[Jan 06] Arch Linux (20171225-1) PINE A64(+) Pinebook A64-LTS/SOPINE | [Jan 04] Linux (0.5.15-136) ROCK64 | [Jan 04] Android (20171204) ROCK64 | [Dec 22] Stretch Mate (0.5.15-136-20171222) ROCK64 | [Dec 21] openHAB 2 (v1.4) PINE A64(+) | [Dec 11] Volumio (2.315) PINE A64(+) A64-LTS/SOPINE | [Dec 11] Armbian (5.35) PINE A64(+) Pinebook A64-LTS/SOPINE | [Dec 8] OpenMediaVault (0.5.15-136) ROCK64

Getting Started | Visit the WIKI | IRC Logs | Forum Rules/Policy


Poll: Which of the following best describes your ethernet situation on the PineA64? (read first post, post your answers after the poll)
This poll is closed.
GbE ethernet has always worked on my PineA64 (regardless of OS choice)
5.88%
3 5.88%
GbE ethernet has never worked on my PineA64 (regardless of OS choice)
76.47%
39 76.47%
GbE ethernet NOW works on my PineA64 by changing the environment or configuration
9.80%
5 9.80%
I'm not interested in GbE ethernet
0%
0 0%
I don't use ethernet 10/100/1000 primarily
0%
0 0%
My machines are primarily connected via wifi
1.96%
1 1.96%
other
5.88%
3 5.88%
Total 51 vote(s) 100%
* You voted for this item. [Show Results]

GbE Ethernet Port Issue Data Gathering Statistics Intel
#1


We want specific information about the ethernet port on the PineA64, relative to the board serial number.  Please provide this information after you vote on the survey above:

1) board serial number and type (2G)
2) RTL chip numbers:  ie,  RTL8211E  G2K40P2  GG10B
3) current ethernet switch or router make model and numbers
4) if you modded your board and made it work, how?
5) if you swapped out your switch or router and made it work, what or which?
6) if GbE is critical to your operation, please tell us how so ?
7) provide any other additional 'data only' that might be helpful.

Please DO NOT post discussion or questions to this thread;  it is intended only for data gathering for the GbE database.

Also, please don't quote this post.

thank you

Edit: PS... it is easier to read the RTL chip numbers if you use a hand scope, and an LED flash-light ; changing the angle of the source light will make the text more visible in the scope.
marcushh777    Cool

please join us for a chat @  irc.pine64.xyz:6667   or ssl  irc.pine64.xyz:6697

( I regret that I am not able to respond to personal messages;  let's meet on irc! )
Reply
#2
1) Pine64+ (1GB)  - A64-DB-Rev B (2016-02-24)
2) RTL chip numbers:  RTL8211E 'Green' (RTL8211E G2M97H2 GG09B)
3) Router/Modem: Billion 7800NXL, Switch: Tenda  1008D (not currently in service, but when used makes no difference)
4) if you modded your board and made it work, how? N/A
5) if you swapped out your switch or router and made it work, what or which? N/A
6) if GbE is critical to your operation, please tell us how so ? Currently not, but if pine64 replaces my current NAS solution, will be needed due to frequent large file transfers
7) provide any other additional 'data only' that might be helpful.

In my (working) case, both router and switch support GbE (1000T ethernet). Both router and switch will acknowledge successful GbE autonegotation with pine64. This on debian, with the  v3.10.101-4-pine64-longsleep kernel. 

When I shut down my normal (onboard) wireless link, and switch to eth0, I get the results listed below. Nowhere near as fast as GbE can go, but a significant amount faster than 100M ethernet, using what ethernet cabling I had handy. I issued a 'sudo ifup eth0' command to bring up the ethernet, 'sudo ifdown wlan0' command to shut down the wireless, and re-established my SSH remote session over ethernet. Perhaps due to my configuration, I needed to issue the following two commands to re-establish my internet connection (local network link was unaffected). 


