Help needed so a complete NOOB can compile a kernel, please - Printable Version +- PINE64 (https://forum.pine64.org) +-- Forum: ROCKPRO64 (https://forum.pine64.org/forumdisplay.php?fid=98) +--- Forum: Linux on RockPro64 (https://forum.pine64.org/forumdisplay.php?fid=101) +--- Thread: Help needed so a complete NOOB can compile a kernel, please (/showthread.php?tid=6521) |
Help needed so a complete NOOB can compile a kernel, please - dukla2000 - 09-10-2018 OK, so spurred into action by Deathcrow here, I decided the time had come for me to have another bash at compiling a kernel. "It's pretty easy. " - Ha 1) git clone https://github.com/ayufan-rock64/linux-mainline-kernel.git - no problems. (Will need to update at some stage but that can wait!) 2) Needed to install pkg-config, libncurses-dev, bison, flex and fakeroot as well 3) make menuconfig - could presumably spend months here but for a first run went with the defaults. Presume .config turns into /boot/config... in due course so can peruse ayufan versions and load/mod them when I get smarter. 4) make -j6 bindeb-pkg was going really well until Code: ... Presumably I need to do something useful to hold openssl together but not sure what - help/suggestions welcome please! Also I seem to be trying to build pretty much in the footsteps of Ayufan (dpkg-buildpackage: info: source package linux-4.18.0-rc8-76686-g45828c4db727) - cant find the right place to put my label so it is clear I created the resulting mess (and to distinguish my efforts eventually in extlinux.conf ?) TIA RE: Help needed so a complete NOOB can compile a kernel, please - dukla2000 - 09-11-2018 (09-10-2018, 05:21 PM)dukla2000 Wrote: Presumably I need to do something useful to hold openssl together but not sure what - help/suggestions welcome please!OK - sorted this bit - need libssl-dev. First hack compile 55 minutes on my ROCKpro64. Not sure if it even boots, now to take the config part seriously. RE: Help needed so a complete NOOB can compile a kernel, please - Takenover83 - 09-24-2018 I want to thank you for documenting your progress. Thanks to a few of your post I was able to build the kernel, enable the zram module, and push my clocks to 2016/1512MHz. That little bit of speed boost sure did help my plex server. I was seeing transcodes for a 1080p file doing 0.9. Now I am seeing 1.1, which is enough for real time encoding. I know this likely won't apply to all the files plex tries to transcode, but the little bit of performance boost is still encouraging. RE: Help needed so a complete NOOB can compile a kernel, please - dukla2000 - 09-24-2018 (09-24-2018, 04:15 PM)Takenover83 Wrote: I want to thank you for documenting your progress. Thanks to a few of your post I was able to build the kernel, enable the zram module, and push my clocks to 2016/1512MHz. That little bit of speed boost sure did help my plex server. I was seeing transcodes for a 1080p file doing 0.9. Now I am seeing 1.1, which is enough for real time encoding. I know this likely won't apply to all the files plex tries to transcode, but the little bit of performance boost is still encouraging. Pleasure. Yup 2 weeks ago I had never compiled a kernel, now I am compiling 2 or 3 times a day playing with options (and breaking quite a few things!) I guess my main advice would be to take care of your .config: sometimes I have got carried away with too many changes at once and then struggled with a barely working machine to recover. What kernel are you playing with? I am playing with 4.18 and one unresolved issue is the scheduling tends to favour the A53 cores. But I have been running the A72s at 2108 with no noticeable problem - cpuminer ran fine for 10 minutes (via sbc-bench -T 70) without hitting 80C and obviously loads all the cores, as does a full kernel compile for about 25 minutes. RE: Help needed so a complete NOOB can compile a kernel, please - Takenover83 - 09-24-2018 First build was 4.18. Did you just edit rk3399-opp.dtsi manually? Like so? Or did you use another method? Code: }; RE: Help needed so a complete NOOB can compile a kernel, please - dukla2000 - 09-24-2018 Effectively yes. In fact first step was to edit rk3399-rockpro64.dts to use rk3399-op1-opp.dtsi then I just changed the 2016 there to 2108. (Seems to be a pattern 16 08 00 for some reason.) |