PINE64
Upgrade problem - Printable Version

+- PINE64 (https://forum.pine64.org)
+-- Forum: PinePhone (https://forum.pine64.org/forumdisplay.php?fid=120)
+--- Forum: PinePhone Software (https://forum.pine64.org/forumdisplay.php?fid=121)
+---- Forum: Mobian on PinePhone (https://forum.pine64.org/forumdisplay.php?fid=139)
+---- Thread: Upgrade problem (/showthread.php?tid=10873)

Pages: 1 2


Upgrade problem - dancingqueen74 - 07-27-2020

Yesterday I installed the new Firefox like described in the wiki (https://wiki.mobian-project.org/doku.php?id=webapps). Later in the evening I noticed that an upgrade seemed to be ready. I took the upgrade via the software app only to be greeted with the same upgrade notice after a reboot.



I've since uninstalled Firefox and removed the sid repo and also the priority pinning. 



Trying to upgrade from terminal shows this:



root@mobian:/var/lib/dpkg# apt upgrade

Reading package lists... Done

Building dependency tree     

Reading state information... Done

Calculating upgrade... Done

The following packages will be DOWNGRADED:

  gir1.2-handy-1 libgtherm-0.0-0 libhandy-1-0

0 upgraded, 0 newly installed, 3 downgraded, 0 to remove and 0 not upgraded.

Need to get 0 B/172 kB of archives.

After this operation, 0 B of additional disk space will be used.

Do you want to continue? [Y/n]

(Reading database ... 78804 files and directories currently installed.)

Preparing to unpack .../libhandy-1-0_0.84.0-1_arm64.deb ...

Unpacking libhandy-1-0:arm64 (0.84.0-1) over (0.84.0-1) ...

Preparing to unpack .../gir1.2-handy-1_0.84.0-1_arm64.deb ...

Unpacking gir1.2-handy-1:arm64 (0.84.0-1) over (0.84.0-1) ...

Preparing to unpack .../libgtherm-0.0-0_0.0.2-1_arm64.deb ...

Unpacking libgtherm-0.0-0 (0.0.2-1) over (0.0.2-1) ...

Setting up libgtherm-0.0-0 (0.0.2-1) ...

Setting up libhandy-1-0:arm64 (0.84.0-1) ...

Setting up gir1.2-handy-1:arm64 (0.84.0-1) ...

Processing triggers for libc-bin (2.31-1) ...



As you can see, the versions to be installed are the same. Still it believes the packages are to be downgraded. I've also tried to see what happens with "dpkg -i". How to I get out of this loop?



Thank you.



Mona


RE: Upgrade problem - User 18618 - 07-28-2020

Try changing releases again:

Code:
sed -i 's/sid/bullseye/g' /etc/apt/sources.list
apt update
apt-get -y --allow-downgrades upgrade

sed -i 's/bullseye/sid/g' /etc/apt/sources.list
apt update
apt -y upgrade

While you're at it, it's worth reviewing the DontBreakDebian page, which covers why mixing releases is bad practice.

Hope this helps.

The Wiki instructions cause this conflict by mixing codename conventions. The below example works fine, and differentiates well.

Code:
-n mobian
-n bullseye
-n sid



RE: Upgrade problem - dancingqueen74 - 07-28-2020

(07-28-2020, 09:48 AM)jed Wrote: Try changing releases again:

Code:
sed -i 's/sid/bullseye/g' /etc/apt/sources.list
apt update
apt-get -y --allow-downgrades upgrade

sed -i 's/bullseye/sid/g' /etc/apt/sources.list
apt update
apt -y upgrade

While you're at it, it's worth reviewing the DontBreakDebian page, which covers why mixing releases is bad practice.

Hope this helps.

The Wiki instructions cause this conflict by mixing codename conventions. The below example works fine, and differentiates well.

Code:
-n mobian
-n bullseye
-n sid

Thanks for your message and the information, but I don't want to upgrade to sid (that is your second sed command). Except for having fiddled with dpkg to install the already installed packages a second time (as I wrote, the versions are identical with the versions to be installed, so no downgrade here) and hoping to trigger a better error message, I did nothing that was not written in the official Mobian wiki.

I just loopmounted the Mobian image I used for the installation and looked inside the default sources.list to be on the safe side. There are clearly no mentions of sid inside (it's just "deb http://deb.debian.org/debian bullseye main"). Also I did the priority pinning recommended in the wiki to not mix distributions.

At least your first command fetched some other packages. Problem is still not solved though...