Code:
sudo ifconfig eth0 192.168.0.54 netmask 255.255.255.0 broadcast 192.168.0.255
sudo ip route add default via 192.168.0.1

Code:
pine64 as a server (iperf -s)
------------------------------------------------------------
Server listening on TCP port 5001
TCP window size: 85.3 KByte (default)
------------------------------------------------------------
[  4] local 192.168.0.54 port 5001 connected with 192.168.0.5 port 43967
[ ID] Interval       Transfer     Bandwidth
[  4]  0.0-10.0 sec   436 MBytes   366 Mbits/sec

Code:
pine64 as a client (iperf -c)
------------------------------------------------------------
Client connecting to 192.168.0.5, TCP port 5001
TCP window size: 22.5 KByte (default)
------------------------------------------------------------
[  3] local 192.168.0.54 port 38819 connected with 192.168.0.5 port 5001
[ ID] Interval       Transfer     Bandwidth
[  3]  0.0-10.0 sec   946 MBytes   793 Mbits/sec

Code:
some wget local network downloads from another GbE device
2016-08-18 10:36:26 (16.5 MB/s) - ‘song.mp3’ saved [5740774/5740774]
2016-08-18 10:39:39 (11.0 MB/s) - ‘test.exe’ saved [46423792/46423792]
2016-08-18 11:02:25 (26.9 MB/s) - ‘test.mp4’ saved [249468769/249468769]

I have seem a claimed speak spike of about 51MB/s, but you can see the highest average was 26.9 MB/s

Code:
ifconfig eth0 info 

eth0      Link encap:Ethernet  HWaddr 7a:6e:63:ac:21:f1
          inet addr:192.168.0.54  Bcast:192.168.0.255  Mask:255.255.255.0
          inet6 addr: fe80::786e:63ff:feac:21f1/64 Scope:Link
          UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST  MTU:1500  Metric:1
          RX packets:941982 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
          TX packets:870511 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
          collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
          RX bytes:1320569442 (1.2 GiB)  TX bytes:1049375822 (1000.7 MiB)
          Interrupt:114

Code:
/etc/network/interfaces configuration

source /etc/network/interfaces.d/*

# The loopback network interface
auto lo
iface lo inet loopback

# The wireless interface
auto wlan0
iface wlan0 inet dhcp
wpa-conf /etc/wpa_supplicant/wpa_supplicant.conf
iface default inet dhcp

