what is wrong with KDE plasma beta15 RC4?
#1
I can install ok and it will start up, and soon will message updates are available, and as soon as I install the updates from software manager or from console, my pinephone will give a bunch of error messages but not boot anymore.
Is KDE Plasma mobile abanoned by Manjaro, or does nobody care about?
  Reply
#2
See https://forum.manjaro.org/t/pinephone-do...e/148470/2
  Reply
#3
(09-26-2023, 05:14 PM)Kevin Kofler Wrote: See https://forum.manjaro.org/t/pinephone-do...e/148470/2

thank you, is it correct we do
Code:
sudo pacman -S qt5-base qt5-declarative qt5-multimedia pyside2
before doing
sudo pacman -Syyu?
  Reply
#4
Best is probably to do it after the -Syu and before rebooting. Or even after rebooting if you can manage to enter text mode and enter the command using a physical keyboard (since you cannot get into Plasma Mobile).
  Reply
#5
(09-27-2023, 02:37 PM)Kevin Kofler Wrote: Best is probably to do it after the -Syu and before rebooting. Or even after rebooting if you can manage to enter text mode and enter the command using a physical keyboard (since you cannot get into Plasma Mobile).

problem is, after rebooting I can't get to open terminal as the system stalls completely after displaying thes error messages.
  Reply
#6
With a physical keyboard, you can probably switch to a text-mode vterm using Ctrl+Alt+F2 or the same with some other F-key.

But the easiest solution is to swap the packages between the -Syu and the reboot.
  Reply
#7
(09-28-2023, 05:07 PM)Kevin Kofle Wrote: But the easiest solution is to swap the packages between the -Syu and the reboot.
guess I will just wait then.. Doing -Syu means we update which is followed by a automatic reboot, so I can't swap packages in that moment, unless I was wrong. I will try that again now, who knows.
  Reply
#8
The update should not automatically reboot. Do not use Discover to update, it is just generally broken on Arch and Manjaro (except for Flatpaks). If you do the update on the CLI (with pacman or pamac) or with pamac-gtk, it will not reboot without asking you.
  Reply
#9
(09-30-2023, 06:38 PM)Kevin Kofler Wrote: The update should not automatically reboot. Do not use Discover to update, it is just generally broken on Arch and Manjaro (except for Flatpaks). If you do the update on the CLI (with pacman or pamac) or with pamac-gtk, it will not reboot without asking you.

no - I am doing sudo pacman -Syu usually. but I was too lazy to watch the upding process. Thank you for guidng me, now it seems to work nicely again.
  Reply


Possibly Related Threads…
Thread Author Replies Views Last Post
Exclamation My short experience with Manjaro Plasma Mobile anonymous 10 4,163 03-02-2023, 07:25 PM
Last Post: Kevin Kofler
  Manjaro plasma-mobile Beta 13 Uturn 13 4,388 01-25-2023, 04:15 PM
Last Post: Kevin Kofler
  Manjaro Plasma busted Chief 2 1,426 11-22-2022, 05:00 PM
Last Post: Chief
  Disabling screen timeout for plasma mobile rp3 7 6,884 09-05-2022, 03:50 PM
Last Post: christev1
  VPN on Plasma Hobgoblin 1 1,194 08-29-2022, 03:14 AM
Last Post: saddamus
  manjaro-pinephone / plasma-mobile-dev: Update broken Uturn 32 28,082 07-28-2022, 12:40 PM
Last Post: johaennessen
  |Plasma] Blank screen + pointer, SDDM error tuxmain 0 921 07-04-2022, 11:42 AM
Last Post: tuxmain
  double tap to wake > plasma mobile Uturn 3 2,216 05-19-2022, 07:55 PM
Last Post: epiii2
  auto start waydroid in plasma mobile? Uturn 2 2,270 04-19-2022, 03:47 AM
Last Post: dorthatapia
  Manjaro Plasma Beta and Cellular Data Service Fred Zyphal 7 4,761 03-17-2022, 05:50 PM
Last Post: Fred Zyphal

Forum Jump:


Users browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)