Welcome me as a new user!!
Hello
This evening I ordered an Pine Phone with convergence and looking forward to getting it up and running. I am no computer programmer but have been running Linux Mint on my Desktop for the past 8 years. At first it was very foreign with me coming from the Windows perspective but working through all the new terminology and concepts I am now enjoying Linux Mint and now delving more into the Command Line.

I expect the same trials when my Pine Phone arrives having been an Apple iPhone user for many many years. i do not care for social media, banking using my iPhone, Facebook or any of the apps. I want most of all privacy and the ability NOT to be tracked and data mined and a simple phone/text in a Linux environment.

That is my story.
Welcome, Scooterman!

While you wait for your pp you can watch some videos to decide which distro you want to install.
Definitively install something else on the integrated memory (eMMC; its speed is 3x to 4x times higher than running an OS from an SD card), except for the unlikely case that you find manjaro + plasma mobile actually usable.

As far as I can tell there are actually 4 usable OS available right now:
Arch + Phosh
Mobian + Phosh
Manjaro + Phosh
Postmarket OS (usually called pmos) + Phosh

I myself use arch+phosh; advantages I see there:
* bleeding edge rolling release (comes with its own risks, I update my backup before installing 'dangerous-sounding' updates
* the AUR gives access to many user-created packages
* the distro seems to be 'fast'/'snappy' -- compared with Manjaro + Plasma Mobile
* I like pacman; however that is no primary reason for me, just be aware that arch uses pacman, as Manjaro does; Mobian uses apt; pmos uses ?
(10-21-2021, 02:53 AM)lacriz Wrote: Welcome, Scooterman!

While you wait for your pp you can watch some videos to decide which distro you want to install.