Pinebook Pro Recovery with Void Linux (xbps)
Pinebook Pro Recover with Void Linux (xbps)

Hello all!

I recently received my Pinebook Pro and, as I have gathered has happened to quite a few people, broke the system with an initial Manjaro update. I thought I'd do my part to help anyone else having the same problem by documenting what I've figured out over the last few days. This will basically be a compilation of a bunch of different articles and tutorials from across the internet, with application specific advice. I'll try to link all major sources. I chose to use Void Linux just 'cause it's what I'm used to, and xbps makes building a system onto the SD card super easy.

While I've learned a lot through this process, I'm by no means an expert. I would appreciate any input, correction, or elaboration the topics discussed.

Just to account for any hardware differences, this was on a PBP received on Jan 11 2024. I haven't checked into this, but if there's any where I can find a hardware revision number or anything like that, let me know.

Some preamble:
The PBP can boot directly from, in order:
- the onboard SPI module,
- the onboard eMMC module, or
- a microSD card.

By default, nothing is written to the SPI. The factory Manjaro ARM system is installed on the eMMC. From what I understand, the system breaks after a Manjaro update because the system updates the bootloader package without properly configuring it. The result is that the PBP boots from the eMMC, but the user gets nothing but a black screen.

Fortunately, the PBP mainboard has a hardware switch to block access to the eMMC, so we can turn that on and boot instead from a microSD card.

Regarding the bootloader, I to use Tow-Boot. I don't have experience any with alternatives, but it was simple to flash and is flexible at boot-time, which is what I was looking for.

So this was my strategy:
1. Disable the eMMC
2. Boot from SD card
3. Flash Tow-Boot to the SPI
4. Re-enable the eMMC