Beginner help!
Hello,

I am a Linux newbie- decided the best way to learn how to use Linux is to dive in on both my laptopand phone. My Pinephone seems to be working after updating it (despite a persistent 'Modem shows no carrier" notification), though I'm hoping to find out how to:

1- Import contacts. Is there a template? I'm starting fresh so I'll be typing out my contacts into a csv (or what format do I use?) Not many so easier to type in manually.

2- Change the background. Is there a specific format/file type required?

3- Pin icons to the main screen. I've moved the application in question but I don't know to pin it there.

I used to think I was generally tech savvy (with mainstream smartphones) however based on the list above I've come to the conclusion I really am starting from scracth.

Thank you for your help in advance!
(02-01-2023, 05:01 PM)kvain Wrote: Hello,

I am a Linux newbie- decided the best way to learn how to use Linux is to dive in on both my laptopand phone. My Pinephone seems to be working after updating it (despite a persistent 'Modem shows no carrier" notification), though I'm hoping to find out how to:

1- Import contacts. Is there a template? I'm starting fresh so I'll be typing out my contacts into a csv (or what format do I use?) Not many so easier to type in manually.

2- Change the background. Is there a specific format/file type required?

3- Pin icons to the main screen. I've moved the application in question but I don't know to pin it there.

I used to think I was generally tech savvy (with mainstream smartphones) however based on the list above I've come to the conclusion I really am starting from scracth.

Thank you for your help in advance!

i wonder this wording "persistent", maybe it is those modem disappearings. which happens even if pinephone is physically functional. those can be prevented.

Code:
# example file location: /lib/udev/rules.d/98-prevent-modem-bugs.rules

# prevent modem disappearings