PinePhone keyboard tones
Hello,

I am new to Linux (except Ubuntu) and to this forum; my PinePhone is my first "smart" phone (at age 70!) so my questions will likely be elementary.  Thanks for your patience.

My problem is that the virtual keys don't produce audible tones when touched so that I can't use it for automated phone systems ("Press 1 Now" for example).  I've looked everywhere I can think of in Settings including Sound, Tweaks, Mobile Settings and Keyboard to no avail.

Thanks in advance.

p.s. The application is 'Calls'.
And the Truth shall make ye fret.

m. nease
PinePhone
Maniaro ARM 64-BIT
phosh 0.25.2
(04-02-2023, 02:20 PM)mlnease Wrote: I am new to Linux (except Ubuntu) and to this forum; my PinePhone is my first "smart" phone (at age 70!) so my questions will likely be elementary.  Thanks for your patience.
Well, to be honest, since you are both almost new to (GNU/)Linux and new to smartphones, you are going to be in for a world of pain. The PinePhone is not really a device for beginners. Pine64 is very honest about who the target audience is, and people with only very limited (GNU/)Linux experience are not it.

The PinePhone is also my first smartphone, but I have been using GNU/Linux since the late 1990's. (I was a teenager back then, I am now 39.)

(04-02-2023, 02:20 PM)mlnease Wrote: My problem is that the virtual keys don't produce audible tones when touched so that I can't use it for automated phone systems ("Press 1 Now" for example).  I've looked everywhere I can think of in Settings including Sound, Tweaks, Mobile Settings and Keyboard to no avail.