ROCK64 v3 4GB DDR board memory chip number
#1
Photo 
Hi,

I recently received a ROCK64 v3 4GB DDR memory board.
The board has a 4GB sticker on it and came in a box stating it is 4GB.
However, after installing two linux distributions I found out that available memory is only 1GB.
(distros: bionic-lxde-rock64-0.9.14-1159-armhf.img.xz and Armbian_2-.02.1_Rock64_bionic_current_5.4.20_desktop.7z (both) on eMMC and microSD card.)

I found out that the DDR memory chip has number PB047 - 125 PT on it, this identifies online as a 1GB (8Gb) memory chip not 4GB (see pictures below).

My question is what 4GB chip numbers of other ROCK64 v3 4GB boards are there with confirmed 4GB of memory when the OS (linux) is running?
(just press <enter> after typing command 'free' or top in a terminal)

Regards,
Johannes

[Image: IMG-9523.jpg]
[Image: Screenshot-2020-03-03-at-12-30-17.png]
#2
(03-08-2020, 09:53 AM)Johannes Wrote: Hi,

I recently received a ROCK64 v3 4GB DDR memory board.
The board has a 4GB sticker on it and came in a box stating it is 4GB.
However, after installing two linux distributions I found out that available memory is only 1GB.
(distros: bionic-lxde-rock64-0.9.14-1159-armhf.img.xz and Armbian_2-.02.1_Rock64_bionic_current_5.4.20_desktop.7z (both) on eMMC and microSD card.)

I found out that the DDR memory chip has number PB047 - 125 PT on it, this identifies online as a 1GB (8Gb) memory chip not 4GB (see pictures below).

My question is what 4GB chip numbers of other ROCK64 v3 4GB boards are there with confirmed 4GB of memory when the OS (linux) is running?
(just press <enter> after typing command 'free' or top in a terminal)

Regards,
Johannes

[Image: IMG-9523.jpg]
[Image: Screenshot-2020-03-03-at-12-30-17.png]

I thinks you have informed sales team. Sales team already checked with shipping team on this mix up.
#3
(03-09-2020, 07:34 PM)tllim Wrote:
(03-08-2020, 09:53 AM)Johannes Wrote: Hi,

I recently received a ROCK64 v3 4GB DDR memory board.
The board has a 4GB sticker on it and came in a box stating it is 4GB.
However, after installing two linux distributions I found out that available memory is only 1GB.
(distros: bionic-lxde-rock64-0.9.14-1159-armhf.img.xz and Armbian_2-.02.1_Rock64_bionic_current_5.4.20_desktop.7z (both) on eMMC and microSD card.)

I found out that the DDR memory chip has number PB047 - 125 PT on it, this identifies online as a 1GB (8Gb) memory chip not 4GB (see pictures below).

My question is what 4GB chip numbers of other ROCK64 v3 4GB boards are there with confirmed 4GB of memory when the OS (linux) is running?
(just press <enter> after typing command 'free' or top in a terminal)

Regards,
Johannes

[Image: IMG-9523.jpg]
[Image: Screenshot-2020-03-03-at-12-30-17.png]

I thinks you have informed sales team. Sales team already checked with shipping team on this mix up.

Thats right. It was the wrong board (1GB sdram instead of 4GB).
I am currently waiting on a 4 GB version (got my money back for $GB 1GB difference, so that is really ok!).


Possibly Related Threads…
Thread Author Replies Views Last Post
  Rock64 No Audio @ Debian 12 dmitrymyadzelets 2 287 04-08-2024, 06:47 AM
Last Post: dmitrymyadzelets
  OpenWRT on the Rock64 CanadianBacon 14 8,332 04-03-2024, 08:48 AM
Last Post: helpmerock
  Rock64 bricked shawwwn 7 5,694 03-17-2024, 12:22 PM
Last Post: dmitrymyadzelets
  Rock64 won't boot luminosity7 10 4,155 03-16-2024, 08:33 AM
Last Post: dmitrymyadzelets
  Rock64 doesn't boot dstallmo 1 337 03-16-2024, 08:29 AM
Last Post: dmitrymyadzelets
  How well does Rock64 deal with HDR and Atmos on Kodi? drvlikhell 3 1,894 04-29-2023, 04:24 AM
Last Post: newestssd
  Rock64 board not working, no HDMI no Ethernet. EDited 3 3,533 01-17-2023, 02:31 PM
Last Post: Flagtrax
  ROCK64 v3 can it boot from USB? Tsagualsa 4 2,111 11-29-2022, 11:31 AM
Last Post: Macgyver
  rock64 v3 spiflash Macgyver 0 761 11-28-2022, 02:18 PM
Last Post: Macgyver
  my rock64 dosen't work rookie_267 0 957 10-07-2022, 07:50 PM
Last Post: rookie_267

Forum Jump:


Users browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)