repository for arch-phosh
#1
I have a pinephone with arch phosh installed. What are the absolutely necessary depository for future installations and/or updates? For example, I found that there were no packages installed of pine64 and phosh. By removing these depository, I could lighten pacman’s cache, yes or no?
  Reply
#2
No that is not how pacman works. The repositories are not cached locally, but packages that you install from those repositories will be. You can clean those cached files easily. https://wiki.archlinux.org/title/pacman#...kage_cache

EDIT: I am not sure if I understand your question correctly so let me add this: danctnix recently decommissioned some of the repositories and serves the packages from those out of their own danctnix repo, rather than having to maintain four different ones. So some of those repositories are indeed unnecessary.

This is what I have in my pacman.conf right now, with testing repository:

Code:
[danctnix-testing]
Server = https://p64.arikawa-hi.me/$repo/$arch/

[danctnix]
Server = https://p64.arikawa-hi.me/danctnix/aarch64/

[core]
Include = /etc/pacman.d/mirrorlist

[extra]
Include = /etc/pacman.d/mirrorlist

[community]
Include = /etc/pacman.d/mirrorlist

[alarm]
Include = /etc/pacman.d/mirrorlist

[aur]
Include = /etc/pacman.d/mirrorlist
  Reply
#3
Today, I commented on the repositories pine64, sxmo, plasma, phosh and alarm in pacman.conf since no package of these repositories is used on arch-phosh, we’ll see... at least the synchronizations will be faster and the cache lighter. I know pacman, yay for several years and I regularly use paccache to lighten the cache. My question was just about keeping all repositories for the future.
  Reply
#4
(02-20-2022, 05:58 PM)oihantto64 Wrote: Today, I commented on the repositories pine64, sxmo, plasma, phosh and alarm in pacman.conf since no package of these repositories is used on arch-phosh, we’ll see... at least the synchronizations will be faster and the cache lighter. I know pacman, yay for several years and I regularly use paccache to lighten the cache. My question was just about keeping all repositories for the future.

yes, I misunderstood the question completely. That is why I added the information in my edit
  Reply
#5
does arch have a tor repository like debian?
  Reply
#6
(02-25-2022, 11:06 AM)user641 Wrote: does arch have a tor repository like debian?

to install tor? or what does debians tor repo include?
  Reply
#7
(02-27-2022, 03:02 AM)Dan-Sun Wrote:
(02-25-2022, 11:06 AM)user641 Wrote: does arch have a tor repository like debian?

to install tor? or what does debians tor repo include?

To install new software and update the system using the package manager through tor, check here on Using Tor with Apt:
https://wiki.debian.org/SourcesList
  Reply
#8
You could install tor and torsocks and use torsocks in front of each command.
Code:
torsocks pacman -Syu

for example, but there is no tor mirror, I guess.
  Reply
#9
(02-19-2022, 07:45 PM)xnopasaranx Wrote: This is what I have in my pacman.conf right now, with testing repository:

Code:
[danctnix-testing]
Server = https://p64.arikawa-hi.me/$repo/$arch/

[danctnix]
Server = https://p64.arikawa-hi.me/danctnix/aarch64/

[core]
Include = /etc/pacman.d/mirrorlist

[extra]
Include = /etc/pacman.d/mirrorlist

[community]
Include = /etc/pacman.d/mirrorlist

[alarm]
Include = /etc/pacman.d/mirrorlist

[aur]
Include = /etc/pacman.d/mirrorlist

and what do you have in /etc/pacman.d/mirrorlist ?

ii have an empty /etc/pacman.d/mirrorlist (may i erased it)

a european mirror that works please

ezik
  Reply


Possibly Related Threads…
Thread Author Replies Views Last Post
  stuck between phosh and plasma aular 0 309 02-27-2024, 05:55 PM
Last Post: aular
  Updating Arch Linux _radv_ 8 1,114 02-20-2024, 09:35 AM
Last Post: _radv_
  PinePhone AND/OR PinePhone Pro Arch Complete Install and Setup mikehenson 2 2,498 01-14-2024, 08:43 AM
Last Post: shifras
  How to install arch with FDE user641 3 934 01-11-2024, 10:18 PM
Last Post: Kevin Kofler
  How to find software app, on Arch Phosh? general_lee 5 2,160 10-15-2023, 10:12 PM
Last Post: Kevin Kofler
  Arch auto mount usb example Lazy_one 2 2,984 10-06-2023, 09:36 AM
Last Post: luppivega
  Arch with FDE user641 1 997 07-29-2023, 08:27 AM
Last Post: alpineduck
  No keyboard on Arch Plasma when entering password on document Chief 0 892 12-03-2022, 08:35 PM
Last Post: Chief
  Curious About Arch Ferriah 2 2,246 11-07-2022, 04:38 PM
Last Post: Ferriah
  Latest version Arch Plasma looks good. Chief 5 2,612 10-23-2022, 01:53 PM
Last Post: Chief

Forum Jump:


Users browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)