New Builds from ayufan (0.8.X) w Video/3D/Mate desktop
#11
Quote: How did you swap between the 2 different Kernel versions?  I'd like to try version 5.0.0....

Download and dpkg the 5.0 kernel.

You can swap by editing extlinux in /boot - gets updated automatically when new kernel is installed.
You can find me on IRC, Discord and Twitter


  Reply
#12
(03-31-2019, 08:00 PM)thewonderer Wrote: How did you swap between the 2 different Kernel versions?  I'd like to try version 5.0.0....

If you are using Ayufan's kernel on Armbian (like me), once you have installed the new kernel (downloading the .deb and installing it with "dpkg -i {file.deb}"), you have to manually check / fix some stuff: see my post on Armbian https://forum.armbian.com/topic/9824-sol...ment=75613 .

Mathias
  Reply
#13
I have a Bionic installed, and when i try to update with
sudo apt-get install linux-rock64 -y
then answer too me that


Leyendo lista de paquetes... Hecho
Creando árbol de dependencias       
Leyendo la información de estado... Hecho
linux-rock64 ya está en su versión más reciente (0.7.9).

Says that i am in 0.7.9 , how can i update to 0.8?
Can somebody help me
Thanks
  Reply
#14
(03-25-2019, 01:25 AM)dkryder Wrote: i also get black screen with cursor but i think the boot never finishes or maybe crashes.
I really wanted the MATE desktop on my Rock64.  I tried the bionic-mate-rock64-0.8.0rc6-1111 and bionic-mate-rock64-0.8.0rc7-1114.  Both black screened.  I then accidentally downloaded bionic-mate-rockpro64-0.8.0rc6-1111 and used Pine64 Installer as usual.  This stalled during boot with messages.

Failed to get pvym
Couldn't update frequency Transaction information

After about 30 seconds the boot continued and I was able to login.  This is now a fully functioning LAMP server with mailx and Postfix.  Pithos work fine, but YouTube crashes Firefox.  Weird.  Could the Release Candidates have been accidentally switched while coding?
  Reply
#15
(04-05-2019, 07:18 AM)rhens1 Wrote:
(03-25-2019, 01:25 AM)dkryder Wrote: i also get black screen with cursor but i think the boot never finishes or maybe crashes.
I really wanted the MATE desktop on my Rock64.  I tried the bionic-mate-rock64-0.8.0rc6-1111 and bionic-mate-rock64-0.8.0rc7-1114.  Both black screened.  I then accidentally downloaded bionic-mate-rockpro64-0.8.0rc6-1111 and used Pine64 Installer as usual.  This stalled during boot with messages.

Failed to get pvym
Couldn't update frequency Transaction information

After about 30 seconds the boot continued and I was able to login.  This is now a fully functioning LAMP server with mailx and Postfix.  Pithos work fine, but YouTube crashes Firefox.  Weird.  Could the Release Candidates have been accidentally switched while coding?

OK, same thing just happened with bionic-mate-rock64-0.8.0rc8-1116.  Bionic-mate-rockpro64-0.8.0rc8-1116 worked with the Rock64 SBC.  Both rc8s gave the same gpu errors.  The mate-rockpro64 version stalled for a couple of minutes but finally gave the login screen and then worked very well.  It looks like once the gpu frequency problem is solved this will be a great OS and desktop.  I really like being able to lock/control the cpu cores.  This is feature packed.
  Reply
#16
thanks for the advice on installing 5.0 kernel.... i looked at the steps on armbian but they seemed to be missing some details. As a linux nube using Armbian at the moment, i'd need bouncing ball steps to get all the gotchas... could you expand on the steps or point me to the correct wiki? thanks.
  Reply
#17
Any way to fix 0.8 build ? I can never log into desktop. its always stuck at black screen, even in rc9
  Reply
#18
Same problem here, on ROCK64 4GB
  Reply
#19
(04-13-2019, 10:54 AM)Nerevarine Wrote: Any way to fix 0.8 build ? I can never log into desktop. its always stuck at black screen, even in rc9
I tried the rc9 and also got the black screen.  I then remotely logged into the router IP I had set for the Rock64 (4G).  I then used PUTTY  and a SSH tunnel.  The Rock64 had completed the boot and was running.  I then used a VNC remote after installing tightvncserver, my favorite.  The xstartup file under the .vnc folder has to be modified, but the Rock64 works well.  The best I can tell is that the black screen is caused by the inability to frequency sync with the display.  The programmers could fix this with a config.txt file where the monitor specs could be specified to sync.  I have done this on the RPi SBCs with ubuntu MATE to fill out my screen.  By all indications the Rock64 rc9 MATE version was trying to sync at 75 Hz and couldn't.  This is probably true of all the release candidates (RCs) for ubuntu MATE.

