Can I Use 2 Pine Power Supplies on 1 Pine A64 Board Using the Euler Port?
#1
I bought two Pine boards with 2 Pine power supplies.  On both boards I intend to do some serious use of the processors.  I haven’t received my order yet.  Based on what I am seeing on this forum I can likely expect to have voltage drops using the Pine power supplies.
 
I have already bought two of the official power supplies and I don’t want to spend more money than I have to. 
 
My question is if I do encounter power issues, can I take the two official Pine power supplies cut the USB plug off and power one Pine board using them together through the Euler e connector?  Pins 2 and 4 are “Power in” while pins 6, 9, 14, 20, 25 and 34 are “Ground”.  Can I connect one Pine power supply to pins 2 and 6 and a second Pine power supply to pins 4 and 9?
 
Then I would have to buy one 5 V power supply that is larger than the Pine power supplies (> 2A) for the second board.
 
This would let me only have to buy one new power supply instead of two and save me from throwing away the two new Pine power supplies.
  Reply
#2
(05-10-2016, 03:01 PM)Bob123456789 Wrote: I bought two Pine boards with 2 Pine power supplies.  On both boards I intend to do some serious use of the processors.  I haven’t received my order yet.  Based on what I am seeing on this forum I can likely expect to have voltage drops using the Pine power supplies.
 
I have already bought two of the official power supplies and I don’t want to spend more money than I have to. 
 
My question is if I do encounter power issues, can I take the two official Pine power supplies cut the USB plug off and power one Pine board using them together through the Euler e connector?  Pins 2 and 4 are “Power in” while pins 6, 9, 14, 20, 25 and 34 are “Ground”.  Can I connect one Pine power supply to pins 2 and 6 and a second Pine power supply to pins 4 and 9?
 
Then I would have to buy one 5 V power supply that is larger than the Pine power supplies (> 2A) for the second board.
 
This would let me only have to buy one new power supply instead of two and save me from throwing away the two new Pine power supplies.

The power supply in general not design to combine power and please don't do so.
  Reply
#3
That is what I was wondering.

Thank you.
  Reply


Possibly Related Threads…
Thread Author Replies Views Last Post
  Which Power Supply Unit for Pine64 A64 DB V1.1 2GB REV B (year 2016)? databaseprogrammer 0 133 06-08-2021, 08:45 AM
Last Post: databaseprogrammer
Lightbulb Alternate Power DC-IN on the Euler Bus also with PI filter for batt operation MarkHaysHarris777 13 13,686 12-19-2020, 09:53 PM
Last Post: evilpete
  Once Again: Power Supply problems I guess (Pine A64+ locking up) marcelser 0 1,865 06-04-2018, 03:11 PM
Last Post: marcelser
  Power supply problems. larsen8989 5 3,692 05-03-2018, 09:01 PM
Last Post: tllim
  solar power on a Pine64 tablet Little_Johnny 11 6,948 03-20-2018, 12:01 AM
Last Post: pfeerick
  Power up HDDs c4tich 3 2,574 03-18-2017, 09:18 AM
Last Post: Luke
  Provide power in via Pi-2 header BenCranston 22 12,999 03-08-2017, 10:38 PM
Last Post: pfeerick
  any danger from using 2 power sources at same time? dkryder 3 2,858 01-20-2017, 10:45 PM
Last Post: MarkHaysHarris777
Lightbulb A Tale of Two Power Supplies - why good is good and better is best MarkHaysHarris777 9 8,959 01-07-2017, 11:59 PM
Last Post: aegrotatio
  Correct Voltage For Powering From Euler?? thisrestricted 7 4,525 10-18-2016, 06:49 PM
Last Post: veronicasmithen03

Forum Jump:


Users browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)