[Solved]Need Help with Power Supply Spec: Has Pico Cluster completely screwed me up ?
#1
Hi All,
        I purchased 10 x RockPro64 + 64GB eMMC + NVMe PCIe Card  for my cluster.

I then purchased a PicoCluster 10H (High Power) RockPro64 Case PSU Kit etc etc.

I have had 3 months of sheer hell getting the cluster working with any degree of stability.

Their wiring loom was so unprofessional I should have had the alarm bells ringing at the beginning.

They were shoving 3-4 awg 22 cables into fork crimps rated at awg 14-16 and the cable insulation was not properly secured as a strain relief. The power would intermittently drop if you wiggled the cables too much.

So I rewired the loom .. and in doing this I noticed the power supply was 5v 18A   ...

When I checked the specs of the Rock Pro 64 it says 12v 3A minimum .

Am I right to go ballistic at PICO Cluster for this massive bit of incompetence?

I don't know if the spec has changed on the Rock Pro 64 and it was 5v 3A?

I am surprised that the RockPro64 would even boot on 5V when it was rated at 12v!
  Reply
#2
well i think different parts of the board are on different rails. so it probably boots ok and somewhat operates. but as to the mix up just report it to them. it's a good chance it was some newbie builder stupid mistake or an oversight. i doubt they build them intentionally like that or there would be other stupid stuff going on also that there would be reports in the media of.
grab a copy of this and you'll see that the 12v is mostly for the pcie and eDP. the rest is 5, 3.3, 1.8 etc.
http://files.pine64.org/doc/rockpro64/ro...20-SCH.pdf
  Reply
#3
(03-09-2019, 07:35 PM)dkryder Wrote: well i think different parts of the board are on different rails. so it probably boots ok and somewhat operates. but as to the mix up just report it to them. it's a good chance it was some newbie builder stupid mistake or an oversight. i doubt they build them intentionally like that or there would be other stupid stuff going on also that there would be reports in the media of.
grab a copy of this and you'll see that the 12v is mostly for the pcie and eDP. the rest is 5, 3.3, 1.8 etc.
http://files.pine64.org/doc/rockpro64/ro...20-SCH.pdf

Thanks for the link very helpful.

PicoCluster have shipped me a replacement PSU this time rated at 100w 12v and a stepdown converter for the 5V fan cases.

It should enable me to to get the NVMe PCIe working so I can start developing. 

Its a peak limitation of 0.8A per unit ... so I it will be interesting to see how the units cope when I put them under load :-0

Getting a unit that has teh power is not the issue ... its fitting it in the PicoCluster case.
  Reply


Possibly Related Threads…
Thread Author Replies Views Last Post
  NAS mods: external serial port and power button foresto 4 632 10-04-2020, 11:21 PM
Last Post: zer0sig
  Power Supply - Barrel length Wiing 2 332 09-20-2020, 12:38 AM
Last Post: Wiing
  How to add an external power button? foresto 5 912 09-08-2020, 02:04 PM
Last Post: SpoofyKid
  12V 3A power supply and NVMe - PCIe kaylios 3 795 08-25-2019, 03:31 AM
Last Post: kaylios
  Sata power cable sputnik13 1 565 08-15-2019, 06:32 PM
Last Post: tllim
  Sometimes no power to SATA PCIe controller rble 4 1,002 06-16-2019, 11:03 PM
Last Post: rble
Sad connect power in reverse :( nhzgroup 6 1,045 05-24-2019, 02:04 AM
Last Post: pfeerick
Question sufficient power supply? skipper 2 662 04-14-2019, 04:28 AM
Last Post: skipper
Question ROCKPro64 - power cable? skipper 2 744 04-13-2019, 06:26 AM
Last Post: skipper
  USB fails to power device? BackWoodsTech 12 2,092 12-13-2018, 07:26 AM
Last Post: BackWoodsTech

Forum Jump:


Users browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)