PINE64
Another Newb Unable to Boot From microSD - Printable Version

+- PINE64 (https://forum.pine64.org)
+-- Forum: Pinebook Pro (https://forum.pine64.org/forumdisplay.php?fid=111)
+--- Forum: General Discussion on Pinebook Pro (https://forum.pine64.org/forumdisplay.php?fid=112)
+--- Thread: Another Newb Unable to Boot From microSD (/showthread.php?tid=11941)

Another Newb Unable to Boot From microSD - JimmyJazz1971 - 10-25-2020

I'm not reallly a Linux newb.  I used to be a sysadmin with a farm of RedHat & Gentoo servers, and I've been toying around with various distros as home servers, all over a 20y timespan.  I only really have experience with Mint/Cinnamon as a desktop system, though (7-8y).  I am a total Pine newb, though.  Beta quality open source hardware is making me feel like a first-timer, to be sure.

My factory Manjaro install on eMMC seems to work fine, though it won't sleep; the magnet issue, presumably, but that's for another time.  My initial PEBCAK is that I opened my shiny new delivery while I was dead tired (I work the graveyard shift these days).  I did the initial setup immediately.  I used a 3-word combo for the root pw, and when I woke up that evening, I only remembered the first two words.  SMH.  The kids & I have been playing with it without issue in my user account for 2 months, but man are the software updates piling up without root access. lol