# Disable Secondary Wireless Lan (8723bs Has Two Interfaces)
iface wlan1 inet manual

# The primary network interface
#auto eth0
iface eth0 inet dhcp

Code:
sudo lshw -class network
  *-network:0
       description: Ethernet interface
       physical id: 5
       logical name: eth0
       serial: 7a:6e:63:ac:21:f1
       size: 1Gbit/s
       capacity: 1Gbit/s
       capabilities: ethernet physical tp mii 10bt 10bt-fd 100bt 100bt-fd 1000bt 1000bt-fd autonegotiation
       configuration: autonegotiation=on broadcast=yes driver=sunxi_geth driverversion=SUNXI Gbgit driver V1.1 duplex=full ip=192.168.0.54 link=yes multicast=yes port=MII speed=1Gbit/s
Reply
#3
1) Pine64+ 2GB - Serial 410640155649 - Board 201-A64DB110-02 A64-DB-V1.1 2G C160416 05.17
2) RTL chip numbers: RTL8211E G3F73H1 GG12B
3) Router/Modem: Current switch is a GS105Ev2 managed switch - Prosafe Config utility says PINE is connected over 1000M, but PINE itself is basically non functional network-wise unless I switch the port on the switch to 100M
4) if you modded your board and made it work, how? N/A
5) if you swapped out your switch or router and made it work, what or which? N/A - have tried three different switches and different cables
6) if GbE is critical to your operation, please tell us how so? Used in NAS, large file transfers needed. Not critical but will be useful and is the reason I bought the PINE to replace my RaspberryPi 2.
7) provide any other additional 'data only' that might be helpful: The issue exists even locally between the PINE and my desktop connected on the same switch. No other connection needs to be factored in.
Reply
#4
1) Pine64+ - 201-A64DB110-02 A64-DB-V1.1 2G C1603068723 03.17
2) RTL chip numbers: RTL8211E  G2X67H2 GG10b
3) current ethernet switch or router make model and numbers: Fritzbox 7490 (did not work with fixed 1000mbs port, only fixed 100mbs port), TP-Link TL-SG108 (does not work, showed 1000mbs connection, but very slow), D-LINK DIR-645 (does not work with 1000mbs port, very slow, only 100mbs port)
4) if you modded your board and made it work, how? n/a
5) if you swapped out your switch or router and made it work, what or which? see above, also tried different cable, all cat5e
6) if GbE is critical to your operation, please tell us how so ? wanted to replace Pi3 as network NAS, so with 100mbs its all the same again and no improvement
7) provide any other additional 'data only' that might be helpful. board worked fine in longsleeps environment, so seems an issue with my config/switches, but all other GbE components work fine...
Still a linux newbie with several EEE-PCs, PI's, LattePanda and some Desktops/Laptops running Win10. Now also proudly using Pine64+ 2GB and gigabit LAN
Reply
#5
1) Pine 64+ 2Gb - 201-A64DB110-02 A64-DB-V1.1 2G C160358 04.12
2) RTL chip numbers : RTL8211E 3E16P1 GG12B
3) Switch D-Link - DGS-108
4) no
5) no
6) Ethernet is about 10 ko/s (won't use wifi, so I can't use my pine yet, wanted to make a media center, speed not sufficiant)
7) all my other device works fine on the same switch (laptop, nas)
Reply
#6
1) 201-A64-DB110-02
    A64-DB-v1.1 2G
    C160358 04.11
2) RTL8211E  G2K40P2  GG10B
3) Asus N56U (Realtek RTL8367M chip for switch)
4) Not modded.
5) N/A
6) Run a Samba server on it so Gb Ethernet is nice (although I am of course limited by USB2.0 then)
7) PINE64 works at acceptable levels most of the time over Gb. Network slows to almost nothing occasionally. More explanation in my post here.


Code:
Linux aoba 3.10.102-2-pine64-longsleep #66 SMP PREEMPT Sat Jul 16 10:53:13 CEST 2016 aarch64 GNU/Linux
[email protected]:~$ sudo ifconfig eth0
eth0      Link encap:Ethernet  HWaddr 36:c9:e3:f1:b8:05
         inet addr:192.168.20.7  Bcast:192.168.20.255  Mask:255.255.255.0
         inet6 addr: fe80::34c9:e3ff:fef1:b805/64 Scope:Link
         UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST  MTU:1500  Metric:1
         RX packets:5666217 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
         TX packets:6714105 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
         collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
         RX bytes:6494935317 (6.0 GiB)  TX bytes:6641734676 (6.1 GiB)
         Interrupt:114

[email protected]:~$ sudo ethtool eth0
Settings for eth0:
       Supported ports: [ TP MII ]
       Supported link modes:   10baseT/Half 10baseT/Full
                               100baseT/Half 100baseT/Full
                               1000baseT/Half 1000baseT/Full
       Supported pause frame use: No
       Supports auto-negotiation: Yes
       Advertised link modes:  10baseT/Half 10baseT/Full
                               100baseT/Half 100baseT/Full
                               1000baseT/Half 1000baseT/Full
       Advertised pause frame use: No
       Advertised auto-negotiation: Yes
       Speed: 1000Mb/s
       Duplex: Full
       Port: MII
       PHYAD: 0
       Transceiver: external
       Auto-negotiation: on
       Link detected: yes
[email protected]:~$ iperf -c mashiro
------------------------------------------------------------
Client connecting to mashiro, TCP port 5001
TCP window size: 22.5 KByte (default)
------------------------------------------------------------
[  3] local 192.168.20.7 port 51133 connected with 192.168.20.6 port 5001
[ ID] Interval       Transfer     Bandwidth
[  3]  0.0-10.0 sec   611 MBytes   512 Mbits/sec
[email protected]:~$


Router reports (note FC OFF and dot3StatsFCSErrors which differ to other Gbit ethernet devices on my network) :