For anyone wanting the xstartup edit, it is below:
#!/bin/sh

xrdb $HOME/.Xresources
xsetroot -solid grey
#x-terminal-emulator -geometry 80x24+10+10 -ls -title "$VNCDESKTOP Desktop" &
#x-window-manager &
# Fix to make GNOME work
# export XKL_XMODMAP_DISABLE=1
# /etc/X11/Xsession
unset SESSION_MANAGER
unset DBUS_SESSION_BUS_ADDRESS
export XKL_XMODMAP_DISABLE=1
export XKB_DEFAULT_RULES=base
/usr/bin/mate-session
  Reply
#20
(04-21-2019, 08:02 AM)rhens1 Wrote:
(04-13-2019, 10:54 AM)Nerevarine Wrote: Any way to fix 0.8 build ? I can never log into desktop. its always stuck at black screen, even in rc9
I tried the rc9 and also got the black screen.  I then remotely logged into the router IP I had set for the Rock64 (4G).  I then used PUTTY  and a SSH tunnel.  The Rock64 had completed the boot and was running.  I then used a VNC remote after installing tightvncserver, my favorite.  The xstartup file under the .vnc folder has to be modified, but the Rock64 works well.  The best I can tell is that the black screen is caused by the inability to frequency sync with the display.  The programmers could fix this with a config.txt file where the monitor specs could be specified to sync.  I have done this on the RPi SBCs with ubuntu MATE to fill out my screen.  By all indications the Rock64 rc9 MATE version was trying to sync at 75 Hz and couldn't.  This is probably true of all the release candidates (RCs) for ubuntu MATE.

For anyone wanting the xstartup edit, it is below:
#!/bin/sh

xrdb $HOME/.Xresources
xsetroot -solid grey
#x-terminal-emulator -geometry 80x24+10+10 -ls -title "$VNCDESKTOP Desktop" &
#x-window-manager &
# Fix to make GNOME work
# export XKL_XMODMAP_DISABLE=1
# /etc/X11/Xsession
unset SESSION_MANAGER
unset DBUS_SESSION_BUS_ADDRESS
export XKL_XMODMAP_DISABLE=1
export XKB_DEFAULT_RULES=base
/usr/bin/mate-session

Your fix, can the ROCK64 then use 3D acc?
  Reply


Possibly Related Threads…
Thread Author Replies Views Last Post
  Ayufan LXDE with Teamviewer or Dwservice? cenicero 0 648 03-14-2020, 06:39 AM
Last Post: cenicero
  Remote desktop access Rock64 over Internet hg6806 2 1,251 12-11-2019, 08:27 PM
Last Post: default_user8
  Release 0.9.14 Ubuntu Mate desktop, LXDE, OMV, Docker CE (container) Luke 1 2,068 09-19-2019, 07:00 AM
Last Post: Malmgren
Star [archived] New Stable release from Ayufan (0.8.3) Luke 3 2,711 07-10-2019, 10:40 AM
Last Post: Malmgren
Star ayufan's 0.8.0rc12 (Rock64 Rev 3) Luke 1 1,282 06-13-2019, 02:05 AM
Last Post: pineadmin
  How fast is rock64 if a desktop? heocb 11 6,107 04-21-2019, 09:14 PM
Last Post: a1w.ca
  Video : Media Script for the Rock64/4K video in Linux NicoD 1 1,854 03-30-2019, 02:17 AM
Last Post: zet_lab
  Ayufan Debian Stretch Openmediavault 4 5G Wifi Not Connecting Poincare 0 884 03-26-2019, 07:28 PM
Last Post: Poincare
  ayufan 0.7.12 pre-release images (help testing) Luke 1 2,205 03-22-2019, 05:11 PM
Last Post: Luke
Star 0.7.8 Linux release from ayufan for Rock64 Luke 30 36,142 02-25-2019, 02:53 PM
Last Post: Luke

Forum Jump:


Users browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)