PINE64
How to Set Up For Mobian Development? - Printable Version

+- PINE64 (https://forum.pine64.org)
+-- Forum: PinePhone (https://forum.pine64.org/forumdisplay.php?fid=120)
+--- Forum: PinePhone Software (https://forum.pine64.org/forumdisplay.php?fid=121)
+---- Forum: Mobian on PinePhone (https://forum.pine64.org/forumdisplay.php?fid=139)
+---- Thread: How to Set Up For Mobian Development? (/showthread.php?tid=10938)



How to Set Up For Mobian Development? - Hiraghm - 08-03-2020

I've got the Aarch64 toolchain installed on my desktop Linux Mint computer, and have even compiled "hello world" that runs on my phone.
I've tried setting up development on the phone itself using Code::Blocks.

But in order to develop my own software, and also to port existing software to the phone, I'm going to need some way to link libraries such as GTK and libGL.

Has anybody set up a cross-development system for Mobian on the pine phone, and/or gotten a useful development system working ON the pine phone?

If so, could you share some information on how you managed it? Undecided

Thanks.


RE: How to Set Up For Mobian Development? - a-wai - 08-03-2020

Cross-development can be a bit tricky, so the best I can suggest it you create a debian VM (or a debian-based docker container) and enable the arm64 architecture, so you can get the proper development libraries.

An alternative way of setting up a docker container can be found on the gitlab wiki (it's primarily intended for helping cross-packaging rather than merely cross-compiling, but that's a start)


RE: How to Set Up For Mobian Development? - Hiraghm - 08-03-2020

(08-03-2020, 06:06 PM)a-wai Wrote: Cross-development can be a bit tricky, so the best I can suggest it you create a debian VM (or a debian-based docker container) and enable the arm64 architecture, so you can get the proper development libraries.

An alternative way of setting up a docker container can be found on the gitlab wiki (it's primarily intended for helping cross-packaging rather than merely cross-compiling, but that's a start)
Well, my desktop runs Mint, which is Debian (sort of...) but I can't compile on it for the Aarch64... So I guess I'll need to install an Aarch64 debian distro (Mobian even?) in Qemu?

Has anybody done that yet?


RE: How to Set Up For Mobian Development? - bcnaz - 08-03-2020

Mint D.E. ?


RE: How to Set Up For Mobian Development? - Hiraghm - 08-03-2020

(08-03-2020, 07:24 PM)bcnaz Wrote: Mint D.E.  ?
Until now I didn't know such a creature existed.

Boy I'm tempted to switch. If I could do so w/o losing all my data.. sigh.


RE: How to Set Up For Mobian Development? - bcnaz - 08-03-2020

It is probably not for everyone, but I kinda like it on one of my laptops....
It is a fairly new offering, based on Debian directly, rather than Ubuntu.
So many choices, looking at Zorin Education 15.2 for one of my Grandsons.


RE: How to Set Up For Mobian Development? - a-wai - 08-04-2020

(08-03-2020, 06:31 PM)Hiraghm Wrote: Well, my desktop runs Mint, which is Debian (sort of...) but I can't compile on it for the Aarch64... So I guess I'll need to install an Aarch64 debian distro (Mobian even?) in Qemu?

I'd suggest you rather install and amd64 debian in qemu (it will be much faster, assuming your host machine is also amd64), and then:

Code:
sudo dpkg --add-architecture arm64
sudo apt update

This will enable the arm64 repos. You can then install arm64 dev packages using <package>:arm64, for instance to install gtk3 dev package, it would be something like:

Code:
sudo apt install libgtk-3-dev:arm64

And then cross-compile your software the "usual" way.


RE: How to Set Up For Mobian Development? - Hiraghm - 08-06-2020

(08-04-2020, 07:45 AM)a-wai Wrote:
(08-03-2020, 06:31 PM)Hiraghm Wrote: Well, my desktop runs Mint, which is Debian (sort of...) but I can't compile on it for the Aarch64... So I guess I'll need to install an Aarch64 debian distro (Mobian even?) in Qemu?

I'd suggest you rather install and amd64 debian in qemu (it will be much faster, assuming your host machine is also amd64), and then:

Code:
sudo dpkg --add-architecture arm64
sudo apt update

This will enable the arm64 repos. You can then install arm64 dev packages using <package>:arm64, for instance to install gtk3 dev package, it would be something like:

Code:
sudo apt install libgtk-3-dev:arm64

And then cross-compile your software the "usual" way.

Thanks!
I got Qemu up, running MintDE, and I got arm64 added... So now I need to get codeblocks to use the arm64 libraries.