PINE64
Access Volume Button via bash - Printable Version

+- PINE64 (https://forum.pine64.org)
+-- Forum: PinePhone Pro (https://forum.pine64.org/forumdisplay.php?fid=177)
+--- Forum: PinePhone Pro Hardware (https://forum.pine64.org/forumdisplay.php?fid=180)
+--- Thread: Access Volume Button via bash (/showthread.php?tid=16487)



Access Volume Button via bash - magdesign - 04-13-2022

Can someone please tell how I can read the state of the volume buttons (PinePhonePro) via bash ?
Code:
read KEY_VOLUMEDOWN
read KEY_VOLUMEUP

**sidenote:**
want to create a supersimple screenshooter for Phosh, it will help a lot in writing docs...


RE: Access Volume Button via bash - magdesign - 04-21-2022

What I found https://xnux.eu/devices/feature/volumekeys.html

On the PPP, there are following devices:

Code:
/dev/input/event0: gpio-vibrator
/dev/input/event1: adc-keys
/dev/input/event2: Goodix Capacitive TouchScreen
/dev/input/event3: gpio-key-power
/dev/input/event4: gpio-key-ri
/dev/input/event5: PinePhonePro Headphones



So I am able to read if the Volume_Key is pressed (from adc-keys) with:



Code:
libinput debug-events --device=/dev/input/event1




Which gives me some debug outputs of the pressed hardware keys without debouncing:

Code:
event1  DEVICE_ADDED            adc-keys                          seat0 default group1  cap:k
event1  KEYBOARD_KEY            +0.000s KEY_VOLUMEDOWN (114) pressed
event1  KEYBOARD_KEY            +0.208s KEY_VOLUMEDOWN (114) released
event1  KEYBOARD_KEY            +2.196s KEY_VOLUMEUP (115) pressed
event1  KEYBOARD_KEY            +2.404s KEY_VOLUMEUP (115) released




The idea is to read this keys with something simple like: read or showkey to be able to make a simple if volume up and down statement to trigger screenshooter



but I do not get input from the volume keys with this methods...


RE: Access Volume Button via bash - TRS-80 - 04-30-2022

I know that SXMO are using volume keys extensively in their UIs (which are shell and dmenu based). I bet you could find something if you dig around over there a bit. If you can't find it, maybe ask in their IRC or mailing list.


RE: Access Volume Button via bash - magdesign - 05-03-2022

(04-30-2022, 08:28 PM)TRS-80 Wrote: I know that SXMO are using volume keys extensively in their UIs (which are shell and dmenu based).  I bet you could find something if you dig around over there a bit.  If you can't find it, maybe ask in their IRC or mailing list.

Thanks for the hint, could not find it so far there, but I'll keep on digging...


RE: Access Volume Button via bash - TRS-80 - 05-15-2022

OK, I was just chatting with guys in #sxmo and they are basically using setting dwm to call sxmo_hook_inputhandler.sh upon button press.

I don't know what window manager you are using, but setting something in there is probably the easiest way.  As opposed to what you are trying to do is a bit more low level.