Develop a new firmware for PineTime
Hi everyone,

(I hope I'm posting in the right place. If not, please let me know.)

I have been using PineTime since 2021 and I really like it. I'm absolutely a FOSS-guy who welcomes any open/community-based projects, such as PineTime which is a fully open (hardware and software) and long overdue product in the smartwatch market.

I'm studying Computer Engineering at university. Many of us design a high-level application (Java, Python etc.) or a webpage or something AI related stuff. However, I'm rather a hardware (IoT/embedded systems) -oriented person, and that's why many people think i'm crazy when I say: "I loved my Assembly programming course" Smile

To be honest, when I bought my first PineTime, I ordered a twin pack (sealed and devkit), because I knew that I would like to modify/hack/develop my watch in the future. And now it seems like a good idea to deal with PineTime because it perfectly fits my studies and who knows... maybe that could be even a great theme for my thesis. Moreover, it would be a great adventure (doing it for fun).

I'm planning to create a new (very basic) firmware from scratch. I mean that would be an independent and separate project from InfiniTime / Wasp-OS or other relevant PineTime related firmwares, although it would rely on some third party libraries (such as LVGL or FreeRTOS) and it would use existing projects (mostly InfiniTime) as a reference.

Initial (essential) objectives:
  • display time without any smart capabilities (e.g. Bluetooth synchronization)

Future (optional) objectives:
  • Bluetooth implementation
  • Heart rate measuring
  • Step counting
  • Built-in apps

At first, it sounds easy, doesn't it? However even the clock implementation can be challenging: multitasking, UI, using touch controller/screen/button for watch controlling, battery management, energy management, memory management, and so on.