Could Someone Give Advice on Optimising Pinebook Pro for Software Development?
Hello everyone  Rolleyes

I hope everyone is well I am looking for the collective wisdom of this community on optimising the Pinebook Pro for software development applications. I have been using the Pinebook Pro for a few months and have been very happy with its capabilities. But I have experienced a few issues and would like to look for advice on how to effectively address them.

My current setup
Manjaro ARM. I have kept with this because it is the default, but I am prepared to try other options if they provide better performance for development work.
Default eMMC I have been thinking about upgrading to an NVMe SSD; but have not taken the step yet.
Python is my primary programming language, followed by web development with React and Node.js and some light Java and C++ work.
I use Visual Studio Code and; on occasion; JetBrains IDEs.
  • When working on larger codebases, particularly ones involving significant web development such as hosting a local server with many Node.js processes; I have noticed that the pinebook pro lags slightly. There are intermittent lags and delays that affect my workflow. Is this something that other people have experienced? If yes; what adjustments and upgrades did you find to be beneficial in resolving these issues?
  • While I enjoy the pinebook pro movement; I have discovered that the battery runs faster when I do heavier tasks; such as working with Docker and generating code. I am asking whether there are any tips or strategies for increasing battery life during development sessions. Would a different operating system assist; or are there specific manjaro settings that I need change?
  • I have read that heat concerns might cause performance slowdown under heavy loads. I am thinking about installing a thermal pad and maybe even a modest fan mod. Has anyone tried these modifications? If so; how was your experience; and would you recommend taking this route?