Edit: thanks for the update. Would it be possible to stay on the bullseye release?

Edit 2: I just looked inside the image again. The original priority file looks identical to my current priority file. The release is prefixed with o= both times, not n=. What I don't get is how everything should be fine again because I took back my modifications, but it isn't.


RE: Upgrade problem - User 18618 - 07-28-2020

sid is the only repo to provide firefox, as bullseye still provides firefox-esr.

Following this guide to ensure that sid packages do not override existing bullseye or mobian packages is sufficient.


RE: Upgrade problem - dancingqueen74 - 07-28-2020

(07-28-2020, 11:02 AM)jed Wrote: sid is the only repo to provide firefox, as bullseye still provides firefox-esr.

Following this guide to ensure that sid packages do not override existing bullseye or mobian packages is sufficient.
Thanks for the guide, which I bookmarked for future reference, but I already uninstalled Firefox. That was the first thing I did when I noticed what happened. There should not be any sid packages left after I uninstalled Firefox and autoremoved unneeded packages, undid the changes in sources.list and removed the pinning. Everything should be OK, but it isn't.


RE: Upgrade problem - User 18618 - 07-28-2020

I'm confused by your second message.

Let's eschew the firefox issue and focus on reverting to bullseye. In short, you can't do this in-place.

I'd re-flash the Mobian .img, if possible. If some of your package derive from sid, and others from bullseye, you have a FrankenDebian which will undoubtedly cause myriad issues.


RE: Upgrade problem - dancingqueen74 - 07-28-2020

Thanks. If I don't find another solution for this, I'll do a reflash.


RE: Upgrade problem - User 18618 - 07-28-2020

You're welcome - hope that was all understandable.

I don't know of a means to retain the /home partition in Mobian, otherwise I'd recommend reinstalling the rootfs. Unless someone can correct me, I believe the only method of re-installation is via the .img


RE: Upgrade problem - dancingqueen74 - 07-28-2020

(07-28-2020, 12:21 PM)jed Wrote: You're welcome - hope that was all understandable.

I don't know of a means to retain the /home partition in Mobian, otherwise I'd recommend reinstalling the rootfs. Unless someone can correct me, I believe the only method of re-installation is via the .img
Thanks Smile
While your comments did not directly lead to a solution, it hinted me into the right direction. I was able to solve this without reinstalling.

What it did was:

root@mobian:/var/lib/apt# grep libgtherm-0.0-0 /var/lib/apt/lists/* | grep "Filename:"
grep: /var/lib/apt/lists/auxfiles: Ist ein Verzeichnis
grep: /var/lib/apt/lists/partial: Ist ein Verzeichnis
/var/lib/apt/lists/deb.debian.org_debian_dists_bullseye_main_binary-arm64_Packages:Filename: pool/main/g/gtherm/libgtherm-0.0-0_0.0.2-1_arm64.deb
/var/lib/apt/lists/repo.mobian-project.org_dists_mobian_main_binary-amd64_Packages:Filename: pool/main/g/gtherm/libgtherm-0.0-0_0.0.2-1_amd64.deb
/var/lib/apt/lists/repo.mobian-project.org_dists_mobian_main_binary-amd64_Packages:Filename: pool/main/g/gtherm/libgtherm-0.0-0-dbgsym_0.0.2-1_amd64.deb
/var/lib/apt/lists/repo.mobian-project.org_dists_mobian_main_binary-arm64_Packages:Filename: pool/main/g/gtherm/libgtherm-0.0-0_0.0.2-1_arm64.deb
/var/lib/apt/lists/repo.mobian-project.org_dists_mobian_main_binary-arm64_Packages:Filename: pool/main/g/gtherm/libgtherm-0.0-0-dbgsym_0.0.2-1_arm64.deb
/var/lib/apt/lists/repo.mobian-project.org_dists_mobian_main_binary-armhf_Packages:Filename: pool/main/g/gtherm/libgtherm-0.0-0_0.0.2-1_armhf.deb
/var/lib/apt/lists/repo.mobian-project.org_dists_mobian_main_binary-armhf_Packages:Filename: pool/main/g/gtherm/libgtherm-0.0-0-dbgsym_0.0.2-1_armhf.deb

I did this for all of the three files, compared it to the same file in the still loop mounted installation image and found that all 3 packages where listed in the according debian.org list, even though all were drawn in from the mobian repo. I deleted all 3 entries from the debian list and run "apt upgrade" and voila: all is fine again Smile Heart


RE: Upgrade problem - User 18618 - 07-28-2020

Clever. Well done Smile