How to access GPS data in Mobian
#1
Anyone know how to get the GPS information from the GPS in the PinePhone? I've tried a few programs to get the location but they all seem to go by IP address so they all basically just say the town I am in and are off by a few miles so I was hoping to get the actual information from the GPS itself but I don't know how to do that. I also tried 'whereami' and for some reason that doesn't work. I install it and it says I have the most up to date version then when I try to run `whereami` it says the package isn't installed.
  Reply
#2
You could install gpsd and run one of the clients. xgps works but is not optimized for the screen. The text based clients gpsmon and cgps will give you all the typical GPS statistical information. The NMEA output that gpsd needs is on /dev/ttyUSB1. The config file is in /etc/default/gpsd

The antenna is very weak and it will take a long time outdoors even with a clear view of the sky to get a lock. You will want to run the AGPS proof of concept script to speed up the initial lock. https://gist.github.com/alastair-dm/2632...e555fa6628

You can also talk directly to the modem via AT commands to get a location manually, It is what the AGPS script uses. https://sixfab.com/wp-content/uploads/20...l_V1.1.pdf
  Reply
#3
(05-08-2021, 08:52 PM)8bit Wrote: You could install gpsd and run one of the clients. xgps works but is not optimized for the screen. The text based clients gpsmon and cgps will give you all the typical GPS statistical information. The NMEA output that gpsd needs is on /dev/ttyUSB1. The config file is in /etc/default/gpsd

The antenna is very weak and it will take a long time outdoors even with a clear view of the sky to get a lock. You will want to run the AGPS proof of concept script to speed up the initial lock. https://gist.github.com/alastair-dm/2632...e555fa6628

You can also talk directly to the modem via AT commands to get a location manually, It is what the AGPS script uses. https://sixfab.com/wp-content/uploads/20...l_V1.1.pdf
Thank you for the information! Quick question, as I don't have my PP on me right now to test, with the AGPS it says to run `AT+QGPS=1` to start the GPS, is that just ran in the command line? I don't have any real experience with working with modems in general though I do have experience with a handful of programming languages.
  Reply
#4
(05-09-2021, 06:11 PM)ragreenburg Wrote:
(05-08-2021, 08:52 PM)8bit Wrote: You could install gpsd and run one of the clients. xgps works but is not optimized for the screen. The text based clients gpsmon and cgps will give you all the typical GPS statistical information. The NMEA output that gpsd needs is on /dev/ttyUSB1. The config file is in /etc/default/gpsd

The antenna is very weak and it will take a long time outdoors even with a clear view of the sky to get a lock. You will want to run the AGPS proof of concept script to speed up the initial lock. https://gist.github.com/alastair-dm/2632...e555fa6628

You can also talk directly to the modem via AT commands to get a location manually, It is what the AGPS script uses. https://sixfab.com/wp-content/uploads/20...l_V1.1.pdf
Thank you for the information! Quick question, as I don't have my PP on me right now to test, with the AGPS it says to run `AT+QGPS=1` to start the GPS, is that just ran in the command line? I don't have any real experience with working with modems in general though I do have experience with a handful of programming languages.
That would be through a serial terminal like minicom. If you run the AGPS script it turns GPS on for you so you don't need to do any manual AT commands.

If the AGPS script gives serial errors you probably need pyserial
sudo pip3 install pyserial
  Reply


Possibly Related Threads…
Thread Author Replies Views Last Post
  Reboot Modem on Pinephone in Mobian eggmatters 5 466 06-17-2021, 02:08 PM
Last Post: eggmatters
  Axolotl on PinePhone / Mobian arno_nuehm 93 21,732 06-11-2021, 07:16 AM
Last Post: ergo owl
  Mobian not updating via Software app FOSSagent0 2 211 06-07-2021, 09:22 PM
Last Post: Zebulon Walton
  mobile data on mobian not working synaption 1 161 06-02-2021, 03:16 PM
Last Post: Aberts10
  How do you copy and paste into mobian terminal? Do you ssh instead? temp0rary 6 280 06-01-2021, 12:16 PM
Last Post: temp0rary
  Turn by Turn alternative GPS app in Mobian livanti21 27 12,239 05-30-2021, 03:17 AM
Last Post: john_doe
  Can't update OS Mobian Phosh Gon 5 457 05-23-2021, 10:52 PM
Last Post: pajux
  Mobian: 2 week as main phone steves 10 1,460 05-18-2021, 11:55 AM
Last Post: vortex
  Printing from Mobian johnd 2 394 05-13-2021, 01:07 PM
Last Post: dukla2000
  Axolotl on Mobian. What am I doing wrong? quixote 3 467 05-11-2021, 06:09 PM
Last Post: quixote

Forum Jump:


Users browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)