4G VoLTE calls confirmed working with carrier x
#1
Hi!

I've struggled to find an easy thread to track carriers with VoLTE confirmed to work with the Pinephone for 4G LTE calls.
I think it would be useful to have a single thread where users can confirm VoLTE is working for incoming and outgoing calls.

Moderators: feel free to modify / delete if you have a better solution!

Here's a useful link for info on modem commands:

https://wiki.postmarketos.org/wiki/PINE6...one)#VoLTE

Note that the updated modem firmware provides additional VoLTE profiles in bold:

Code:
$ mmcli -m any --command='AT+QMBNCFG="list"'
response: '+QMBNCFG: "List",0,0,0,"ROW_Generic_3GPP",0x05010820,201905141
+QMBNCFG: "List",1,0,0,"VoLTE-ATT",0x0501033C,202004261
+QMBNCFG: "List",2,0,0,"hVoLTE-Verizon",0x05010141,202004091
+QMBNCFG: "List",3,0,0,"Sprint-VoLTE",0x05010205,201908141
+QMBNCFG: "List",4,0,0,"Commercial-TMO_VoLTE",0x05010505,201811231
+QMBNCFG: "List",5,0,0,"Telus-Commercial_VoLTE",0x05800C43,201912031
+QMBNCFG: "List",6,0,0,"Commercial-SBM",0x05011C18,202004211
+QMBNCFG: "List",7,0,0,"Commercial-DT",0x05011F1C,201905311
+QMBNCFG: "List",8,0,0,"Reliance_OpnMkt",0x05011B38,202003251
+QMBNCFG: "List",9,0,0,"TF_Germany_VoLTE",0x05010C1B,202004151
+QMBNCFG: "List",10,0,0,"TF_Spain_VoLTE",0x05010CFA,201909261
+QMBNCFG: "List",11,0,0,"Volte_OpenMkt-Commercial-CMCC",0x05012071,202004161
+QMBNCFG: "List",12,0,0,"OpenMkt-Commercial-CT",0x05011322,202001171
+QMBNCFG: "List",13,0,0,"OpenMkt-Commercial-CU",0x05011505,202001171
+QMBNCFG: "List",14,1,1,"Telstra-Commercial_VoLTE",0x0580079E,202006101
+QMBNCFG: "List",15,0,0,"Commercial-KDDI",0x0501071D,202004041
+QMBNCFG: "List",16,0,0,"Commercial-DCM",0x05010D17,202006101
+QMBNCFG: "List",17,0,0,"Commercial-SKT_VoLTE",0x05012724,201907221
+QMBNCFG: "List",18,0,0,"Commercial-KT",0x05012C0D,202005071'

I've added a few more details on AT commands that show how to enable / disable VoLTE and enable / disable autoselection of the VoLTE profile, as well as setting it manually (as per initial link).

I didn't write down my default settings before making changes (silly me) and I'm unable to test VoLTE as Telstra has not yet enabled VoLTE for MVNOs here in Australia (I'm with Aldimobile).

If you could indicate your carrier (country), if an MVNO who the wholesale carrier is, the VoLTE profile settings, that would be of use to the community.

As an example only VoLTE working with Telstra (Australia) for incoming and outgoing calls.
or example only VoLTE working with Aldimobile (Australia) (Telstra MVNO) for incoming and outgoing calls.

Active VoLTE profile (List All MBN Files):
Code:
$ mmcli -m any --command='AT+QMBNCFG="list"'|grep 1,1,
+QMBNCFG: "List",14,1,1,"Telstra-Commercial_VoLTE",0x0580079E,202006101 (the 1,1 indicates that is the active profile)

VoLTE profile automatic selection (Configure MBN Automatic Selection Function):
Code:
$ mmcli -m any --command='AT+QMBNCFG="AutoSel"'
response: '+QMBNCFG: "Autosel",1' (could be 0 if you have selected the profile manually)

List IMS (VoLTE) status (IMS Function Control):
Code:
$ mmcli -m any --command='AT+QCFG="ims"'
response: '+QCFG: "ims",1,1' (I believe both should be 1 for VoLTE calls to work)

Your phone should indicate 4G while on call (if it drops to 3G or 2G that is not VoLTE).
Edit: put your phone in 4G only mode and that should make things easier to confirm VoLTE calls are working.
Edit:
Code:
$ mmcli -m any --command='AT+QCFG="nwscanmode",3' (0 i.e. AUTO was default)
response: ''

To set the Network Search Mode (Network Search Mode Configuration):
Code:
$ mmcli -m any --command='AT+QCFG="nwscanmode",<scanmode>[,<effect>]'
Parameters
<scanmode>
network search mode in a decimal format
0 AUTO (default config)
1 GSM only
2 WCDMA only
3 LTE only
4 TD-SCDMA only
5 UMTS only
6 CDMA only
7 HDR only
8 CDMA and HDR only
<effect>
is an optional parameter that determines when the command will take effect:
0 : command takes effect after a reboot of the QUECTEL EC25
1 or omitted: command takes effect immediately

To query the current Network Search Mode (Network Search Mode Configuration):
Code:
$ mmcli -m any --command='AT+QCFG="nwscanmode"'
response: '+QCFG="nwscanmode",3'
End edit

You can use the following AT command to check call status during the call (List Current Calls of MT):
Code:
$ mmcli -m any --command='AT+CLCC'
response: '+CLCC: 1,1,0,1,0,"",128
+CLCC: 2,1,0,1,0,"",128'

The "1" in the 4th column on the second CLCC row means it's currently calling with VoLTE, when it's "0" it's calling over the legacy phone network.

