com.google.fastboot
I am a newby to Linux and have the Pinephone and Pinephone Pro.  I have installed PMos on the PP and Mobian on the PPP.  I have to admit that switching to different OSs is lots of fun.  I have a lot of issues trying to make one of them my daily driver device. (Beyond sick of Google and Apple among many other big tech life drainers)  I am just wondering why a Linux open source device has to have a Google protocol in the firmware of the modem in both phones. (com.google.fastboot) Is it communicating to Google in any way? If so, then this defeats the purpose of what I am personally trying to accomplish and not sure how to proceed from here.  Like I said, I am new to Linux and need some guidance if you would be so kind.

Thank you in advance.
Well, the modem is something like a headless Android phone. At least, it uses the Android bootloader (Fastboot) and an Android-like downstream kernel. But it does not run the Android userspace, so it should be free of Google services and the like. There is the unofficial firmware from Biktorgj which has fewer proprietary components, so you can know better what it does. But it does not replace the Fastboot bootloader, the Trustzone kernel nor the DSP firmware, only the main OS running on the modem's ARM CPU, and the kernel it ships is based on Quectel's downstream kernel sources (based on the ancient Linux 3.18.140 whose upstream support on kernel.org ended in 2019).
in pinephone reg and pro, there is eg25g modem chip. which is like small computer. basically computer within computer. eg25g chip uses fastboot. so eg25g uses some aosp software projects, these projects do not communicate using internet and are open source.

everything what google does, is not closed. google still has some open source projects, like aosp. many of them do not do anything with internet, only locally. (aosp development is controlled by google, and i think google will partially close aosp in the future though).