Arch and ZRam - Printable Version +- PINE64 (https://forum.pine64.org) +-- Forum: PineTab (https://forum.pine64.org/forumdisplay.php?fid=140) +--- Forum: PineTab Software (https://forum.pine64.org/forumdisplay.php?fid=142) +--- Thread: Arch and ZRam (/showthread.php?tid=11459) |
Arch and ZRam - wd5gnr - 09-15-2020 From: https://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/Improving_performance#Zram_or_zswap Quote: I installed zramswap and found that /etc/zramswap.conf actually sets 40% (the default is 20 if you don't set it there). However, it does seem like that has been a good performance boost, especially when running Vivaldi. RE: Arch and ZRam - peperjohnny - 09-16-2020 Thanks for the tip. Plasma desktop got a bit faster with that. RE: Arch and ZRam - wd5gnr - 09-16-2020 (09-16-2020, 06:17 AM)peperjohnny Wrote: Thanks for the tip. Plasma desktop got a bit faster with that. My current configuration seems to be OK, but not sure if it is really better or not. I have a pretty large SDcard mounted in /etc/fstab as /sdcard The following as root: dd if=/dev/zero of=/swapfile bs=1MiB count=1024 mkswap /swapfile # note you will need /sdcard mounted first: dd if=/dev/zero of=/sdcard/swapfile bs=1MiB count=4096 mkswap /sdcard/swapfile #oops forgot these: chmod 600 /swapfile /sdcard/swapfile Then in /etc/fstab: /dev/mmcblk0p1 /sdcard ext4 rw,relatime,nofail /swapfile swap swap pri=50 0 0 /sdcard/swapfile swap swap pri=0 0 0 Combined with the ZRAM swap at priority 100, this gives you a 1G swap on the eMMC and 4G of (presumably) slower swap on the SDCard. If you don't want to reboot, do (as root): swapon -a Verify with: swapon -s I have left vm.swappiness at 60 but it might do to turn it higher to make more RAM available for caching. sysctl -w vm.swappiness=90 Make that permanent in /etc/sysctl.conf or sysctl.d But like I say, I've left it at 60 to see how it does for a bit. By the way, you can't use fallocate. It leaves a sparse file which will not mount. RE: Arch and ZRam - wd5gnr - 10-27-2020 If you use this setup, I noticed that /usr/lib/systemd/system/tmp.mount puts /tmp as tmpfs which uses RAM and eventually you get crashes. For some reason, systemctl disable doesn't stop this, so I renamed tmp.mount to tmp.nomount and rebooted. Seems to help performance quite a bit. RE: Arch and ZRam - tomoqv - 12-03-2020 (09-15-2020, 06:41 AM)wd5gnr Wrote: From: https://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/Improving_performance#Zram_or_zswap I am using zramswap with Code: ZRAM_SIZE_PERCENT=100 Code: systemctl start zramswap |