Edit:
To obtain current network information e.g. confirm tower is 4G LTE during call (Query Network Information):
Code:
$ mmcli -m any --command='AT+QNWINFO'
response: '+QNWINFO: "FDD LTE","50501","LTE BAND 7",2950'
End edit

Note that I believe VoWiFi should work (if your carrier profile supports it?) automatically if you have WiFi on, with the modem selecting whether to route calls over 4G LTE or WiFi based on signal strengths. Not sure how to confirm calls are going over WiFi, though....

Check with your carrier regarding whitelists and VoLTE activation on their side.

Hope this is useful and look forward to your VoLTE carrier confirmations!

Please only post if you have working VoLTE and use a relevant thread / create another thread for anything else  Smile
Pinephone v1.2 UBports CE. Adelaide, Australia using Amaysim SIM (Optus network, non-VoLTE) with Mobian SD card.
Manjaro Plasma Mobile on EMMC.
  Reply
#2
Three UK on a Three UK SIM, VoLTE working both outgoing and incoming, display icon stayed 4G during both calls.

Outgoing call:
Code:
$ sudo mmcli -m any --command='AT+CLCC'
response: '+CLCC: 1,1,0,1,0,"",128
+CLCC: 2,1,0,1,0,"",128
+CLCC: 3,0,0,0,0,"+44118973xxxx",145
+CLCC: 4,1,0,1,0,"",128'

Incoming call:
Code:
$ sudo mmcli -m any --command='AT+CLCC'
[sudo] password for alarm:
response: '+CLCC: 1,1,0,1,0,"",128
+CLCC: 2,1,0,1,0,"",128
+CLCC: 4,1,0,0,0,"0794186xxxx",128
+CLCC: 3,1,0,1,0,"",128'

{The xxxx in the MSISDN are manually altered.}

Completely standard (but up to date) Arch image
Code:
$ uname -a
Linux dukla 5.10.0-1-danctnix #1 SMP Tue Dec 15 09:44:29 +07 2020 aarch64 GNU/Linux

ps - I have no idea which profile is being used as there isn't 1 for 3 UK - presumably some default worked fine because I hae done nothing explicit!
  • ROCKPro64 v2.1 2GB, 16Gb eMMC for rootfs, SX8200Pro 512GB NVMe for /home, HDMI video & sound, Bluetooth keyboard & mouse. Arch (5.19 kernel, Openbox desktop) for general purpose daily PC.
  • PinePhone Pro Explorer Edition daily driver, Tow-boot on SPI, Arch/phosh on eMMC
  • PinePhone BraveHeart now v1.2b 3/32Gb, Tow-boot with Arch/Phosh on eMMC
  Reply
#3
i give short version at this time:

i use or used user interface to set 4g only mode and didn't change anything else. it seems that it is generic profile. volte seems to work. used postmarketos, manjaro and mobian.

operator/carrier: finnish telia, telia FI
code: 24491****
  Reply
#4
Confirmed VoLTE working with this on T-Mobile - Commercial-TMO_VoLTE
  Reply
#5
short version:
dna finland and volte seems to work with pinephone. dna finland is owned by telenor group.
profile: row genereic 3gpp
code: 24412*
  Reply
#6
VoLTE working on Walmart Family Mobile in US with GSM (T-Mobile) SIM, this is on Mobian, did not test others.

Based on fact that 4G stays showing during calls, I did not do any of command line stuff above.
Cheers,
TRS-80

What is Free Software and why is it so important for society?

Protocols, not Platforms

For the most Linux-y experience on your Linux phone, try SXMO!
  Reply
#7
(07-06-2021, 05:26 PM)TRS-80 Wrote: VoLTE working on Walmart Family Mobile in US with GSM (T-Mobile) SIM, this is on Mobian, did not test others.

Based on fact that 4G stays showing during calls, I did not do any of command line stuff above.
simple way: use 4g only option in gui.

https://wiki.pine64.org/wiki/PinePhone#VoLTE
provides some options, i had to use minicom to access commands.
  Reply


Possibly Related Threads…
Thread Author Replies Views Last Post
  Can you make reliable calls yet? orbital 26 3,181 10-11-2022, 10:52 PM
Last Post: better
  Instructions to get pinephone working on USA carrier omarcomputing 1 387 10-08-2022, 04:45 PM
Last Post: treebeard
  Phone carriers and the Speakout carrier bedtime 3 680 08-16-2022, 11:11 PM
Last Post: Oblivion2528
  JumpDrive isn't working phytocube 2 636 06-05-2022, 03:22 PM
Last Post: phytocube
  Mute function on calls? scrwbigtek 0 309 05-30-2022, 12:52 PM
Last Post: scrwbigtek
  likely bug, volte does not work when operator side data blockage is activated zetabeta 1 555 05-21-2022, 03:03 PM
Last Post: zetabeta
  voLTE Bell optimus 1 1,179 02-12-2022, 05:40 PM
Last Post: optimus
  SIM card slot not working dekrets 2 1,062 02-12-2022, 11:09 AM
Last Post: dekrets
  Can't get autofocus working duncan_bayne 4 1,526 01-22-2022, 09:17 PM
Last Post: duncan_bayne
  PinePhone Beta 3GB modem not working hannescam 15 4,934 01-19-2022, 02:08 AM
Last Post: bcnaz

Forum Jump:


Users browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)