automatically suppress trackpad when typing?
Hi
Is there a way to suppress the trackpad when typing?
Sometimes my palm accidentally touches the pad when I'm in the middle of typing something, and in the worst case selects a block of text already written, and them my next key stroke overwrites it.
What I would really like is a feature that for n seconds or microseconds after the last key press that the trackpad just doesn't do anything.
If I don't press a key for n period of time then the trackpad would automatically start working again.
I'm on KDE on Manjaro and I'm new to both.
thanks DNJ

actually I think I just found it
the Enable/Disable Touchpad tab in Touchpad in Settings
the default is 250ms
It would seem that I don't type fast enough :-)
(07-29-2020, 05:24 AM)dieselnutjob Wrote: Hi
Is there a way to suppress the trackpad when typing?
Sometimes my palm accidentally touches the pad when I'm in the middle of typing something, and in the worst case selects a block of text already written, and them my next key stroke overwrites it.
What I would really like is a feature that for n seconds or microseconds after the last key press that the trackpad just doesn't do anything.
If I don't press a key for n period of time then the trackpad would automatically start working again.
I'm on KDE on Manjaro and I'm new to both.
thanks DNJ

actually I think I just found it
the Enable/Disable Touchpad tab in Touchpad in Settings
the default is 250ms
It would seem that I don't type fast enough :-)

I wish Manjaro/KDE gave finer grain control of the trackpad settings, like you have above.   There is nowhere in the GUI that I have found where you can set the disable time for the trackpad Sad   ...I am sure there is some config file somewhere where I can access that...but I have thus far been too lazy to find it.   I may give the synaptics driver some have had success with.
in KDE Manjaro do this:-
Start menu:-
Applications
Settings
System settings