New PinePhone Ready for Newbies?
Hello,

I'm still a newbie with Linux, though I'm successfully using a Linux laptop and I'm looking forward to my PineBook Pro.

Is the new PinePhone with Manjaro any closer to being something a non-developer newbie can order and successfully use? I like tinkering and learning, but I'm not a developer and don't have much in the way of developer chops. Still, I'm eager to be on board and learn new things, so I'm ready to go any time the PinePhone is ready to be something I can use to supplement my normal phone.

I'd be grateful for anyone's insights.

Best,

Graham
I would say, no.

This is far from ready for regular usage, even with basic Linux knowledge. Especially if you are used to Android or iOS phones.

I personally am working on reducing my online life, so right now, I can get basic text messages, but the phone calls do not work. I am giving up a tremendous amount of functionality with a phone to use the PinePhone, but I have decades of Linux experience and I am ready to have less features and online presence in my life.

I have the UBPorts edition. Basic text work. Phone calls with T-Mobile do not - I'm working on that Smile The default browser is really delicate and barely works. Navigation is there (uNav) but kind of poor by comparison.

Some kind soul just made a YouTube app for PinePhone that works pretty well!

Many Linux features are difficult, especially without a real mount point.

So, do not use this as your daily driver if you need or desire the everyday Android or iOS services.
(08-31-2020, 09:25 AM)Phillip Bell Wrote: I have the UBPorts edition.  Basic text work.  Phone calls with T-Mobile do not - I'm working on that Smile The default browser is really delicate and barely works.  Navigation is there (uNav) but kind of poor by comparison.

If you haven't tried Pure Maps yet, you should, and see if you like it. It's constantly improving.