DOA Board? "UNSUPPORTED VIDEO"
#21
(07-01-2016, 03:24 PM)jamesmartel Wrote:
Why is it such a hassle to return a dead board....too much frustration...if the RMA and subsequent test yields a good board...return it to user...simple....if it boots at factory...it must be users display/setup. I was frustrated with "a headless build" because I did not "see" anything but....network activity lights on the board are an indication that the SD card and image are working. I troubleshot my "suspect" DOA....even power on without anything connected/installed to observe changes...My monitor "unknowing" to me being a DVI Spectre with a HDMI adapter is UNSUPPORTED CONFIGURATION....make that known!!!!! 72 frustrating hours of T-shooting...only to find out it was a "technician troubleshooting 101"error

Look at your router's DHCP leases to determine the IP address of the unit.
What I have read the openhab OS is not truly headless, as there is a console output to HDMI (no GUI).
and also the other threads I've read correlate with your findings of HDMI incompatibility being a significant issue (and this is the issue that I face)
  Reply
#22
(07-01-2016, 09:13 PM)thegooddoctor Wrote:
(07-01-2016, 03:24 PM)jamesmartel Wrote:
Why is it such a hassle to return a dead board....too much frustration...if the RMA and subsequent test yields a good board...return it to user...simple....if it boots at factory...it must be users display/setup. I was frustrated with "a headless build" because I did not "see" anything but....network activity lights on the board are an indication that the SD card and image are working. I troubleshot my "suspect" DOA....even power on without anything connected/installed to observe changes...My monitor "unknowing" to me being a DVI Spectre with a HDMI adapter is UNSUPPORTED CONFIGURATION....make that known!!!!! 72 frustrating hours of T-shooting...only to find out it was a "technician troubleshooting 101"error

Look at your router's DHCP leases to determine the IP address of the unit.
What I have read the openhab OS is not truly headless, as there is a console output to HDMI (no GUI).
and also the other threads I've read correlate with your findings of HDMI incompatibility being a significant issue (and this is the issue that I face)

There are two industry standard hdmi_group(s)... CEA and DMT.  They 'may' both be support on the PineA64... or maybe not... I don't know as yet; but, we don't have a way to set the hdmi_group, nor the resolution specifically-- so hdmi needs some work. Also, there appears to be a timing issue... at any rate... the key at this point is to match the PineA64 with the right monitor|display-- and it needs to be a true (say modern) 1080p60 LED display (Samsung or LG) which can support either 720p60 or 1080p60. Other hdmi displays at this point are going to be a problem/
  Reply


Possibly Related Threads…
Thread Author Replies Views Last Post
  Video conferencing aproject oxoocoffee 1 424 03-31-2020, 09:24 PM
Last Post: Dendrocalamus64
  Install OS on RAID1 thanks to dual SATA board? Thatoo 12 2,207 05-15-2019, 02:55 PM
Last Post: Thatoo
  My first Single Board! jjh221 4 1,229 04-09-2018, 06:52 PM
Last Post: jjh221
  sopine cluster board install Smurfbot 1 1,272 03-31-2018, 04:09 AM
Last Post: pfeerick
  What is the format that one should use for imaging SD cards on APINE64+2GB Board? Doryan 1 732 03-05-2018, 08:11 PM
Last Post: tllim
  Which board to use? Dayve 0 645 02-18-2018, 06:31 AM
Last Post: Dayve
  Kodi on Rock64 board cenguix 2 4,629 02-02-2018, 03:05 PM
Last Post: stuartiannaylor
  What are these pins on PIN board? dims 1 723 01-15-2018, 11:21 AM
Last Post: Luke
  SSH works, but no video SvdSinner 8 2,331 12-08-2016, 12:59 PM
Last Post: MarkHaysHarris777
  What is on the Micro SC card that came with the board? clawinus 1 1,138 11-03-2016, 02:33 PM
Last Post: MarkHaysHarris777

Forum Jump:


Users browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)