PINE64
Plasma-Desktop on Mobian - Printable Version

+- PINE64 (https://forum.pine64.org)
+-- Forum: PinePhone (https://forum.pine64.org/forumdisplay.php?fid=120)
+--- Forum: PinePhone Software (https://forum.pine64.org/forumdisplay.php?fid=121)
+---- Forum: Debian on PinePhone (https://forum.pine64.org/forumdisplay.php?fid=139)
+---- Thread: Plasma-Desktop on Mobian (/showthread.php?tid=9897)

Pages: 1 2 3


Plasma-Desktop on Mobian - Boern - 05-19-2020

Has anyone succeeded in running Plasma Desktop (not Mobile) yet? I quite liked it on pmOS after some tweaks. Much more than Pasma Mobile. It ran on X11 much better than on Wayland. But I had problems getting phone calls and mobile data to work so I thought I'd try it on Mobian.

Sddm runs without any problems. But when I start Plasma in X I get a black screen where only the mouse cursor is visible. It changes position with each touch so it seems to be working generally. But plasmashell doesn't seem to load. I couldn't find any logfiles, so no idea what's wrong.
It starts up properly on Wayland but crashes after a few seconds back to sddm.


RE: Plasma-Desktop on Mobian - Boern - 06-17-2020

Not sure what update fixed it, but yesterday I could at least start Plasma Wayland. It crashed sometimes, but at least I was able to start and do some things.


RE: Plasma-Desktop on Mobian - nas - 06-17-2020

Would be nice to have a working selection of full desktop environments. My previous attempts at installing xfce resulted in a lot of hangs and inaccessible command prompts.


RE: Plasma-Desktop on Mobian - rico - 06-17-2020

(06-17-2020, 09:10 AM)nas Wrote: Would be nice to have a working selection of full desktop environments. My previous attempts at installing xfce resulted in a lot of hangs and inaccessible command prompts.

Maybe you could help me :
https://gitlab.com/rrico542/mobian-x-recipes

Still not perfect but in progress
just build with :

Code:
sh ./build.sh -v xfce4

or replace xfce4 with openbox, jwm or lxde to try another x11.
it's not a full DE. i try to stay near 1GB.

[Image: 2020-06-13-070048-720x1440-scrot.png]


RE: Plasma-Desktop on Mobian - rico - 06-17-2020

For plasma
Maybe look at this
https://github.com/debian-pm-tools/rootfs-builder-debos/tree/master/scripts
You'll also find some overlays.
Maybe something useful..


RE: Plasma-Desktop on Mobian - nas - 06-18-2020

(06-17-2020, 07:41 PM)rico Wrote: Maybe you could help me :
https://gitlab.com/rrico542/mobian-x-recipes

I'll give it a go but looks like my distro doesn't have the debos package at first glance.


RE: Plasma-Desktop on Mobian - rico - 06-18-2020

I can share images if you can't resolve this.
In the other link above (debian-pm-tools) there's a included debos.
Never tried because i always use the Debian one but it may help..


RE: Plasma-Desktop on Mobian - devrtz - 06-18-2020

(06-18-2020, 07:12 AM)nas Wrote:
(06-17-2020, 07:41 PM)rico Wrote: Maybe you could help me :
https://gitlab.com/rrico542/mobian-x-recipes

I'll give it a go but looks like my distro doesn't have the debos package at first glance.
If you have docker you should be able to build it with the "-d" flag.


RE: Plasma-Desktop on Mobian - nas - 06-18-2020

(06-18-2020, 08:13 AM)rico Wrote: I can share images if you can't resolve this.

That might be a better option -  it's building with docker but appears stuck on compressing the image for last couple hours.

Edit:: Looks like I was impatient,  it just finished. 

Quick first impressions: Pretty useable despite the small buttons. No browser so installed firefox without issue. Youtube playback is very smooth but no sound. I see a modem manager but I guess there is no phone app here? Some window tiling would be nice but already a promising alternative to phosh  Smile

[attachment=1914]


RE: Plasma-Desktop on Mobian - rico - 06-18-2020

I added gnome and kde-plasma
build ok
start ok

But please note :
Both are not optimized, no overlays or tweaks to make them more reactive or touch friendly or whatever.
So if you tweak and have good results, share what have been done then i'll upload changes and fixes.
Sometimes gnome seems to sleep of first start but it's gnome software in background.
Enjoy Smile