How to access GPS data in Mobian
#1
Anyone know how to get the GPS information from the GPS in the PinePhone? I've tried a few programs to get the location but they all seem to go by IP address so they all basically just say the town I am in and are off by a few miles so I was hoping to get the actual information from the GPS itself but I don't know how to do that. I also tried 'whereami' and for some reason that doesn't work. I install it and it says I have the most up to date version then when I try to run `whereami` it says the package isn't installed.
  Reply
#2
You could install gpsd and run one of the clients. xgps works but is not optimized for the screen. The text based clients gpsmon and cgps will give you all the typical GPS statistical information. The NMEA output that gpsd needs is on /dev/ttyUSB1. The config file is in /etc/default/gpsd

The antenna is very weak and it will take a long time outdoors even with a clear view of the sky to get a lock. You will want to run the AGPS proof of concept script to speed up the initial lock. https://gist.github.com/alastair-dm/2632...e555fa6628

You can also talk directly to the modem via AT commands to get a location manually, It is what the AGPS script uses. https://sixfab.com/wp-content/uploads/20...l_V1.1.pdf
  Reply
#3
(05-08-2021, 08:52 PM)8bit Wrote: You could install gpsd and run one of the clients. xgps works but is not optimized for the screen. The text based clients gpsmon and cgps will give you all the typical GPS statistical information. The NMEA output that gpsd needs is on /dev/ttyUSB1. The config file is in /etc/default/gpsd

The antenna is very weak and it will take a long time outdoors even with a clear view of the sky to get a lock. You will want to run the AGPS proof of concept script to speed up the initial lock. https://gist.github.com/alastair-dm/2632...e555fa6628

You can also talk directly to the modem via AT commands to get a location manually, It is what the AGPS script uses. https://sixfab.com/wp-content/uploads/20...l_V1.1.pdf
Thank you for the information! Quick question, as I don't have my PP on me right now to test, with the AGPS it says to run `AT+QGPS=1` to start the GPS, is that just ran in the command line? I don't have any real experience with working with modems in general though I do have experience with a handful of programming languages.
  Reply
#4
(05-09-2021, 06:11 PM)ragreenburg Wrote:
(05-08-2021, 08:52 PM)8bit Wrote: You could install gpsd and run one of the clients. xgps works but is not optimized for the screen. The text based clients gpsmon and cgps will give you all the typical GPS statistical information. The NMEA output that gpsd needs is on /dev/ttyUSB1. The config file is in /etc/default/gpsd

The antenna is very weak and it will take a long time outdoors even with a clear view of the sky to get a lock. You will want to run the AGPS proof of concept script to speed up the initial lock. https://gist.github.com/alastair-dm/2632...e555fa6628

You can also talk directly to the modem via AT commands to get a location manually, It is what the AGPS script uses. https://sixfab.com/wp-content/uploads/20...l_V1.1.pdf
Thank you for the information! Quick question, as I don't have my PP on me right now to test, with the AGPS it says to run `AT+QGPS=1` to start the GPS, is that just ran in the command line? I don't have any real experience with working with modems in general though I do have experience with a handful of programming languages.
That would be through a serial terminal like minicom. If you run the AGPS script it turns GPS on for you so you don't need to do any manual AT commands.

If the AGPS script gives serial errors you probably need pyserial
sudo pip3 install pyserial
  Reply


Possibly Related Threads…
Thread Author Replies Views Last Post
  Axolotl on PinePhone / Mobian arno_nuehm 155 47,148 10 hours ago
Last Post: arno_nuehm
  flatpack on mobian jyoung 5 122 Yesterday, 05:38 AM
Last Post: beta-user
  how to update mobian over tor vusra 1 75 01-17-2022, 01:48 PM
Last Post: alanwake82
  Has anyone got briar-desktop running on mobian? vusra 0 48 01-17-2022, 01:49 AM
Last Post: vusra
  opensnitch outbound firewall now works on mobian vusra 0 49 01-17-2022, 12:49 AM
Last Post: vusra
  Bleachbit on Mobian bcnaz 4 562 01-14-2022, 04:57 AM
Last Post: vusra
  Cant update and upgrade mobian. mode80 8 2,256 01-06-2022, 04:19 PM
Last Post: bcnaz
  Podcast about mobian user641 0 107 01-05-2022, 04:06 PM
Last Post: user641
  Cross compilation for Mobian nicolapcweek94 1 265 01-05-2022, 12:09 PM
Last Post: Gumur
  Sound design for Mobian S.E.B 4 619 12-27-2021, 05:40 AM
Last Post: Anna

Forum Jump:


Users browsing this thread: 2 Guest(s)