cant seem to get 5.1 surround output
#1
Hey guys

I have tried to use a couple of players to try to get 5.1 surround from the pine64. I tested it with kodi, mx player and the native players both in remix and pure android. It just outputs stereo sound via hdmi although its DTS audio. On Kodi for android i tried using the audio passthrough to an amp i have (which can decode dts, as done by my old boxee box) but the audio cuts off every 3-4 seconds. Has anyone have any luck in running this as a true media center? Or has anyone managed to get 5.1 output out of a dts/dolby audio? 1080p video plays fine though.
  Reply
#2
Same issue here... Please pine64 people try to solve it...

Sent from my A0001 using Tapatalk
  Reply
#3
Almost same here
The only way to hear 5.1 with Android Kodi was to enable "Dolby Digital" in the settings. But as I have some FLAC from DVD-Audio or Blu-Ray, DD is no real option because of the compression.
Passthrough didn`t work for me either, though my Yamaha Receiver can play it in surround.
Besides Android doesn`t work really well, for I can`t get the play store to work and installing new software is a bit kind of annoying...

By the time I tried Ubuntu an Debian, but same here. The sndhdmi is set only to stereo. I am not used to LINUX, so I googled and tried same solutions (i.e. a changing in the etc/pulse/daemon.conf from 2 to 6 channels), but nothing works so far. I only get a stereo signal. In the Debian-Kodi there isn`t even a Passthrough-Option (yes, settings changed to advanced).
  Reply
#4
Same issue here, the exact same setup from my PS4 works fine, but not on my Pine64 Android. I know Android 5.1 had issues playing DTS and AC3 audio, could this perhaps be the same issue? Or can someone confirm that they are able to get 5.1 output?
  Reply
#5
Can You please check this out.
http://forum.kodi.tv/showthread.php?tid=252852



Long days and pleasant nights
  Reply
#6
guys any updates regarding the pass-through?
  Reply
#7
Have You tried this version of kodi
http://forum.kodi.tv/showthread.php?tid=252852

Long days and pleasant nights
  Reply


Possibly Related Threads...
Thread Author Replies Views Last Post
  Can android 6.0 output spidf or coaxial if a buy the DAC? v1n1c1uS 0 329 03-03-2018, 10:40 AM
Last Post: v1n1c1uS
  Android 6.0 (HDMI Video Output) [20170112 v2.0.1] no sound philips 0 731 07-23-2017, 11:14 AM
Last Post: philips
  Android 6.0.1 Image (LCD and HDMI Video Output) Release 20170209 [ver 2.0.1] rookieone 15 4,959 05-05-2017, 01:50 AM
Last Post: Quezbeme
  No HDMI Output Arkhanjel 5 524 05-03-2017, 09:21 AM
Last Post: Arkhanjel
  Build the Lichee and Android source-"Android 5.1.1 Image (HDMI Video Output) Release SuperX 2 1,533 08-12-2016, 02:00 AM
Last Post: xalius
Video 4K video output Danton 4 1,656 07-29-2016, 05:27 PM
Last Post: dkryder
  How to set HDMI output to less than 720p? Kattemageren 1 611 06-14-2016, 06:13 PM
Last Post: Ghost
Bug HDMI output problem Tarjei85 9 964 05-27-2016, 04:43 AM
Last Post: Tarjei85
  hdmi output problem izotop 0 641 03-27-2016, 02:12 AM
Last Post: izotop

Forum Jump:


Users browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)