Pinephone Pro for a Debian user?
Question 
Hi,
I am new to this site and would like to ask some questions.
I would appreciate if someone could point me in the right direction.
I have been using Debian on my laptops for over 5 years.
Anything i want to do in the command prompt, i use instructional videos.
It has worked out fairly well.
I installed Ubports on a nexus 5, and it works well...as a mp3playerSmile
I would use it as a device if it had encryption.
I see that Mobian is gaining traction in the Pine64 Community.
Is Mobian functional enough for a GUI junkie like me?
Can someone like me buy a pinephone pro and get decent funtionality out of the device?
Would I be better off with a regular pinephone, pinetab2, or pinebook pro?
I like to travel, and i like to segregate my tasks.
I would like multiple devices.
Eg:  one device for browsing the web and torrenting, one device for business, and one device for banking.
I dont need the device to be an actual voice phone, but I would like to have secure, steady browser functionality.
Are there any plans on shipping the devices with an preordered os iso image ready to install?
That might be a way to earn extra revenue for pine64
Thanks for any advice you can give,
Greg
If you don't need a phone, I'd recommend a Pinebook Pro at this point. But I haven't used any other Pine devices but the RockPro 64. I've run Debian on one of my PBPs, but I normally use NetBSD. I suspect you'll be better off with the stock Manjaru unless you're very adventurous.
:wq

[ SRA accepts you ]
(04-14-2024, 03:05 PM)primesocial Wrote: Hi,
I am new to this site and would like to ask some questions.
I would appreciate if someone could point me in the right direction.
I have been using Debian on my laptops for over 5 years.
Anything i want to do in the command prompt, i use instructional videos.
It has worked out fairly well.
I installed Ubports on a nexus 5, and it works well...as a mp3playerSmile
I would use it as a device if it had encryption.