If you're ready to tinker - here is how to get the more features working right now
#1
The UBports guys are working hard to deliver more well rounded features into the stable image for the PinePhone, but this may yet take some time. 

Meanwhile, if you're keen to experiment and you're not afraid of breaking things (which may require you to re-flash the image) then here's steps you can take to get additional functionality right now.
I'll try to keep this post up-to-date in the days leading up the a Stable OTA with new features.

Switch over to "development channel"
If you're keen to try stuff out, then you'll first need to switch over to the development channel.

Quote:Open "Settings"-> head all the way down to "Updates" -> select "Update Settings" -> "Channels" -> select "Development"

You'll likely experience the phone temporarily slowing down, this is normal. The phone will fetch a new development channel OTA update, after which you should tap "Install & update".

After your phone reboots, before proceeding I suggest you should enable SSH as this will make things easier for you:
Code:
sudo mount -o rw,remount /
sudo umount /etc/init/ssh.override
sudo rm /etc/init/ssh.override
sudo start ssh

Now you're ready to enable additional functionality of the phone under Development Channel.
  1. Enable advanced power management (Crust)
  2. Enable GPS
In the event something breaks, make sure to read @UniversalSuperBox post concerning troubleshooting and dealing with problems -- which are naturally more likely if you're on the dev release channel.

Have fun!

[Image: FGUlJ8A.jpg]
You can find me on IRC, Discord and Twitter


  Reply
#2
With devel image 47, the PinePhone can run for approx 14 hrs in idle and accept incoming calls and SMS messages.
This is a massive achievement and brings us a step close to having the PinePhone being a daily-driver Smile
You can find me on IRC, Discord and Twitter


  Reply
#3
Amazing news, thank you!
  Reply
#4
Interestingly, I can't get my phone to change to the Dev channel. I'll select it, go out, it'll show that it's changed, but it never gives me the OTA update option, and on a reboot, is back on Stable.
She knows just enough about Linux to be dangerous.
Me ~ Tw: @chernowa
  Reply
#5
(06-14-2020, 06:14 AM)AddieDirects Wrote: Interestingly, I can't get my phone to change to the Dev channel. I'll select it, go out, it'll show that it's changed, but it never gives me the OTA update option, and on a reboot, is back on Stable.

Annnnd as soon as I post something here, it seems to work. Strange. It's like when the IT guy comes to look at something and it just...works when they're standing there.
She knows just enough about Linux to be dangerous.
Me ~ Tw: @chernowa
  Reply
#6
İ dont know, if this is the right place to comment. But i am on version 49 (dev), the lockscreen and main screen (home) is outzoomed (90%). The rest of the apps are 100% and the fonts are not small, like the lockscreen and homescreen. How can change the resolution?

Sorry for my bad English.
  Reply
#7
(06-15-2020, 11:29 AM)m.alizade7 Wrote: İ dont know, if this is the right place to comment. But i am on version 49 (dev), the lockscreen and main screen (home) is outzoomed (90%). The rest of the apps are 100% and the fonts are not small, like the lockscreen and homescreen. How can change the resolution?

Sorry for my bad English.
The resolution problem is something within the xenial edge crust programming. Happens automatically as soon as you update to 48 OTA. But it happened to me on 47 after manually enabling crust as well. Hopefully its fixed with image 50
  Reply
#8
(06-15-2020, 03:33 PM)LMalilil Wrote:
(06-15-2020, 11:29 AM)m.alizade7 Wrote: İ dont know, if this is the right place to comment. But i am on version 49 (dev), the lockscreen and main screen (home) is outzoomed (90%). The rest of the apps are 100% and the fonts are not small, like the lockscreen and homescreen. How can change the resolution?

Sorry for my bad English.
The resolution problem is something within the xenial edge crust programming. Happens automatically as soon as you update to 48 OTA. But it happened to me on 47 after manually enabling crust as well. Hopefully its fixed with image 50

Ah that's the problem! Thanks for the reply.
  Reply


Possibly Related Threads…
Thread Author Replies Views Last Post
  Cellular switch (sw1) causes wifi to stop working blihp 1 104 8 hours ago
Last Post: lordnahte2
  Nextcloud Account setup not working kelbot 2 192 06-25-2020, 11:56 AM
Last Post: kelbot
Question Camera(s) not working? UNi 7 797 06-09-2020, 03:04 AM
Last Post: UNi
  How to get a camera working? lindertb 3 684 05-24-2020, 08:57 PM
Last Post: Engineer
  Audio is not working DrewTechs 0 239 05-05-2020, 01:05 PM
Last Post: DrewTechs
  phone working on UT-#246 colin hodsdon 2 550 03-14-2020, 05:29 PM
Last Post: bcnaz
  long swipe from left edge not working m1n1s 5 485 02-28-2020, 11:25 AM
Last Post: m1n1s
  does anyone have hotspot working? quixote 6 590 02-20-2020, 03:26 AM
Last Post: PinePhoneCoder

Forum Jump:


Users browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)