PINE64
Gnome shell - Mobian Resolution - Printable Version

+- PINE64 (https://forum.pine64.org)
+-- Forum: PinePhone (https://forum.pine64.org/forumdisplay.php?fid=120)
+--- Forum: PinePhone Software (https://forum.pine64.org/forumdisplay.php?fid=121)
+---- Forum: Debian on PinePhone (https://forum.pine64.org/forumdisplay.php?fid=139)
+---- Thread: Gnome shell - Mobian Resolution (/showthread.php?tid=11828)



Gnome shell - Mobian Resolution - canaac - 10-14-2020

I have installed Gnome-shell following the instructions from: https://wiki.mobian-project.org/doku.php?id=desktopenvironments

The problem I have is that the Gnome environment is not scaled, so not all the icons appear on the screen and some are overlapping.

I can't find a way to fix the Gnome resolution.

Is there a way to do it?

Thank you.


RE: Gnome shell - Mobian Resolution - ThrillGates - 10-14-2020

You'll need to configure the fractional scaling setting in Gnome. It's under the Display menu in Settings.


RE: Gnome shell - Mobian Resolution - nas - 10-14-2020

(10-14-2020, 02:28 PM)canaac Wrote: The problem I have is that the Gnome environment is not scaled, so not all the icons appear on the screen and some are overlapping.

See this post - you may also want to stop the services for phosh, serial usb and packagekit if you notice high cpu usage in idle.


RE: Gnome shell - Mobian Resolution - canaac - 10-14-2020

(10-14-2020, 03:36 PM)ThrillGates Wrote: You'll need to configure the fractional scaling setting in Gnome. It's under the Display menu in Settings.

(10-14-2020, 04:01 PM)nas Wrote:
(10-14-2020, 02:28 PM)canaac Wrote: The problem I have is that the Gnome environment is not scaled, so not all the icons appear on the screen and some are overlapping.

See this post - you may also want to stop the services for phosh, serial usb and packagekit if you notice high cpu usage in idle.

Thanks for the answers. Tonight when I get home I try it.


RE: Gnome shell - Mobian Resolution - canaac - 10-15-2020

(10-14-2020, 03:36 PM)ThrillGates Wrote: You'll need to configure the fractional scaling setting in Gnome. It's under the Display menu in Settings.


I could not access the Gnome configuration, since due to the bad configuration of the scaling the options did not appear on the screen.


(10-14-2020, 04:01 PM)nas Wrote:
(10-14-2020, 02:28 PM)canaac Wrote: The problem I have is that the Gnome environment is not scaled, so not all the icons appear on the screen and some are overlapping.

See this post - you may also want to stop the services for phosh, serial usb and packagekit if you notice high cpu usage in idle.


I found the solution in the post that you indicated. With the following command, the interface was perfectly scaled.

Code:
gsettings set org.gnome.desktop.interface scaling-factor 1