thaughts on pinephone
first let me say, I'm abscessed with this phone. I just love the idea of a private phone. as far as os's, i have tried ut, plasma, manjaro, arch, pm and mobian. All recently. The best by far is mobian. As this is supposed to be a phone, it would be nice to be able to use it as a phone. As in being able to make and receive calls. With mobian its about 95% there, the others, in my experience, calls are not there. Arch impressed me with how fast it was but no calls (yet). 
  Its been fun watching mobian improve. its stable and getting faster. It has been my daily driver since 2/2021. for me there are only three gripes. 1. received call have a lot of static 2. no netflix. 3. not able to sent attachments with texts.  
 I'm an average user so I'm not tech savvy enough to get a vpn or axolotl working so i guess I'll have to impatiently wait for an app. So thanks all you folks at mobian, nice job!
I agree with you, it's been a blast watching this phone evolve. I started with UT, then Mobian, and I've been giving Plasma Mobile a chance. It is incredible how much everything has evolved in just the last year since I first got my pinephone.

Passively watching for news updates, it looks like a few people have been making their own custom (better) firmware for the cellular modem in the pinephone. I don't think this will ever come with the phone by default for legal reasons, but I get the feeling that once a bit more progress has been made, installing that custom firmware will help with some of the issues with phone calls.

Personally I've been using my pinephone for media consumption and general internet usage, since the phone aspects just aren't there yet. I too would appreciate Netflix on this thing, but I don't expect that anytime soon, if ever.
(04-21-2021, 09:42 AM)gamerminstrel Wrote: ...I don't think this will ever come with the phone by default for legal reasons...