RTL8211E G3E16P1 GG12B
3) current ethernet switch or router make model and numbers TPLink TL-SG1008D
4) if you modded your board and made it work, how? n/a
5) if you swapped out your switch or router and made it work, what or which? n/a
6) if GbE is critical to your operation, please tell us how so ? Yes, Transport large files to NAS on regular basis.
7) provide any other additional 'data only' that might be helpful.
Backer# 19,892
  Reply
#17
New board, same issue as the other one.

1) Pine64+ 2GB - Serial 410640138713 - Board 201-A64DB110-02 A64-DB-V1.1 2G C160358 04.12
2) RTL chip numbers: RTL8211E G3E16P1 GG12B
3) Router/Modem: Current switch is a GS105Ev2 managed switch - Prosafe Config utility says PINE is connected over 1000M, but PINE itself is basically non functional network-wise unless I switch the port on the switch to 100M
4) if you modded your board and made it work, how? N/A
5) if you swapped out your switch or router and made it work, what or which? N/A - have tried three different switches and different cables
6) if GbE is critical to your operation, please tell us how so? Used in NAS, large file transfers needed. Not critical but will be useful and is the reason I bought the PINE to replace my RaspberryPi 2.
7) provide any other additional 'data only' that might be helpful: The issue exists even locally between the PINE and my desktop connected on the same switch. No other connection needs to be factored in.
  Reply
#18
I voted "other" because it used to work, but it doesn't anymore.

1) A64-DB-2D-Rev B 2016-02-25 410640112454
2) I don't know where to find this number
3) The router from my ISP (Proximus)
4) /
5) /
6) I didn't buy the WiFi module
7) /

Additional info:
I used to use Remix OS and it worked great to watch Full HD videos on Netflix, or other video files from a computer on my LAN using Kodi. It worked by plugging an ethernet cable to the router, but it also worked through a CPL network.

With speedtest.net I achieved ~75Mbits/s but I have no other benchmark.

Then all of a sudden, a few days ago, without changing anything, it stopped working. Sometimes the Pine can connect to the router and have a really really slow connection (not usable, something like 15Kbits/s), but sometimes the ethernet doesn't work at all.

I tried the new version of Remix OS (I hadn't upgraded since several months), I tried Android, but with no luck.
  Reply
#19
1. Pine64+ 2GB S/N 410640160045 board 201-A64DB110-02 V1.1 2G C160416 05 17
2. RTL8211E G3E16P1 GG12B
3. Router DIR880L / Modem Motorola SurfBoard
4. Works on 10/100 by modding the cable
5. N/A
6. So far no; though I bought this thing with gigabit and modded cables are annoying...
7. I bought 5 boards - they all behave the same. Above info is off the board I can get to right now - it's after midnight and the rest of the house is asleep near the rest of the Pines!
  Reply
#20
1) board serial number and type: 410640124622 - 2GB board
2) RTL chip numbers: RTL8211E G3E16P1 GG12B
3) Cisco ASA 5505/Meraki MS220-8P
4) No mods to board
5) if you swapped out your switch or router and made it work, what or which? NA - Verified cabling is good with known good devices (Laptop, PS4, XBOX360)
6) if GbE is critical to your operation, please tell us how so? Not critical, but highly desirable, as I want to use this to stream media and games.
7) Had ethernet issues with both Android 5.1.1 and RemixOS. Device obtains IP address but I have no connectivity (both images downloaded from wiki.pine64.org)
  Reply


Possibly Related Threads…
Thread Author Replies Views Last Post
  Ethernet port down afert 1 day jeda 0 180 11-12-2022, 06:48 AM
Last Post: jeda
  Ethernet --> Causing boot loop podtofs 3 4,396 05-16-2017, 03:41 AM
Last Post: m17
  What will it take to get the Ethernet port working? clarkss12 10 13,193 10-17-2016, 03:42 PM
Last Post: waldo
  Ethernet Slow Download Ascotg 89 88,849 09-08-2016, 01:50 PM
Last Post: MarkHaysHarris777
  Pine64+ 1GB Ethernet Port spec ecotack 13 12,044 08-20-2016, 09:28 PM
Last Post: pfeerick
  If you have had difficulty with the GbE ethernet please take the poll MarkHaysHarris777 0 2,008 08-17-2016, 05:44 PM
Last Post: MarkHaysHarris777
  Ethernet works on Arch Linux. Nothing elese pfunk237 4 5,023 07-23-2016, 03:07 PM
Last Post: SuperArmySoldiers

Forum Jump:


Users browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)