Code:
Port Link            : 1000 Mbps, Full Duplex, FC OFF

MIB Counters
----------------------------------------
ifInOctets            : 4483548236
ifOutOctets            : 73064230
etherStatsMcastPkts        : 36667
etherStatsBcastPkts        : 4463
etherStatsFragments        : 0
etherStatsDropEvents        : 0
etherStatsUndersizePkts        : 0
etherStatsOversizePkts        : 0
etherStatsCollisions        : 0
dot3StatsFCSErrors        : 6840
dot3StatsSymbolErrors        : 0
dot3ControlInUnknownOpcodes    : 0
dot3InPauseFrames        : 0
dot3OutPauseFrames        : 0
Reply
#7
1) Pine64+ 2Gb with wifi/BT 201-A64DB110-02 A64-DB-V1.1 2G C106358 04.10
2) RTL chip numbers: ie, RTL8211E G3E16P1 GG12B
3) Router brand/model not available from my location at present. Will post to forum later
4) No mods
5) Swapped location in network on different switches but still not working
6) GbE is critical. Throughput is critical to meet business need
7) No data only info available. Will add description of test methodology that demonstrates board issue definitively to forum
Reply
#8
1) board serial number and type (2G) 410640123090 - A64-DB-2G-Rev B 2016-02-25
2) RTL chip numbers:  ie,  RTL8211E G2H97M2 GG098
3) current ethernet switch or router make model and numbers: Edimax ES-5500G V3 (previously tried with Asus WL-500GP running OpenWRT - didn't work either)
4) if you modded your board and made it work, how? No modifications
5) if you swapped out your switch or router and made it work, what or which? N/A
6) if GbE is critical to your operation, please tell us how so - no answer
7) provide any other additional 'data only' that might be helpful.
Reply
#9
**my ethernet works now, I don't know what happened but it works so I'm happy**

1) board serial number and type (2G) 410640156966 A64-DB-2G-(V1.1)- REV B 2016-03-21
2) RTL chip numbers: ie, RTL8211E G3F73H1 GG12B
3) current ethernet switch or router make model and numbers: Cisco DPC3941T
4) if you modded your board and made it work, how? N/A
5) if you swapped out your switch or router and made it work, what or which? N/A
6) if GbE is critical to your operation, please tell us how so ? Don't want to have to rely on Wifi
7) provide any other additional 'data only' that might be helpful. high speed Wifi works fine, status lights on ethernet port are functioning, but no ethernet connection
Reply
#10
1) Pine64+ 2GB - Serial 410640173729 - Board 201-A64DB110-02 A64-DB-V1.1 2G C160680 07.02
2) RTL chip numbers: RTL8211E G3F73H1 GG12B
3) Router/Modem: ZyXEL NBG6716
4) if you modded your board and made it work, how? N/A
5) if you swapped out your switch or router and made it work, what or which? N/A - have tried three different switches and different cables
6) if GbE is critical to your operation, please tell us how so? GbE is critical. Throughput is critical to meet business need
7) provide any other additional 'data only' that might be helpful.No data only info available
Reply


Possibly Related Threads...
Thread Author Replies Views Last Post
  Ethernet --> Causing boot loop podtofs 3 687 05-16-2017, 03:41 AM
Last Post: m17
  What will it take to get the Ethernet port working? clarkss12 10 1,834 10-17-2016, 03:42 PM
Last Post: waldo
  Ethernet Slow Download Ascotg 89 8,289 09-08-2016, 01:50 PM
Last Post: MarkHaysHarris777
  Pine64+ 1GB Ethernet Port spec ecotack 13 1,257 08-20-2016, 09:28 PM
Last Post: pfeerick
  If you have had difficulty with the GbE ethernet please take the poll MarkHaysHarris777 0 316 08-17-2016, 05:44 PM
Last Post: MarkHaysHarris777
  Ethernet works on Arch Linux. Nothing elese pfunk237 4 694 07-23-2016, 03:07 PM
Last Post: SuperArmySoldiers

Forum Jump:


Users browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)