Fractal/Matrix MMS workaround
Hello,
First post on the forum and I'm new to Linux, but crash-coursing so there will probably be a lot of basic questions. I'll try to give as much background as I can.

I purchased a Pine Phone Beta edition with convergence package. I settled on Manjaro Arm Phosh beta 34 for the distro. And I'm on the Metro PCS ( T-mobile network) in the U.S. So of course that means I have call, SMS, data, but no MMS. 

I read through the article on how to set up Fractal through terminal (https://wiki.pine64.org/wiki/PinePhone_MMS_with_Matrix), but I'lll be real-- I was totally lost. I've run a few commands through terminal (like looking for clogged sms and clearing them), but without step-by-step guides or a DIY video I was lost with all that. So given the quick pace of distro development I opened Fractal and tried to set it up from there-- hoping for the best. 

Fractal prompted me to create an account and directed me to Element. I did that. Element asked me to download Element apk from fDroid. I think I did that, but I don't see it on my phone. So then I went back to Fractal and tried to log in. When Fractal prompted for my "provider," I listed my identity server ( vector.im which according to Element doesn't support phone numbers ). I entered my login info for Element, but I keep getting " Can't Log in " in Fractal. I've tried both Username and @username:matrix.org and of course Password. I even tried the Manjaro username and password. 

What am I doing wrong? Do I need to go back to Terminal and type a bunch of commands?  

Thanks in advance.
Hi!

Those instructions are kind of outdated because MMS works today almost out of the box.
Just set correct APN to System Settings and to Chatty.

If you wan't to use that Matrix-mms thing you need to get rid of Chatty completely because otherwise you have two instance racing for the MMS and only other one can win Smile