PINE64
Does DactNix Arch Linux support my use case? - Printable Version

+- PINE64 (https://forum.pine64.org)
+-- Forum: PineTab (https://forum.pine64.org/forumdisplay.php?fid=140)
+--- Forum: PineTab Software (https://forum.pine64.org/forumdisplay.php?fid=142)
+--- Thread: Does DactNix Arch Linux support my use case? (/showthread.php?tid=18227)

Pages: 1 2 3

Does DactNix Arch Linux support my use case? - BlueGalaxy - 05-13-2023

I am a student of Computer Science, finishing my Junior year. I know quite a bit about Linux, I am comfortable working in the command line and commonly used commands. I also have a rudimentary knowledge of C programming and how to compile applications using Makefile.
I am also paranoid about security and privacy. Specifically, I don't want my tablet to be discretely recording my camera or microphone, and wirelessly sending that data to some corporate/government server.

The only reason for why I am seeking to buy a tablet is watching lectures on the go. I download mp4 files of lectures on my PC, copy them over to a USB drive, then copy them from the USB drive onto my tablet's file system. Then I would navigate to where these mp4 files have been copied to, and open them in a video player software, maximize to full screen, and simply watch the video. I want to transfer files via USB drive, or a USB cable connected directly to the computer, no any wireless file transfers or cloud storage. That is the only functionality that I am looking for. I do not want any bells or whistles. In fact, that is undesirable for me.

So I found this tablet PINETAB2 – 10.1″ 4GB/64GB ARM Based Linux Tablet With Detachable Backlit Keyboard [Pre-Order, Delivery Mid-May]
https://pine64.com/product/pinetab2-10-1-4gb-64gb-linux-tablet-with-detached-backlit-keyboard/
  • The PineTab2 ships with DanctNix Arch Linux installed. The preinstalled OS is still in beta –  most core functionality works but some features (e.g. cameras) remain a work-in-progress.